LibGuides: EBook Collections: Reference E-Books

Gale Virtual Reference

Gale Virtual Reference (GVRL) provides heavily used titles such as the African American Almanac, Who's Who in Black America, Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism and Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans.

Reference E-Books

The library has many standard reference books that can be accessed online:

APA PsycBooks
This is an electronic book collection from the American Psychological Association. It provides access to over 4000 scholarly and peer reviewed titles. The individual titles can be searched and accessed in the online catalog.
Business Expert Press (BEP)
The BEP Digital Library has integrity and is a good fit with a broad range of institutions from the research level to community colleges. eBooks are particularly useful in supporting distance education programs which are readily found at many regional institutions offering MBA courses. The press focuses on a collection of books in areas such as International Business, Strategic Management, Managerial Accounting, Corporate Communications, Financial Accounting, Human Resource Management and Organizational Behavior.
The Business Expert Press Digital Library of business disciplines and special topic collections is a revolutionary new compilation of eBooks. Experienced authors present accurate and concise information that business students and executives can refer to when they need to put learning into action.
Core Historical Literature in Agriculture
CHLA is a core digital collection of historical books and journals on United States agriculture and rural life published between the early nineteenth and the mid-twentieth century. The collection covers a range of agricultural sciences, forestry, food science, human nutrition, and rural sociology. It includes scientific texts, handbooks, memoirs, local government publications, transactions of early agricultural societies, government publications, and farm journals.
DSM-V Library
Online version of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual, 5th edition
MLA Handbook Plus
"MLA Handbook Plus includes the full text of the ninth edition of the handbook, the first editions of both the MLA Guide to Digital Literacy and the MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature, and a video course that teaches the principles of MLA documentation style through a series of short videos paired with quizzes, plus a final assessment."
This database is fully funded, or partially funded, by an HBCU Title III grant from the U.S. Department of Education, P031E200027, 2023-2027.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Published annually by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, the Occupational Outlook Handbook can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.
Oxford Art Online
Comprehensive Art encyclopedia which includes peer-reviewed articles contributed by nearly 7,000 scholars that are accompanied by images, bibliographies, and links to supplemental resources.
Oxford English Dictionary
One of the foremost reference works on usage and pronunciation of the English language.
Oxford Music Online
Formerly Groves Dictionary of Music and Musicians. One of the foremost reference works on all aspects of the music business with biographies from the famous to the nearly notable.
Oxford Reference Premium
Oxford Reference is an online reference collection spanning 25 different subject areas, that include dictionaries, companions and encyclopedias.

Sage Research Methods

Sage Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Built upon SAGE’s legacy of methods publishing, SAGE Research Methods is the essential online tool for researchers.
This database is fully funded, or partially funded, by an HBCU Title III grant from the U.S. Department of Education, P031B220034, 2023-2027.

Tennessee Reference E-Books

Tennessee Blue Book
"The Tennessee Blue Book serves as a manual of useful information on our state and government, both past and present. It contains information on the makeup of Tennessee state government, state history, national and state constitutions, most recent election results, and census data."
Tennessee Encyclopedia of History
An online encyclopedia that provides information on the history of Tennessee.