Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Publications
-
Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Publications
Provides access to two publications: CQ Researcher and CQ Magazine.
Congressional Quarterly Researcher provides reporting and analyses on current issues in the news. It is browsable by subject. Congressional Quarterly Magazine is a part of Congressional Roll Call and provides political analyses of current events. It has the floor votes on all legislation that are conducted by the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate.
Civil Rights and Social Justice
-
Civil Rights and Social Justice
The Civile Rights and Social Justice database was created to help users understand the roots of the fight for civil rights, how far our nation has come, and how much we have yet to improve. Hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on landmark legislation, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights illuminate the storied (and still unfinished) struggle for equality in the United States. A varied collection of books on related civil rights topics and a list of prominent civil rights organizations supplement these primary source documents and help take the research beyond HeinOnline
LGBTQ Rights
-
LGBTQ Rights
This collection charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today.
Open Society Justice Initiative
-
Open Society Justice Initiative
The Open Society Justice Initiative, part of the Open Society Foundations, was established in 2003 to provide expert legal support for Open Society’s broader mission and values through strategic human rights litigation and other legal work. The Justice Initiative publishes reports, handbooks, briefing papers, legal and policy submissions, and fact sheets exploring and advocating on issues of human rights and justice.
The Vogue Archive
The Vogue Archive contains the backfile of Vogue magazine (US edition), spanning the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.*
Food History: Printed and Manuscript Recipe Books, 1669-1990
National Geographic
The Times Educational Supplement Historical Archive, 1910-2000
The Times Educational Supplement (TES) is one of the most well-regarded primary and secondary education news sources. Founded a handful of years before the onset of World War I, TES became the leading publication on public policy and pedagogical practice over the decades, not only in the United Kingdom but worldwide. In this archive, there are more than 4,300 issues where researchers will find ample material that supports research in the fields of education, social history, women's studies, public health, literature and the arts, and other topics in the humanities and social sciences.
The first issue of The Times Educational Supplement was published on September 6, 1910, as part of The Times of London. It became a standalone publication in 1914, and today, as TES, its present owners claim to host "the largest network of teachers in the world."
Over its first decade, TES established itself as a newspaper for teachers, with a particular focus on advocacy of educational reforms. Its readership expanded over time beyond its initial audience of private and grammar school teachers as parents and general readers grew interested in school reform activity.
Archives Unbound
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars, researchers, and students at the college and university level. A multi-disciplinary resource, collections cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Particular strengths include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history. Collections are chosen based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.
With Archives Unbound, users can engage with primary sources in ways that were never before possible through a range of powerful features:
Explore Topics
Browse the available collections within a pre-filtered research topic by selecting from the Explore Topics list on the homepage. You will then be directed to the Explore Collections page where you can select a specific collection or narrow your results using the filter options.
Advanced Search Features
Archives Unbound offers a wide range of search indexes and limiters to construct searches that best suit the user’s needs. Users can search across indexes such as keyword, author/creator, document title, and manuscript number, and can add rows to search against more than one index at the same time. The search filters available from advanced search offer the ability to narrow focus to parameters such as certain date ranges, content types, and languages across collections. Also note that users can submit advanced searches without search terms, but just specifying limiters, which enables the user to explore different slices of content.