Databases with Citation Formatting
Databases are for students, faculty, and staff of Tennessee State University to use to find journal articles, images, and other information relative to their research interest. To access databases and eJournals off campus you must use your name and T Number. Card number. For assistance with problem logins, contact Colette Bradley (cbradley@tnstate.edu) or at 615-963-5489.
- EBSCO DatabasesThis suite of databases offers a comprehensive selection of subjects that meet the needs of most scholarly researchers. After clicking on the article, the next page will list several options under the heading "Tools." Select "Cite" and options for citing the article will appear on the next screen.
- Gale DatabasesMost of these databases are provided by the Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) and cover general and specialized research topics for various age groups and populations, including Spanish speaking. The article is displayed with a bar labeled "Tools" on the right hand side of the screen. Select Citation Tools and format options for the article will appear:
MLA 9th Edition
APA 7th Edition
Chicago 17th edition
Harvard
- JSTOR
JSTOR is an archival database that features the electronic version of periodical back issues. It covers journals in arts and sciences, humanities and life sciences. The results displayed from a subject search will show the four options for citations: save, email, export, and track. The same options display with the article.
- Proquest DatabasesProquest databases provide scholarly articles, mostly for business, sociology, dissertations and theses. When the article is displayed, a bar at the top of the screen will provide the option to cite the article. Proquest uses Refworks, a software company that specializes in citation formatting. When the CITE link at the top of the screen is opened a drop down menu will appear. Select the format desired.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)ScienceDirect provides scholarly research articles in the fields of science, math, medicine, education and business. When the article is displayed, there is an option at the top of the page, in the right corner, that allows exporting of the citation. The options include:
Content format: Citations Only
Citations and Abstracts
Export format: RIS format (for Reference Manager, ProCite, EndNote)
RefWorks Direct Export About Refworks
Plain text format
BibTeX format
- Wiley Online LibraryA multidisciplinary collection of online resources in sciences, business, education, medicine and other areas. The article display has a column on the right for "Article Tools" and allows exporting of the citation in the following formats: Endnote, Reference Manager, Refworks, ProCite and BibText.
Understanding Citations Generators
Consider using Purdue Owl as a strong guide - Free Source
https://owl.purdue.edu/owl/research_and_citation/using_citation_machines_responsibly.html
Consider using Paperpile for Google Docs - Free Trial, but Monthly Subscription Fee
https://paperpile.com/features/google-docs-citations-bibliography/
Knight Cite
- Knight Cite
Knight Cite is a great citation website if url generators do not work or if you have a print material. This website breaks down each resource and gives you the layout for each citation. All you have to do is import your information in and it will generate your citation for you.