Skip to Main Content

Libraries & Media Centers

English 1010

An introduction to the fundamentals of written composition and communication through the study of illustrative essays, as well as an introduction to the reading and critical analysis of essays. Grammar and mechanics

References

We have various reference databases. You can access these databases at this website: https://tnstate.libguides.com/az.php?q=reference&p=1

The US Department of the Interior also has an excellent resource for reference materials: https://www.doi.gov/library/internet/General-Reference-Sources

Dictionary, Thesaurus, and Encyclopedia Websites

Merriam-Webster.com - a classic dictionary with a thesaurus

TheFreeDictionary.com

OxfordLearnersDictionaries.com

PhotographicDictionary.com

Dict.org - returns results from many different dictionaries

OneLook.com - Lists many definitions and includes a thesaurus

Encyclopedia.com

Britannica.com - a classic Encyclopedia

We have Encyclopedia databases here: https://tnstate.libguides.com/az.php?t=24831&p=1

Atlases and Maps

ngmdb.usgs.gov - A government mapping website

OneEarth.com - maps of ecosystems and projects around the world

MapMaker.NationalGeographic.org - a mapmaker with data

GISGeography.com - downloadable maps and data

DigitalAtlasProject.net - downloadable maps

CIA.gov - the CIA keeps world and regional maps on its website

Note: If you would like to create your own maps, QGIS is recommended. QGIS is a GIS software that is somewhat similar to ArcGIS. It has a learning curve, but it is free. You can get QGIS at this website: https://qgis.org/en/site/. There is documentation on the website and there are tutorials for QGIS on YouTube.com.