LibGuides: Government Websites: Defence

Department of Defense
The Department of Defense (DOD) is an executive branch department of the federal government charged with coordinating and supervising all agencies and functions concerned "directly with national security and the United States Armed Forces. The department's mission is to provide "the military forces needed to deter war and ensure our nation's security."

Department of Defense Websites

	Air National Guard The Air National Guard is the United States Air Force's federal military reserve force. It includes each U.S. state's air militia, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the territories of Guam and the U.S. Virgin Islands. The Air National Guard and the Army National Guard's component of each state, district, commonwealth, or territory make up each region's National Guard as applicable.
	Army National Guard The Army National Guard, in conjunction with the Air National Guard, is an organized militia force and a federal military reserve force of the United States Army. It is simultaneously part of two different organizations: the ARNG of each state, most territories, and the District of Columbia, as well as the federal ARNG, which is part of the National Guard. It is divided into subordinate units stationed in each state or insular area.
	Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency The Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) is a research and development agency responsible for developing emerging technologies for use by the military. By collaborating with academia, industry, and government partners, DARPA formulates and executes research and development projects to expand the frontiers of technology and science, often beyond immediate U.S. military requirements.
	Defense Contract Management Agency The Defense Contract Management Agency (DCMA) is a federal agency reporting to the Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition and Sustainment. It is responsible for administering contracts for the Department of Defense and other authorized federal agencies, as well as Foreign Military Sales contracts.
	Defense Health Agency The Defense Health Agency (DHA) is a joint, integrated combat support agency that enables the U.S. Army, U.S. Navy, and U.S. Air Force medical services to provide a medically ready force and ready medical force to Combatant Commands in peacetime and wartime. The DHA integrates clinical and business operations across the MHS and facilitates the delivery of integrated and reasonably priced health care to MHS clients.
	Defense Information Systems Agency The Defense Information Systems Agency (DISA) is a combat support agency composed of military personnel, federal civilians, and contractors. DISA provides information technology and communications support to the President, Vice President, Secretary of Defense, military services, combatant commands, and any individual or system contributing to the defense of the United States.
	Defense Intelligence Agency The Defense Intelligence Agency (DIA) is an intelligence agency and combat support agency specializing in defense and military intelligence. The DIA informs national civilian and defense policymakers about the military intentions and capabilities of foreign governments and non-state actors. It also provides intelligence assistance, integration, and coordination across uniformed military service intelligence components.
	Department of Defense Education Activity The Department of Defense Education Activity (DoDEA) is a federal school system responsible for planning, directing, coordinating, and managing prekindergarten through 12th-grade educational programs on behalf of the United States Department of Defense. The DoDEA operates 163 accredited schools in 8 districts in 11 foreign countries, 7 states, Guam, and Puerto Rico.
	Department of the Air Force The United States Department of the Air Force (DAF) is one of the three military departments within the Department of Defense of the United States of America. The United States Air Force and the United States Space Force reside within the DAF.
	Department of the Army The United States Department of the Army (DA) is one of the three military departments within the Department of Defense of the U.S. The Department of the Army is within the United States Army.
	Department of the Navy The United States Department of the Navy (DON) is one of the three military departments within the Department of Defense of the United States of America. It has jurisdiction over the U.S. Marine Corps and, during wartime, the U.S. Coast Guard.
	Joint Chiefs of Staff The Joint Chiefs of Staff (JCS) is the body of the most senior uniformed leaders within the United States Department of Defense. It advises the president, the secretary of defense, the Homeland Security Council, and the National Security Council on military matters. It consists of a chairman, a vice chairman, the Army, Marine Corps, Navy, Air Force, and Space Force chief, and the National Guard Bureau chief.
	United States Africa Command The United States Africa Command is one of the eleven unified combatant commands of the United States Department of Defense. It is responsible for U.S. military operations, including fighting regional conflicts and maintaining military relations with 53 African nations. Its responsibility covers all of Africa except Egypt, which is within the area of responsibility of the United States Central Command.
	United States Central Command The United States Central Command (CENTCOM) is one of the eleven unified combatant commands of the U.S. Department of Defense. Its Area of Responsibility includes the Middle East, Central Asia, and parts of South Asia. The command has been the leading American presence in many military operations, including the Persian Gulf War's Operation Desert Storm in 1991, the War in Afghanistan, as well as the Iraq War from 2003 to 2011.
	United States European Command The United States European Command (EUCOM) is one of the eleven unified combatant commands of the United States military. Its area of focus covers 51 countries and territories, including Europe, The Caucasus, Russia, and Greenland. The Commander of the United States EUCOM simultaneously serves as the Supreme Allied Commander, Europe, within the NATO military alliance.
	United States Indo-Pacific Command The United States Indo-Pacific Command (INDOPACOM) is the oldest and largest unified combatant command of the United States Armed Forces responsible for the Indo-Pacific region. It covers an area stretching from the waters of the West Coast of the United States to the East Coast maritime borderline waters of India at the meridian 66° longitude east of Greenwich and from the Arctic to the Antarctic.
	United States Northern Command The United States Northern Command (NORTHCOM) is one of eleven unified combatant commands of the United States Department of Defense. NORTHCOM provides military support for non-military authorities in the U.S. and protects the territory and national interests of the United States within the continental United States, Puerto Rico, Canada, Mexico, and The Bahamas, and the air, land, and sea approaches to these areas.
	United States Southern Command The United States Southern Command (SOUTHCOM) is one of the eleven unified combatant commands in the United States Department of Defense. It is responsible for providing contingency planning, operations, and security cooperation for Central and South America, the Caribbean, and their territorial waters and for protecting U.S. military resources at these locations. It is also responsible for ensuring the defense of the Panama Canal and the canal area.
	United States Special Operations Command The United States Special Operations Command (SOCOM) is the unified combatant command that oversees the various special operations component commands of the Army, Marine Corps, Navy, and Air Force of the United States Armed Forces. The command is part of the Department of Defense and is the only unified combatant command created by an Act of Congress.