Welcome to the Health Administration, Health Sciences, and Public Health Research Guide!
This guide is designed to serve as a starting point for navigating resources relevant to health administration and other health-related topics. In addition to the information found on this page, use the navigation panel above to access specific types of resources and services offered to support your research needs.
Image by <a href="https://www.freepik.com/free-photo/front-view-assortment-medical-still-life-elements_12412883.htm#page=2&query=healthcare&position=9&from_view=search&track=sph">Freepik</a>
Recently Added to the Collection
-
Economics for Healthcare Managers, Fifth Edition by Economics for Healthcare Managers provides the practical guide that healthcare managers need to simplify and strengthen the decision-making process for everyday issues. Written for those with little or no background in economics, the book is designed to engage readers in today's policy and management challenges. The author references classic studies while also drawing on current research and emphasizing contemporary analyses. This extensively revised edition presents the latest information on topics such as: Overviews of the US healthcare system and healthcare financing systemRisk evaluation and managementCosts and PricingPopulation healthForecastingSupply and demand analysisEconomic analysis of clinical and managerial interventionsProfits, market structure, and market powerGovernment intervention in healthcare marketsBehavioral economics The book's 37 case studies offer real-world examples of the concepts and strategies provided throughout the book.
Call Number: RA427 .L44 2023ISBN: 9781640553712Publication Date: 2023-03-09 -
The Healthcare Quality Book by The Healthcare Quality Book provides a framework, methodology, and practical approaches to assist healthcare professionals in championing improvement efforts. The book is divided into three sections that cover the fundamentals of healthcare quality, critical quality topics, and key strategies for effectively leading quality. The extensively revised fifth edition of this definitive text brings together healthcare thought leaders with a wide range of subject matter expertise. Chapter contributors explore the foundation of healthcare quality, share their perspectives on essential and cutting-edge topics, and offer strategies for learning the skills to lead a culture of quality. New content includes chapters on health equity and disparities in care and expanded content on quality improvement tools, the patient experience, and digital technologies. The book concludes with three well-developed case studies of quality improvement in action that incorporate the lessons learned in the preceding chapters. The Healthcare Quality Book will assist leaders at all levels in developing a solid foundation of quality leadership knowledge, skills, and tools.
Call Number: RA399.A3 H433 2023ISBN: 9781640553576Publication Date: 2022-11-24 -
Leadership in Healthcare by Leadership in Healthcare examines leadership through the lens of values and explores how they play a major role in leaders effective performance. Author Carson Dye shares the key values that influence a leader's behaviors, priorities, thought processes, and actions. Dye also offers guidance for assessing team values and effectiveness at all career stages. The book is divided into five parts: Leadership in Healthcare, Personal Values, Team Values, Evaluation, and Additional Perspectives on Leadership. New content includes chapters on inclusivity, the role of physicians, and the role of leaders in supporting workers. In addition, a new chapter looks at the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on leadership and the special challenges healthcare leaders have faced-and continue to face-in a very different healthcare environment. The book's special features include opening vignettes reflecting on workplace situations; sidebars, cases, and exercises to support discussions and stimulate reader response; and additional readings that provide an expanded understanding of chapter content. In addition, the book's appendices share tools for evaluating leaders and teams and driving self evaluation.
Call Number: https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=cat07122a&AN=tsu.b3075991&site=eds-live&custid=s9007744ISBN: 9781640553613Publication Date: 2022-12-30 -
The Present Illness by Beyond political posturing and industry quick-fixes, why is the American health care system so difficult to reform? Health care reform efforts are difficult to achieve and have been historically undermined by their narrow scope. In The Present Illness, Martin F. Shapiro, MD, PhD, MPH, weaves together history, sociology, extensive research, and his own experiences as a physician to explore the broad range of afflictions impairing US health care and explains why we won't be able to fix the system without making significant changes across society. With a sharp eye and ready humor, Shapiro dissects the ways all groups participating--clinicians and their organizations, medical schools and their faculty, hospitals and clinical corporations, scientists and the National Institutes of Health, insurers and manufacturers, governments and their policies, and also patients and the public--shape and reinforce a dysfunctional system. Shapiro identifies three major problems stymieing reform: commodification of care; values, expectations, unmet needs, attitudes, and personal limitations of participants; and toxic relationships and communication among these groups. Shapiro lays out a sweeping agenda of concrete actions to address the many factors contributing to the system's failings. Highlighting the interconnectedness of both the problems and potential solutions, he warns that piecemeal reform efforts will continue to be undermined by those who believe they have something to gain from the status quo. Although overhauling our health care system is daunting, Shapiro nonetheless concludes that we must push forward with a far more comprehensive effort in all sectors of health care and throughout society to create a system that is humane, effective, and just.
Call Number: RA395.A3 S437 2023ISBN: 9781421445656Publication Date: 2023-01-31
-
American Hospital Association Guide to the Health Care Field
Provides comprehensive, accurate information on 6,500 hospitals and 400-plus health care systems. It is the most comprehensive directory available with data sourced from the AHA's Fiscal Year 2020 AHA Annual Survey of Hospitals, AHA membership data and other sources. Beyond contact and demographic information, this encyclopedic directory includes exclusive hospital and health care statistics. Hospital profiles include physician arrangements, hospital organizational structure, utilization data, primary service data, approval code/accreditations, and Medicare Provider Identification.
Call Number: Ref. RA977.A1 A46 2022 -
Guide to U. S. HMOs and PPOs 2022 by The Guide to U.S. HMOs and PPOs is a comprehensive source that provides detailed information about Health Maintenance Organizations and Preferred Provider Organizations nationwide, including key contacts. This edition details more information about more managed healthcare organizations than ever before.
Call Number: Ref. RA413.5.U5 H586 2022ISBN: 9781642658415 -
ICD-10-CM 2023: the Complete Official Codebook by ICD-10-CM 2023: The Complete Official Codebook provides the entire updated code set for diagnostic coding, organized to make the challenge of accurate coding easier. This codebook is the cornerstone for establishing medical necessity, correct documentation, determining coverage and ensuring appropriate reimbursement. Each of the 22 chapters in the Tabular List of Diseases and Injuries is organized to provide quick and simple navigation to facilitate accurate coding. The book also contains supplementary appendixes including a coding tutorial, pharmacology listings, a list of valid three-character codes and additional information on Z-codes for long-term drug use and Z- codes that can only be used as a principal diagnosis. Official 2023 coding guidelines are included in this codebook. FEATURES AND BENEFITS Full list of code changes. Quickly see the complete list of new, revised, and deleted codes affecting the CY2023 codes, including a conversion table and code changes by specialty. QPP symbol in the tabular section. The symbol identifies diagnosis codes associated with Quality Payment Program (QPP) measures under MACRA. New and updated coding tips. Obtain insight into coding for physician and outpatient settings. Chapter 22 features U-codes and coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) codes. Improved icon placement for ease of use. New and updated definitions in the tabular listing. Assign codes with confidence based on illustrations and definitions designed to highlight key components of the disease process or injury and provide better understanding of complex diagnostic terms. Intuitive features and format. This edition includes color illustrations and visual alerts, including color-coding and symbols that identify coding notes and instructions, additional character requirements, codes associated with CMS hierarchical condition categories (HCC), Medicare Code Edits (MCEs), manifestation codes, other specified codes, and unspecified codes. Placeholder X. This icon alerts the coder to an important ICD-10-CM convention--the use of a "placeholder X" for three-, four- and five-character codes requiring a seventh character extension. Coding guideline explanations and examples. Detailed explanations and examples related to application of the ICD-10-CM chapter guidelines are provided at the beginning of each chapter in the tabular section. Muscle/tendon translation table. This table is used to determine muscle/tendon action (flexor, extensor, other), which is a component of codes for acquired conditions and injuries affecting the muscles and tendons. Index to Diseases and Injuries. Shaded guides to show indent levels for subentries. Appendices. Supplement your coding knowledge with information on proper coding practices, risk-adjustment coding, pharmacology, and Z-codes.
Call Number: Ref. RB115 .I23 2023ISBN: 9781640162228Publication Date: 2022-10-01 -
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions by Make sense of complex medical terms with this comprehensive reference! Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions, 11th Edition includes more than 56,000 authoritative definitions along with 2,450 illustrations - that's twice the number of images found in other medical dictionaries. Appendixes in the book and online make it easy to look up frequently used information, and an enhanced eBook version includes animations, audio pronunciations, and more. Helping you communicate more effectively in the workplace, this reference is an indispensable reference for students, nurses, and healthcare professionals. More than 56,000 entries offer detailed definitions, as well as the latest information on pathophysiology, treatment and interventions, and nursing care.
Call Number: Ref. R121 .M892 2022ISBN: 9780323639149
-
Digital Health Care by Digital Health Care: Perspectives, Applications, and Cases explores the trends, perspectives, and cases of Digital Healthcare and Informatics (DHI) that are transforming healthcare across the globe.Organized in 5 major connecting parts, this well-conceived text begins by laying out foundational DHI themes before focusing in on key DHI core technologies, developments, methods and challenges -- from big data analytics & artificial intelligence to security and privacy issues, clinical decision support systems, consumer health informatics, and more. It then explores DHI emerging technologies (e.g. sensors and wearable electronics), and concludes with short case studies and critical case questions designed to reinforce conceptual understanding.Written for undergraduates health professionals, this accessible text offers a multidisciplinary perspective that is suitable for use in variety of healthcare disciplines - from allied health and nursing to health administration, public health, and health informatics.Key Features:- Each chapter follows a consistent structure that comprehensively covers a specific DHI topic(s) and related key technological components along with workplace practices from a multidisciplinary perspective.- Real world cases studies help students understand key and illustrate how they can been applied in real-world settings.- Clinical innovations and techniques for evaluating clinical outcomes, such as improved care, performance improvement, and cost reduction in clinical settings, are explored and emphasized throughout the text. - Technology and issues that a transforming the health care industry are explored including standardization, artificial intelligence (AI), cloud computing, medical sensors, enterprise architectures, and precision medicine.- Navigate eBook Access (included with the printed text) provides online or offline access to the digital text from your computer, tablet, or mobile device.
Call Number: R119.95 .O45 2023ISBN: 9781284153859 -
Essentials of the U. S. Health Care System by Essentials of the U.S. Health Care System, Sixth Edition is a clear and concise distillation of the major topics covered in the best-selling Delivering Health Care in America by the same authors. Written with the undergraduate in mind, Essentials of the U.S. Health Care System is a reader-friendly, well organized resource that covers the major characteristics, foundations, and future of the U.S. health care system. The text clarifies the complexities of health care organization and finance and presents a solid overview of how the various components fit together.Key Features:- Updated new data throughout. Tables, charts, figures, and text are all based on the latest data.- New sections on the prospects of healthcare reform under the Biden Administration and patient advocacy organizations.- Coverage of COVID, including the effects on U.S. hospitals, impact of vulnerable populations, implications for the future of health care delivery, etc.- Expanded coverage of nanomedicine, AI in health informatics, cybersecurity of data, and more.- Latest on ACA, including its effects on insurance, access, and cost.- New sections on payments for quality and cost savings; Payment Driven Payment Model (PDPM), payments for rehabilitation therapy.- Updates on forces of future change; cost, coverage and access dilemmas; and expectations of health reform in the broader economic context. - Navigate eBook access (included with each print text) provides online or offline access to the digital text from a computer, tablet, or mobile device.
Call Number: RA395.A3 S486 2023ISBN: 9781284235104Publication Date: 2022-08-01 -
Introduction to Healthcare Quality Management, Fourth Edition by Healthcare quality can be a daunting subject, with its maze of regulatory requirements and plethora of approaches. Introduction to Healthcare Quality Management makes the topic approachable. It explains the fundamental principles and techniques of quality management in sufficient depth for readers to begin applying them, at an introductory level that does not overwhelm them. This updated fourth edition includes a new chapter that addresses the problem of stalled or failed improvement projects. Many case examples are included in the chapter to illustrate common causes of project failures together with guidance for achieving success. It also discusses how measurement systems can reinforce and sustain performance improvement. The sidebars, definitions, and references sprinkled throughout the chapters have been updated and expanded. Concise summaries and relatable examples from clinical, operational, and administrative settings have also been included. This updated edition of Introduction to Healthcare Quality Management is an invaluable resource that helps readers understand and apply the many complex elements of quality management in healthcare.
Call Number: RA418 .S638 2023ISBN: 9781640553637Publication Date: 2022-10-08 -
Management of Healthcare Organizations: an Introduction, Fourth Edition by To become a successful healthcare manager, students need to understand management theories and methods and know how to apply them to real-world problems. Management of Healthcare Organizations: An Introduction teaches this in an engaging way. The authors provide aspiring managers with theoretical background, practical methods, and hands-on exercises to prepare for careers in healthcare management, emphasizing the multifaceted nature of management problems and the need to combine a variety of approaches to solve them. This text includes bulleted lists, examples, and exhibits to boost readability, retention, and engagement. Chapters are arranged to sequentially build a body of knowledge and a mental framework for management. Each chapter begins with a scenario taken from the same complex telehealth case study, reinforcing the complexity of management problems while introducing chapter concepts. Each chapter has updated information on diversity, equity, and inclusion, and strategies for managing clinical staff and performance, as well as "Try It, Apply It" real-world exercises. This book combines time-tested fundamental principles with cutting-edge methods and current knowledge.
Call Number: RA971 .O415 2023ISBN: 9781640553736Publication Date: 2023-03-14 -
Strategic Healthcare Management: Planning and Execution, Third Edition by Developing and implementing strategy is one of the most challenging tasks for healthcare leaders, as it requires a wide range of skills and knowledge. Strategic Healthcare Management: Planning and Execution provides a thorough overview of strategic principles and the competencies needed to apply them, such as communication, decision making, goal setting, data analyses, project management, and financial analysis. The book emphasizes both competitive and collaborative strategies to help healthcare leaders further their organization's mission rather than merely outperform competitors. The third edition includes 10 brand-new cases and expanded content, including new chapters on: * The growing trend of healthcare data analytics, with emphasis on data-driven strategic analysis * Project management principles to support strategy implementation, with an exploration of tools and techniques such as Gantt charts. The fundamental concepts and theories of strategy, as well as the actual execution and assessment of strategic plans, are all covered in this book. Readers will gain the theoretical foundation and hands-on experience they need to comprehend, apply, and assess strategies.
Call Number: RA971 .W344 2023ISBN: 9781640553651Publication Date: 2023-03-16
Call Numbers
The following are general call number areas in the field of medicine and health:
|
R |
General Medicine |
|
RA |
Public Aspects of Medicine |
|
RB |
Pathology. |
|
RC |
Internal Medicine Surgery |
|
RD |
|
|
RE |
Ophthalmology |
|
RF |
Ear, Nose, and Throat |
|
RG |
Gynecology, Obstetrics |
|
RJ |
Pediatrics |
|
RK |
Dentistry |
|
RL |
Dermatology |
|
RM |
Therapeutics, Pharmacology |
|
RS |
Pharmacy |
|
RT |
Nursing |
|
RV |
Botanic, Eclectic Medicine |
|
RX |
Homeopathy |
|
RZ |
Chiropractic, Osteopathy |
TSU Health Sciences Programs
Visit the TSU College of Health Sciences page to find more information about the programs.