Guidance on Copyright and the Use of TSU Collections
Permission
Permission to capture images for research purposes does not constitute the right to distribute or publish these images. Such rights are secured only with the joint permission of the copyright holder(s) (if applicable) and the University as owner of the material. Unpublished works in their entirety cannot be photocopied without the permission of the writer, donor, depositor, literary heir or the Tennessee State University Library in compliance with the U.S. Copyright laws.
It is the patron's responsibility to determine the copyright status and to obtain any required permission from the copyright holder(s).
Uses for which you need to seek permission to publish:
- Public display in any form, electronic or hard copy.
- Publication in any form, whether modified or not.
- Use in television, video or film.
Uses for which you do not need to seek permission to publish:
- Non-profit educational purposes (class papers, research, classroom use).
- For purposes such as criticism, comment, and news reporting.
The copying of musical works is prohibited according to copyright law.
Researchers must cite materials they use in publications using the following preferred format: Description of Item, Collection Name (##), Archives and Special Collections, Brown-Daniel Library, Tennessee State University, Nashville, Tennessee.
Ordering Reproductions from Archives & Special Collections
- Researchers are not permitted to photocopy archival materials or photographs. Materials will not be photocopied if doing so will damage the original or violate donor agreements, legal restrictions or copyright law.
- Complete letter series, folders, and materials restricted by donors, or the library staff cannot be photocopied.
- Permission to photocopy materials that are fragile or brittle will not be permitted.
- Permission to publish research prepared from materials in the collections must be secured from the proper sources, and credit given upon publication to the Tennessee State University Library Special Collections and Archives.
- Citations for the Archives should follow this format: Name of collection, Courtesy of Special Collections and Archives, Tennessee State University Library.
Photographic Print Reproduction
The Special Collections and Archives provides photo duplication services within reasonable limits. Due to workload involving assisting patrons and other responsibilities, photocopying may not be done on demand. All copies are done upon request within a reasonable time.
