Coordinator of Research and Instruction
The Role of the Research and Instructional Services Department
Research and Instructional Services
The TSU Libraries provide reference and information services in multiple formats and platforms, primarily for students, faculty, staff, researchers, and others directly/currently affiliated with the University. We also assist with and refer inquiries from alums and others with previous TSU connections, outside researchers, other institutions, and the general public.
Services include the following:
- Traditional information/reference desk locations for in-person and telephone transactions with Library faculty and staff (615-963-5201 at Brown-Daniel Library/Main Campus; 615-963-7188 at Avon Williams Campus Library)
Research Appointments
Our librarians offer a research consultation service for the college's faculty, students, and staff. Click the Schedule Appointments button below to schedule an appointment with one of our Reference Librarians.
Information Literacy/Library Orientation
The library provides orientation for students and faculty so they may become acquainted with our services. Library Orientation includes instruction on how to use the library, how to use our electronic holdings, how to request an item on interlibrary loan, an overview of our specialized collections, how to make research appointments, and so much more!
Follow this link to schedule a Library Orientation / Information Literacy Instruction, or contact the Coordinator of Research and Instruction, James Scholz, at jscholz@tnstate.edu or call 615-963-5205.
Electronic Resources
Connecting to the Library's Homepage
- The Library's Homepage contains valuable information about resources and services. The library provides a variety of resources and information on its homepage including General Information about the library, Ask Us, Online Catalogs, Athena Project, Off-Campus Resources, Online Reserve Materials (E-Reserves), Digital Resources, Periodical Holdings, Online Journals, Online Forms, Survey Form and Results, Library Orientation, New Books/Media, Black History Resources, Books in Print, Departments, Tennessee Resources, Government Resources, Virtual Reference Desk, and Services.
- Please remember: Off-campus access to the libraries' resources may require your TSU login and password. Please select the first option on the Open Athens screen to access TSU Faculty, Staff, and Students. If you experience difficulties signing on, please contact Sherry Ge at 615-963- 5237 (xge@tnstate.edu). Issues with article access can be directed towards Vandy Owen (vowen@tnstate.edu) at 615-963-5226.
Library Hours
Borrowing Books
Library users may borrow up to 10 books at a time. The loan period is three weeks. Books must be returned to Tennessee State University Library before the due date. Fines may result in failing to do so. You may renew items for two weeks via telephone or e-mail. You may contact Mr. Michael Doster, Access Services Evening Supervisor, at (615) 963-5204 or (615) 963-5064 or by e-mail at mdoster@tnstate.edu. Please be aware that some library materials, including reference books, serials, rare and special collection books, and microform, are unavailable for loan.
Research Guides
Specialized Information Resources
- Citation Tools & ResourcesLibrarians can assist with finding the correct formats. The Publication Guide for the American Psychological Association is kept at the Reference Desk.
- Digital ScholarshipThe TN State Library Repository has items reviewed and approved by the individual university departments and centers on campus.
- Embedded Librarian ProgramAt TSU, we see our embedded librarians as collaborators specializing in specific academic content types.
- Interlibrary LoanThis service is available for TSU students, faculty, and staff. We can help you access books or online articles not available in the TSU Libraries.
- Media CentersThe Media Centers are available to serve the audio-visual needs of the faculty and students.
- Special CollectionsSpecial Collections and Archives include African-American books, digital resources, bibliographies, conference papers, official and student publications, brochures, minutes, photographs, and other materials relating to the University.
- Tennessee State University Government Documents LibGuideThe official guide for the Brown-Daniel Library's Federal Depository.