Health Administration, Health Sciences, and Public Health

Open education encompasses resources, tools and practices that employ a framework of open sharing to improve educational access and effectiveness worldwide.

Open Education combines the traditions of knowledge sharing and creation with 21st century technology to create a vast pool of openly shared educational resources, while harnessing today’s collaborative spirit to develop educational approaches that are more responsive to learner’s needs.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              — Open Education Consortium                                                                                                                                                                                                                   

• Bookboon.com - Healthcare & Medicine Books

  Bookboon.com contains free eBooks and textbooks that can be downloaded as a pdf, no registration needed.

• Global Text Project - Health

  The Global Text Project  has made over 100 textbooks available for free online, many of which have also been translated into a variety of other languages.

• InTech - Health Sciences

  InTech publishes more than 2,300 open textbooks and 6 journals in a variety of subjects that fall under the heading of science, technology, and medicine.

• MIT Open Courseware - Health Sciences & Technology

  MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.

• Open.Michigan - Medical

  This website features academic content created by the University of Michigan community that you can use in your own research, teaching or learning experiences.

• Applied Math & Science Education Repository - Medicine

  AMSER (the Applied Math and Science Education Repository) is a portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use. AMSER is funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF) as part of the National Science Digital Library, and is being created by a team of project partners led by Internet Scout.

• NCBI Bookshelf

  Bookshelf, the books division of the NLM Literature Archive (LitArch) at the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), is an online searchable collection of books, reports, databases, and other scholarly literature in biology, medicine, and the life sciences.

The following vendors and collections contain OA articles for the sciences, including health and biological science.

• OpenStax College

  Open source textbooks that are written by professional content developers who are experts in their fields and undergo a rigorous peer review process. All textbooks meet standard scope and sequence requirements.

• Open Textbook Library

  The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks. The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network.

• MERLOT

  MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community. The MERLOT Collection is made up of over 40,000 materials in 19 different material type categories.

• OER Commons

  OER Commons helps educators, students, and lifelong learners avoid time-consuming searches and find exactly the right materials. With a single point of access from which they can search, browse, and evaluate resources in OER Commons’ growing collection of over 50,000 high-quality OER everyone can more efficiently find what they need.

• Open Course Library Open Course Library is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts

• Bassett Collection of Stereoscopic Images of Human Anatomy

  Photographs and diagrams of human anatomy. Provided by the Lane Medical Library, Stanford School of Medicine.

• CDC - Public Health Image Library

  Much of the information critical to the communication of public health messages is pictorial rather than text-based. Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures.

• National Library of Medicine

  Online repository of biomedical resources including books, still images, videos, and maps.

• NIH - Image and Video Gallery

  From the National Institute of General Medical Sciences, a searchable collection of scientific photos, illustrations and videos.

• Open-i

  Open access biomedical image search engine made available by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

• The Visible Human Projects- NLM

  The creation of complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies.