Librarian
Introduction
This Research Guide provides suggested library resources for the visual arts such as Books, E-books, and Databases with articles and images pertaining to the visual arts.
Book Locations: Most circulating art books are located on the third floor of the Brown-Daniel Library. Art books have call numbers ranging from N - NX. Oversize books are in a separate location on the third floor and have an "X" over the call number. Photography books have a "TR" call number. Art reference books are located on the second floor.
Art Journals: Second floor of the Brown-Daniel Library.
Reliable, freely available web sites are also listed.
Databases
Databases are for students, faculty, and staff of Tennessee State University to use to find journal articles, images, and other information relative to their research interest. To access databases and eJournals off campus you must use your user name and password. For assistance with problem logins, contact Colette Bradley (cbradley@tnstate.edu) or at 615-963-5489.
- Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)Is a comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
- Black History (Bio. True StoryOffers page length biographies to persons of all races. Features a phot portrait, quick facts. Under "Cite This" a citation style guide. First screen includes a select list of African American Artsists.
- Gale (formerly Infotrac)
is the platform for over 30 on interdisciplinary databases on general and specific subjects such as Academic OneFile, Expanded Academic General Reference Gold, Educator’s Reference Complete, Military and Intelligence, Business, Economics and Theory, Informe, General Science Collection, and several others
- Gale OneFile: Fine ArtsWith more than 100 full-text magazines and journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM, this collection will provide your students with resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
- JSTOR
Jstor Is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources. The library has the entire Arts & Sciences Collection, the Life Sciences Collection and Business Journal IV. We have both archival and current subscriptions.
- New York Public Library Digital GalleryThe New York Public Library's image database has been developed to provide free and open online access to thousands of images from the original and rare holdings of the Research Libraries. Spanning a wide range of visual media, NYPL Digital Gallery offers digital images of drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, and more. Encompassing the subject strengths of the vast collections of the Research Libraries, these materials represent the applied sciences, fine and decorative arts, history, Music and Performing Arts, and social sciences.
- Oxford Art OnlineComprehensive Art encyclopedia which includes peer-reviewed articles contributed by nearly 7,000 scholars that are accompanied by images, bibliographies, and links to supplemental resources.
- Project Muse Journals-Basic Research Collection
Is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community around the world. For over 20 years, Project MUSE has been the trusted and reliable source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading universities and scholarly societies. Currently, Project MUSE has over 674 journals from 125 publishers and offers over 50,000 books from more than 100 presses.
- Smart HistoryCovers a broad range of artistic themes and periods and provides information on a large number of artists. It provides access to hundreds high quality images and videos.
EDS and Classic Catalog
Search Books, Articles, and More
Selected Art Journals
- ArtCheck the periodicals on art held by the Brown-Daniel Library. Many additional articles in academic journals and popular magazines are accessible through our electronic data bases.
Interlibrary Loan
Looking for a book or article that we don't have? You may be able to acquire it through interlibrary loan. Located uder "Quick Links."
Interlibrary loan allows us to borrow resource materials on your behalf from almost any libray in the nation. Although some libraries charge a fee for this service, we will make every effort to borrow only from those that do not charge for this service.
Information Literacy
Citation Tools and Resources (The Chicago Manual of Style)
How to Do Effective Library Research
Choose or Identify a Topic An idea for a topic should always be discussed with your instructor.A topic can be viewed much like the scientific method in which a new perspective is developed or knowledge is added. This is generally considered to include 1) definition of a problem to be investigated, 2) collection of initial data, 3) use of data to form a theory or hypothesis explaining the problem 4) further collection of data to verify or modify the hypothesis through observation or experiment, 5) testing the data, and 6) interpreting the results to determine how it relates to the initial problem.
Citing Sources of InformationThe library owns several style manuals to help you properly cite sources of information. The instructor should recommend a format for your research paper which will include any of the following:
- The Chicago Manual of Style
- Modern Language Association (MLA)
- American Psychological Association Publication Manual (APA)
- Kate Turabian: Manual for Writers of Term Papers