The mission of Remote Services is to provide access to the Library's resources and services in order to meet the informational needs of off-campus students and faculty. Access is to be available to users in a timely manner and to assist them in gaining skills necessary to become lifelong learners.

Remote Services provide immediate access to library resources which include delivery of journal articles by mail, fax or InterLibrary Loan.  Library users have the ability to access online databases, the online catalog, and information on the Library's homepage from remote sites. Library staff provides services that are pertinent to the unique needs of off-campus students and faculty including database searching, answers to quick reference questions, and instruction in the use of appropriate sources via e-mail, telephone, fax, and mail. In addition, the library assists students via the Embedded Librarian program within online, hybrid and on ground courses. The Ask a Librarian reference service is also available via e-mail.

Library Research Assistance

All currently enrolled Tennessee State University and TN eCampus students may contact us at (615) 963-5205. For interlibrary loan requests, students and faculty may use the online form provided on the ILL page, or get in touch with  ILL service contacts.

Remote Access to Tennessee State University Library Collections

Off-campus access to the libraries' resources may require your TSU login and password. Please select the first option on the Open Athens screen that offers access to TSU Faculty Staff and Students. If you experience any difficulties signing on, please contact the Head of Technology, Assessment and Systems. Issues with article access can be directed towards the Electronic Resources Librarian.

• EBSCO Discovery
• Classic Catalog
• Online Databases
• Dissertations
• Periodicals provide information about the library's online and print holdings.
• TN eCampus provides links to participating TN eCampus libraries including their online catalogs, tutorials, and other pertinent information

Borrowing Books

Off-Campus and TN eCampus Library users may borrow up to 10 books at a time by completing the online Interlibrary Loan request form. The loan period is 4 weeks from the date of dispatch to allow delivery time in both directions. Books must be received back at Tennessee State University Library prior to the due date. Fines may result in failing to do so. Loans of TSU books may be extended 2 weeks via telephone or e-mail. You may contact Access Services at (615)963-5242. Please be aware that some library materials including reference books, serials, rare and special collection books, and microforms are not available for loan. Students and faculty may use the TN eCampus libraries and/or check out books with current ID cards or course payment slips. Students and faculty may use the University of Tennessee and TN eCampus Libraries via Tennessee Academic Library Collaborative (TALC) cards. TALC cards are available at the Main Campus Library Circulation Department. You may find more information about at TALC.

Library Orientation and Instruction Classes

Library Orientation and Instruction classes may be scheduled by the Off-Campus and TN eCampus Faculty at any remote site or at the Brown-Daniel and Avon Williams Libraries. The sessions may include orientation to the libraries including the Library homepage, searching the online catalogs, online databases, etc.. In addition, the libraries provide Information Literacy Mini Courses in selected subject fields. To schedule orientation classes submit this form.

Electronic Reserves

The Library encourages faculty to upload copies of journal articles, book chapters and other documents into their E-Learn content area. Visit the reserves page for more information.

Lean Library

Tennessee State Univesity subscribes to Lean Library, a browser extension that alerts you when online content is available through the TSU library while you are doing your research both on and off campus. Lean Library knows all the electronic resources TSU's Brown Daniel Library has access to, whether it's a library purchase or subscription service. Lean Library will point TSU users to our library resources when they are searching. Regardless of how you arrive at an e-resource, Lean Library will alert you if you have access to an e-resource through the library. If you attempt to access an e-resource the library doesn't subscribe to; Lean Library will look for other ways to access the content, such as placing an interlibrary loan request or directing you to open access versions. Learn more about Lean Library or download now.

TN eCampus Questions

For questions relating to TN eCampus services, call (615)963-5205.

For more info: Remote Services service guide>