Undergraduate Library Orientation

Step 1: Define the topic
Step 2: Refine the topic
Step 3: Determine sources of information
Step 4: Locate the information
Step 5: Evaluate the information
Step 6: Use the information 
Step 7: Document sources of information

Ask yourself—"What is it that I want to know?"

• ​Sometimes, your professor gives you the query; for example, class assignments may pose specific questions.
• In other cases, the information sought is too general, and you must decide on the particular target.
• Preliminary investigation to help you define your topic may include general reading in an encyclopedia or other reference source, a visit to the library, or a search on the internet.
• Discussions with friends, colleagues, or instructors often help to formulate the research problem.

Finding the right “fit” for your search may involve ...

• narrowing the topic
• broadening the topic
• changing the topic altogether 

Where will I find information on this question?

You are already familiar with many general sources of information, such as dictionaries and encyclopedias. 

• An excellent online source is Bartleby, located at http://www.bartleby.com/
• At Bartleby, you will find many quick reference tools for background reading on your topic.
• Dictionaries
• Encyclopedias
• Fact books
• Style and grammar manuals
• Wikipedia is also an excellent source to get your research started.

Specialized Information

• Some information needs require specialized materials, such as those in libraries or online subscription databases.  While some of these information resources require a paid subscription, the following are freely accessible online.
• If you are a movie fan, you can find everything you want to know about actors, directors, screenwriters, and movie plots in the Internet Movie Database. 
• Information on countries worldwide – from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe – is available in the CIA World Factbook.
• Do you want to know who owns your favorite restaurant chain or who Google's top competitors are?  Gale Business Insights will give you the necessary answers.

STEP 4: Locate the information

• Decide on the type of information source you need
• book
• magazine or journal article
• encyclopedia or other reference tool
• specialized database
• Determine where you can find the appropriate book, article, web site
• Become familiar with tools for searching

Relevance: Does the information you found answer your question?
Authority: Is the source of information reliable and authoritative?
Timeliness: Is the information up to date?
Evidence: Is the information accurate and free from bias? 
Comprehensiveness: Does the source provide a complete and balanced view of the topic?
Genre: What is the document type, and who is the intended audience?

How will the information be used?

• to give a speech or presentation
• to write an article for a newspaper
• to write a report for work
• to write a research paper for a class
• to make a web page

Different formats serve different purposes.

Depending on the context in which your information will be used, you may need to provide a bibliography of references (sources of information) following a standard style for citations (statement of information about a document which may include the following:  author, title, publisher, date and place of publication).  

The bibliography (list of references used) serves to 

• indicate the sources of information
• credit the authors of the sources 
• support arguments by citing authorities 
• provide readers/audience with the opportunity to view the sources of information for themselves 

• Primary
• Secondary
• Tertiary

This can be tricky!

Read your assignment carefully!

• Talk to your professor!
• Think about what type of class for which you are doing research.
• For example:
  • If history, unless you are doing current events, history, it is.
    • It is probably wise to use a combination of books and academic articles.
    • Articles and news reports may be most appropriate if journalism is very recent.

The study of a subject through firsthand observation and investigation.  The texts or objects used are considered primary sources.

Examples of primary research include

• Analysis of literary or historical texts
• Conducting a survey or an interview
• Carrying out laboratory experiments
• Eye-witness news accounts.

Examples of Primary Sources

Works of art

• Painting, ceramics, sculpture, photography, architecture, sound recordings, films

Literature

• Written literature, oral traditions

Historical documents and objects

• Maps, letters and journals, official documents, photographs, clothing, household objects, military weapons

Laboratory and statistical data

• Mineral and biological samples, journals, graphs and instrument readings, computer files

Synthesized or repackaged information that restates or interprets information from one or more primary sources
Assimilation of others’ research

Examples of Secondary Sources

• class notes on a lecture
• newspaper articles reporting on a scientific study published elsewhere
• encyclopedia articles

are finding aids

• They don’t contain new information. 
• They lead you back to secondary information.

Examples of Tertiary Sources

• Bibliographies
• Indexes
• Catalogs