Dean-Libraries and Media Centers
The New Negro Movement
In 1925, Alain L. Locke, an African American philosophy professor at Howard University published a landmark anthology, The New Negro: An Interpretation. This book would highlight the writers and artists that would become well-known during this time period. Originally this period was known as the New Negro Movement.
What is the Harlem Renaissance?
As African Americans flocked to Northern cities in the 1920s, they created a new social and cultural landscape. This movement was known as the Harlem Renaissance. Many new artists, musicians, and writers came out of this renaissance. In this video clip, see why this renaissance started and how it impacted American society.
Harlem Map from the 1920s [EXCLUDE]
Click the map below to see the homes and hang-outs of some of the famous folks from the Harlem Renaissance
Databases for Harlem Renaissance Research
The database below contains over 550 resources related to the Harlem Renaissance.
- African American Experience
The African American Experience developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists and is designed to be a user friendly online database collection on African American history and culture.
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Includes print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
- African American Periodicals 1825-1995
Covers more than 170 periodicals by and about African Americans. The publications, which come from 26 states, include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
- Alexander Street Literature
Is a comprehensive, cross-searchable package of collections covering literatures of place, race, and gender. Today, Alexander Street Literature features 13 collections and offers over 600,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, and novels, along with more than 4,000 full-text plays. With new content being added on a regular basis, the current package currently has over 852,000. Includes: Black Short Fiction and Folklore, Black Women Writers, Caribbean Literature, Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period, Latin American Women Writers, Latino Literature, Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period, and South and Southeast Asian Literature in English.
- JSTOR
Jstor Is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources. The library has the entire Arts & Sciences Collection, the Life Sciences Collection and Business Journal IV. We have both archival and current subscriptions.
- Oxford African American Studies Center
The Oxford African American Studies Center combines the authority of carefully edited reference works. It contains: Africana, Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895, Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present,Black Women in America, 2nd Edition, African American National Biography, Dictionary of African Biography, The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought, and the Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography.
- Pittsburgh Courier: 1911-2010
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
- Project Muse (Social Sciences Collection)
Is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community around the world. For over 20 years, Project MUSE has been the trusted and reliable source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading universities and scholarly societies. Currently, Project MUSE has over 674 journals from 125 publishers and offers over 50,000 books from more than 100 presses.
- ProQuest Black Studies
This database will combine primary and secondary sources, leading historical Black newspapers, archival documents, key government materials, video, writings by major American Black intellectuals and essays by top scholars in Black Studies.
Subject Headings (Search Terms)
Click the links below to find more library resources about the Harlem Renaissance
Key Reference Titles
Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance/Cary D. Wintz, Paul Finkelman, Editors by Call Number: NX512.3.A35 E53 2004 v.1-2ISBN: 1579584578Publication Date: 2004-01-01- Encyclopedia of the Harlem Literary Renaissance by Call Number: PS153.N5 B675 2006ISBN: 081604967XPublication Date: 2005-10-01
