The Rare Materials Collection contains materials requiring special handling and storage due to age, rarity, monetary value, physical format or condition, and in some cases, subject matter. Access to the Rare Materials Collection is restricted. Researchers are not allowed access to the Rare Materials storage areas--all materials must be requested individually and used under staff supervision. Borrowers must fill out a registration card and present some form of photo identification (Tennessee State University ID, driver’s license, etc.) before special collections materials are retrieved for their use.
Avon N. Williams
1945-1991
Avon Williams was a civil rights lawyer and prominent state senator for whom the downtown campus 14 was named. This collection consists of memorabilia, newspaper clippings and material from his legal and legislative career.
Edward S. Temple
1950-2016
Edward S. Temple served as Head Women’s Track Coach for 44 years at TSU and Associate Professor of Sociology. During his coaching tenure, 40 members of his famed Tigerbelles teams have represented TSU in Olympic competition. This collection consists of newspaper clippings, books, correspondence, photographs, scrapbooks and memorabilia.
C.B. Robinson
1911-1992
The materials in this collection consists of correspondence, newspaper clippings, minutes, programs, speeches, relating to his career as a state legislator Chattanooga, TN.
George W. Gore
1922-1982
Dr. Gore founded the Alpha Kappa Mu Honor Society on November 26,1937. The George W. Gore Collection consists of biographical data on Gore general and personal correspondence, accounts, bills & receipts, writings, speeches from his presidency of Florida A & M University programs, and printed matter including Alpha Kappa Mu Honor Society.
Daniel E. Owens
1963-1971
The first collection consists of 68 full music scores that were arranged and performed by the Tennessee State Marching Band. The second collection consists of 2,000 albums recorded by great jazz musicians and other artists.
Russell C. Barbour
1887-1994
The material in this collection consists of biographical information on Barbour, bulletins from First Baptist Church and Morehouse College, general and personal correspondence, newspaper clippings, photographs (such as Martin L. King & Christine King); programs and sermons.
Thomas E. Poag
1939-1973
Dr. Poag founded the TSU Players Guild in 1939. He served as Director of the Players Guild, Head of the Dept. of Speech & Drama, and Dean of the School of Arts & Sciences during his tenure of 34 years at the university. Materials in the collection include manuscripts of publications, plays, newspaper clippings, correspondence, photographs, scrapbooks and other miscellaneous types of materials.
Walter C. Robinson
1924-1968
The material in this collection consist of speeches, correspondence, his participation with the Republican Party, 4th Ward Chattanooga, TN and issues of the Chattanooga Observer, edited by Mr. Robinson from 1927‐1962.