Coordinator of Research and Instruction
Welcome to TSU Libraries!
This Research Guide provides suggested library resources for Criminal Justice, including links to peer-reviewed databases, journals, and more.
Criminal Justice Databases
- Criminal Justice Database
This is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. It includes as U.S. and international scholarly journals, correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields. Coverage 1981-
- Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice
Informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, writing sociological reports, and much more. Provides information from more than 250 journals.
- Google ScholarFree Google website that lets you search for scholarly full text articles.
- HeinOnlineThe HeinOnline Academic package contains more than 20 databases. These database contain over 100 million pages of content and cover more than 100 subject areas. Some of the stand out content includes:2600+title journal database, U.S. Federal & State Case Law, and comprehensive government documents. HeinOnline's collection of government documents includes complete collections of the U.S. Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, congressional Record, U.S. Code, U.S. Statutes at Large, U.S. Treaties & Agreements, and legislative Histories of more than 2400 of the most important pieces of legislation in U.S. History. Includes the U.S. State Package for Tennessee Laws.
- Index to Legal Periodicals and BooksIndexes over 850 legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, bar association publications, university publications, and government publications and more.
- International Relations and Security Network
The Center for Security Studies (CSS) at ETH Zurich is a center of competence for Swiss and international security policy. It offers security policy expertise in research, teaching, and consulting activities. The CSS promotes understanding of security policy challenges as a contribution to a more peaceful world. Its work is independent, practice-relevant, and based on a sound academic footing. It combines research and policy consultancy and, as such, functions as a bridge between academia and practice. It trains highly qualified junior researchers and serves as a point of contact and information for the interested public.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Has full text coverage of nearly 400 journals. Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental processes, observational and experimental methods.
- Sociology Collection
Provides access to Sociological Abstracts in combination with other databases covering the international literature in sociology and social services, along with related fields. Together, it provides abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more, including full-text from hundreds of leading sociology journals.