Finding Images
Halls, Richard. "WPA Federal Theatre presents 'The Case of Philip Lawrence' A new play based on Geo. McEntee's '11 PM : A Negro Theatre Production." Library of Congress, 1936 or 1937, https://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/95511001/,
Policies for Using Images & Media
Whenever possible, images should come from the public domain or Openverse.
All images and media should be accompanied by attributions. The attribution should be directly beneath the image, in the caption field, or located in the lower left box on the page.
All images and media should be accompanied by alt text descriptions.
Minimoog Voyager synthesizer used by J Dilla. Collection of the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture, Gift of Maureen Yancy, 2002-2005. Public Domain.
How to Attribute Your Creative Commons Images
Your attribution should follow this format, which adheres to Creative Commons best practices. Click tabs above to see examples.
Title of image/video [linked to original image]
by Author [linked to profile page]
under License [linked to license deed]
"music" by Robert Couse-Baker is licensed under CC BY 2.0
"Tampa Theater 3" by Photomatt28 is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 2.0.
How to Attribute Your Public Domain Images
Your attribution should follow this format:
Title of work [linked to original image]
by Author, Date (if known, or n.d. if not known)
Public Domain
Click tabs above to see examples.
Unidentified, Pitcher, glass, Smithsonian American Art Museum, Gift of John Gellatly, 1929.8.147.25. Public Domain.
Portrait of Francis Johnson. Alfred M. Hoffy, 1842. Public Domain.
Carlos A. Cortéz, Ben Fletcher, 1987, linocut on paper, Smithsonian American Art Museum, Museum purchase, 1993.13.2, artist claims work to be in public domain
Attributing Images
The seventh edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020) does not have guidelines for images, artwork, sculpture, photographs, etc. However, here are some guidelines from the APA Style Blog:
SOCIAL MEDIA PHOTO, GRAPHIC, OR PHOTO ALBUM
Creator, A. (Date Posted). Caption text [Medium]. Retrieved from http://website.url
- If no caption is provided, place a description of the image in brackets in its place.
- If you are are citing a photo album, replace the caption text with the title of the album. Italicize the title.
EXAMPLES
- APA Style Blog: How to Cite Social Media in APA Style
Includes examples of the original graphics, reference entries, and in-text citations.
VISUAL ART PIECE
Arist, A. (Year Created). Title of work [Medium]. Location of work: Institution housing work.
- If you are viewing the piece online, leave off the location information for the piece. Instead, end your citation entry with "Retrieved from http://website.url"
EXAMPLES
- APA Style Blog: There's an Art to It
Includes citation examples for several different art pieces, including work viewed online.
- MLA Handbook Plus
"MLA Handbook Plus includes the full text of the ninth edition of the handbook, the first editions of both the MLA Guide to Digital Literacy and the MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature, and a video course that teaches the principles of MLA documentation style through a series of short videos paired with quizzes, plus a final assessment."
WORKS CITED FOR A WORK OF VISUAL ART: PRINT OR ONLINE REPRODUCTIONS
Artist LastName, FirstName. Title of Work. Date of Composition. Medium of Composition. Institution Housing Work, City Where Institution Is Located.
- If you are citing a work that has been reproduced in the online environment, remove the medium of composition and add this string to the end of your citation: Website Title. Medium of Publication. Date of Access.
- If the year of composition is unknown, us N.d.
- If the work is from a private collection, name the collection (Collection of ...) instead of the institution. Or list "Private Collection" in place of the institution and city if the collector wishes to be anonymous.
EXAMPLES:
Monet, Claude. Water Lily Pond. 1900. Art Insitute of Chicago, Chicago. Artic.edu. Web. 4 August 2014.
Kandinsky, Vasily. Orange. 1923. Museum of Modern Art, New York. WikiArt.org. Web. 25 July 2013.
da Vinci, Leonardo. Mona Lisa. 1503-1506. Oil on wood. Louvre, Paris.
WORKS CITED FOR A WORK OF VISUAL ART: ONLY CITED ONLINE
Artist LastName, FirstName. "Title of Work." Date Created. Editor/Author/Compiler Name. Name of Website. Name of Website Publisher. Medium of Publication. Date of Access.
- If there is no editor/author/compiler or date of website creation, skip those sections.
- If the year of composition is unknown, us N.d.
- If the work is available under a username, include that in place of the artist's name.
EXAMPLES:
javacolleen. "Lantern Floating." 2010. Flickr. Web. 2 December 2012.
Elson, John. "4Palmount." 2009. Wikimedia.org. Wikimedia Commons. Web. 4 August 2014.