Journalism

"Since September 1987, we have been preserving all our programming in its entirety for viewing, research, and education. This online archive now contains more than 230,000 hours of easily searchable public affairs video, freely available as a public service of C-SPAN's cable and satellite television affiliates. As we reach this important milestone and look to our future, we pledge to continue our commitment to archiving the history that is covered every day by the C-SPAN networks."

Footage.net is the world’s largest online aggregator of stock footage databases, providing serious footage researchers with free access to the most comprehensive roster of stock, archival and news footage indexes online. At Footage.net, you can search 30 of the world’s top stock footage archives with one search, find better content and save time.

The Forum Network is a public media service of GBH that offers hundreds of video and audio lectures from the world's foremost scholars, authors, artists, scientists, policymakers, and community leaders, made available to the public for free.

"We’ve been American television’s top long-form news and current affairs series since 1983, and we’ve won every major journalism and broadcasting award, including 100 Emmy Awards and 26 Peabody Awards. You can watch more than 300 of our documentaries online, for free, any time — and you can find our original digital reporting, interactives and analysis everywhere you are."

Featured are the best movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors, all of these fine flix are available for reuse without any restrictions whatsoever.

This library contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.

This library contains over two hundred thousand free digital recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by our users. Many of these audios and MP3s are available for free download.

Programs in TV News Archive for research and educational purposes.

Archive of American Television has conducted over 700 long-form interviews (over 3000 hours) with the legends of television. These interviews chronicle the birth and growth of American TV History.

Link TV broadcasts programs that engage, educate and activate viewers to become involved in the world. Founded in 1999, Link TV provides a unique perspective on international news, current events, and diverse cultures, presenting issues not often covered in the US media.

Newslooks is a fresh face in national media in the U.S.

The purpose of the Open Video Project is to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities.

TED is best thought of as a global community. It's a community welcoming people from every discipline and culture who seek a deeper understanding of the world. Contains interviews, speeches and TED conferences.

The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. The core collection includes evening news from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).