Aaron Khan

The National Archives

What is it?

“The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.” (https://www.archives.gov/about)

How to Use It! - National Archives Catalog and the Citizen Archivist Program

“Celebrating the 221st Anniversary of The Louisiana Purchase with Special Media” by Alexis Durante - This article explains in easy terms/provides readers with tips on how to navigate and search through the National Archives Catalog. Follow along with the article to learn how to do so.

What to Do - To sign up for the Citizen Archivist Program, follow the link above and once on this webpage, you will see the following words: “Learn how to register and get started.” Follow the prompts shown to you. It is also here that you will gain access to resources that will help you navigate the Citizen Archivist Program.

What is it? - As a part of the National Archives Citizen Archivist Program you will help transcribe and tag historical documents to preserve American history. You may transcribe or tag documents from Revolutionary War Pension Files or even the JFK Assassination Records. Follow the link above to learn more or become involved with the program.

Who to Contact at the Library

Aaron Khan, Instruction and Engagement Librarian

Julie Huskey, Head of Cataloging and Government Documents

Resources

• National Archives
• Citizen Archivist Program
• The Unwritten Record