Agriculture and Environmental Science Research

SEARCH is the USDA National Agricultural Library’s main search tool. It provides simple, one-stop access to more than 8 million records covering all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines.

SEARCH Everything for results from the Catalog and Articles database (AGRICOLA), PubAg, and the NAL Digital Collections (NALDC). Or you can limit your SEARCH to PubAg by selecting it at the top of the advanced search form

Organic Roots Collection
National Agricultural Library

Sponsored by USDA.
This subset of the Organic Roots Collection focuses on pre-1942 publications related to animals.

The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) is primarily a collection of landmark agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. These full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science, forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. Teams of scholars selected the titles in this collection for their historical and scientific importance. Their evaluations and 4,500 core titles are detailed in the seven volume series The Literature of the Agricultural Sciences, Wallace C. Olsen, series editor.

The Animal Welfare Act (AWA) was signed into law on August 24, 1966. It is the only Federal law in the United States that regulates the treatment of animals in research, teaching, testing, exhibition, transport, and by dealers. The Act is enforced by USDA, APHIS, Animal Care.

The AWA has been amended numerous times since its original passage in 1966. The Animal Welfare Information Center (AWIC) was authorized under the AWA's 1985 amendment, 'Improved Standards for Laboratory Animals Act'. Therefore, as part of AWIC’s mission, we provide information on the AWA to help people understand the law and its requirements.