Librarian
Citation Generators
Popular Citation Generators
A citation generator is a tool that exists to assist you with the creation of a bibliographic citation. Most tools focus on creating the citation for your bibliography (works cited or reference page); fewer tools include help with formatting parenthetical or in-text citations.
Many credible websites and library databases include citation generators for each source.
If the source doesn't include a citation generator, there are many other tools online that you can use for citation assistance. Click on the tabs above to learn more about a few of these tools.
Content adapted from Butler Universities' Citation Management Libguide
"Helps you build a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software. It's brought to you by the team behind Zotero, the powerful open-source research tool recommended by thousands of universities worldwide."
FREE?
- Nothing! ZoteroBib is completely free and ad-free.
CITATION STYLES
- MLA, APA, Chicago/Turabian
- Support over 9,000 other citation styles too!
TYPES OF SOURCES
- Just need a URL to create a citation
- Newspaper and magazine articles, library catalogs, journal articles, sites like Amazon and Google Books, and MORE!
OTHER FEATURES
- Can cite almost anything
- Export to a bibliography of Works Cited
- AutoSave feature to local storage on your browser
- Easily share your list of sources with others with the "Link This" feature
Check out the FAQ for more info.
FREE?
- Citation creation can be done for free in the major styles.
- A BibMe Pro plan is available with additional features such as plagiarism checking
CITATION STYLES
- MLA, APA, Chicago
TYPES OF SOURCES
- Book, magazine, newspaper, website, journal, film, other
OTHER FEATURES
- Will look up and generate citation based upon website, book title, etc. using WorldCat
- Includes a parenthetical citation feature
FREE?
- You can create MLA citations without paying. For other citation styles, you'll need a membership.
CITATION STYLES
- MLA is available for free
- APA, Harvard, Chicago, and more require a premium membership
TYPES OF SOURCES
- Website, book, newspaper, journal, database, and more
OTHER FEATURES
- Will look up and generate citation based upon website url, book title, etc.
There are a LOT of options for citation generators:
We'd love to hear which tools you find useful! Email us at referencedesk@tnstate.edu to let us know your preference.
EndNote Web
- EndNote
This version is a part of the Web of Science subscription and does not offer all of the features in Endnote 21. Create a free account and import your paper. Allows the selection of thousands of citation styes which will be created as you add content to the paper. References can be collected, organized, and shared. Contains the "Cite As You Write" plug-in. Provides access to 4606 citation styles.