Library of Congress Classification
Please be aware we arrange our materials according to the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system rather than Dewey Decimal (DDC).
Our library uses the Library of Congress Classification System. The system is broken up into the following categories:
(Note: There are some letters that are not connected to a category. This is so that the system can be expanded later.)
Class B - Philosophy, Psychology, Religion
Class C - Auxiliary Sciences of History
Class D - World History and History of Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, Etc.
Classes E and F - History of the Americas
Class G - Geography, Anthropology, Recreation
No Class I
Class M - Music and Books on Music
No Class O
Class P - Language and Literature
No Classes W, X, or Y
Class Z - Bibliography, Library Science, Information Resources (General)
For information on Library of Congress Classifications you can go to the Library of Congress website here.
Brown-Daniel Library
The Brown-Daniel Library is located on the main campus next door to the Floyd-Payne Student Center. It is made up of three floors:
First: Access Services. This is where you can check out and return books. It'll be the first desk you see when you enter the building.
Second: Research and Instruction, Learning Commons, and Makerspace. The reference desk is located directly in front of the stairs. Here you will find:
- Computers supplied with most software necessary to complete your assignments
- Printers
- Scanners
- Study rooms (located along the perimeter of the floor)
- Mac desktop computers (inside the glass-walled Creative Commons) supplied with creative software such as Adobe Creative Suite
- 3D printers, large scale printers, digital recorders for video and audio projects, podcast production, and more (inside the Makerspace). BY APPOINTMENT ONLY.
- Reference books and periodicals (not for checkout)
You can find a guide to the Makerspace here: Home - MakerSpace - LibGuides at Tennessee State University
Third: More Access Services and Special Collections. In Special Collections, you will find:
- African American books and literature, and bibliography of the Afro-American Culture & History Conference
- Official TSU and student publications, minutes, photographs and other materials relating to the history of the university
You can find a library guide for Special Collections here: Home - Special Collections - LibGuides at Tennessee State University
This map includes Google Maps features and content. The use of Google Maps features and content is subject to the then-current versions of the: (1) Google Maps/Google Earth Additional Terms of Service at https://maps.google.com/help/terms_maps.html; and (2) Google Privacy Policy at https://www.google.com/policies/privacy/.
The Media Center on the main campus is located in Room 002-005 of the Love Learning Resource Center.
This map includes Google Maps features and content. The use of Google Maps features and content is subject to the then-current versions of the: (1) Google Maps/Google Earth Additional Terms of Service at https://maps.google.com/help/terms_maps.html; and (2) Google Privacy Policy at https://www.google.com/policies/privacy/.
Avon Williams Library
The Avon Williams Campus Library is located in the downtown campus. It has twenty-four computer workstations, including an iMac, network printers and study rooms.
This map includes Google Maps features and content. The use of Google Maps features and content is subject to the then-current versions of the: (1) Google Maps/Google Earth Additional Terms of Service at https://maps.google.com/help/terms_maps.html; and (2) Google Privacy Policy at https://www.google.com/policies/privacy/.