Skip to Main Content
Free Digital Books Collections- Find Links to FREE Electronic Book Collections [EXCLUDE]
- Civil Rights Digital Library -- Includes primary sources and other research materials on the Civil Rights Movement from libraries, archives, and museums. Has an outstanding collection of news film and television archives.
- Digital Book Index -- A comprehensive index to major and minor e-book sites that link to over 140,000 free full text digital books covering languages, literature, history, social sciences, medicine, health sciences, religion, philosophy, law, the arts, agriculture, children’s books and other subjects.
- Documenting the American South -- Sponsored by the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, this site provides access to books, images, and audio files about southern culture that includes fourteen subject collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews and songs.
- eBooks@Adelaide - Sponsored by the University of Adelaide in Australia, the purpose of this site is to provide classic books on civilization.
- Great Buildings Online -- A resource for information on significant buildings and architects and includes drawings, 3D building models, commentaries, bibliographies and web links. Produced by Architecture Week.
- HathiTrust -- Is a shared digital collection, the product of a partnership of 29 major U.S. research libraries, which provides access to books in public domain (published before 1923).
- Harvard University Open Collection -- Provides access to six of Harvard’s historical collections: Reading, the Islamic Heritage Project, Expeditions and Discoveries, Contagion, Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930, and Working Women, 1800-1930.
- Making of America -- Produced by Cornell University, this collection offers 267 monograph volumes and 100,000 journal articles from the 19th century. It covers education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, science and technology from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
- Wright American Fiction -- A collection of 19th century American fiction which contains over 2500 volumes by nearly 1500 authors. Hosted by the Indiana University Digital Program.