Special Collections

Books

Books written or edited by faculty and alumni of TSU will be purchased or accepted as gifts in print or electronic format upon request.

Manuscripts

The Special Collections and Archives Room has a collection of manuscripts and papers in its archives.  Scholars, writers and organizations will be encouraged to give these to the 13 library.  Donations of collections will be encouraged.  If funds should become available, the collection will be carefully examined as to the originator, importance, contents and value to the institution.

Gifts

Gifts are encouraged, but must fall within the criteria of the collection development policy and be in good useable condition.  Many valuable items can be acquired through this means.  Books bearing the author’s autograph will be placed in Special Collection.

Note: No special effort will be made to acquire journals unless the title is needed to complete titles in the TSU Archival Collection.  Currently the titles that are housed in the area are AME Church Review, 1984 to present, Broadcaster, the Journal of Tennessee State Association of Teachers in Colored Schools, 1930‐ 1966, Cupolian, Fall 1977‐Summner 1988, The Faculty Journal, 1959‐1978, Southern Christian Leadership Conference, 1980 to present and the following sorority and fraternity journals, Aurora (Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority), 1965‐1992, Delta Journal (Delta Sigma Theta Sorority), 1968‐1989, Ivy Leaf (Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority), 1943‐2000, Kappa Alpha Psi Journal, 1980‐2005, The Oracle (Omega Psi Phi), 1977‐1983 and The Sphinix (Alpha Phi Alpha), 1982‐1984

Newspapers will not be acquired in Special Collections.  In rare instances, newspaper may be accepted as part of a gift collection; these in turn will be arranged within the given collection.

• Materials must not be irreparably damaged or infested by insects or mold.
• Materials in which the donor's ownership is in question or disputed.
• Facsimiles (photocopies or scans) of materials from another repository or in private collections.
• Materials for which we are unable to provide sufficient support to preserve and provide access.

The Archives welcomes gifts to support its mission. If you are interested in making a contribution, please contact the archives staff or you can donate securely online.

Friends of the Library-Special Collections have faithfully played a crucial role in accomplishing the Library’s mission " to promote scholarly inquiry and research, along with lifelong learning and commitment to service.  By providing access to excellent scholarly resources that support the institution’s curriculum, the Libraries and Media Centers seek to provide students with the necessary skills and strategies for a successful educational experience. Friends of the Library will continue to support the library by working together to extend the library’s reach and create enriching experiences that will impact Tennessee State University's academic and surrounding communities.

Become A Friend

Make A Donation	Join Friends