How to Find Publications at TSU
You can find publications through Tennessee State University's library website in three main ways.
1. Basic Homepage Search- You will likely begin your search here. This will allow you to search through everything that TSU has.
2. Publication Finder- The publication finder provides streamlined access to the various journals and databases that TSU subscribes to.
For example, if you wanted to know about the wages of combination convenience store/gas station workers in the United States you have to go to the publication finder, set the filter to the letter G, and then browse by subject. Afterward, you must scroll until you find the word "gas station." You will see the article United States Gas Station with Convenience Store Reports Industry Jobs & Wages Report located on the database Business Source Complete, which can be found here.
3. You can also consult Browzine.
Which resource you utilize will depend on your research needs.
After researching and accumulating numerous resources, you may require additional help you did not anticipate. You may not know what to do with the resources you compiled. Some common questions may arise: how do I manage these resources? what is a citation and how do I create one? To find an answer to these questions there are a few things you can do such as requesting a research consultation with librarians at TSU. You can schedule a research consultation here. You need to locate the "Faculty & Staff" profiles found under the Learn About Us tab on the library website, the Use Our Services tab, or the Popular Tasks for Students tab on the library homepage. You may also consult the Citation Tools and Resources research guide that can be found just below the search bar on the main page of the library website. This guide is under the Library and Information Sciences and Language, Literature, and Philosophy research guides.
The A-Z list contains the titles of all the journals in databases that the library can provide in fulltext. It also has the capability of identifying journals by topic. By clicking on the Periodicals link on the library's webpage, patrons can find journals by title or topic.
The online catalog contains the journal catalog records for all of the periodical titles in databases for which the library holds subscriptions. Simply search the title and the print and/or electronic record will appear with links to the databases that supply fulltext articles from that journal.
TSU has over 20 databases provided by EBSCOhost, such as Academic Search Premier, the Psychology and Behavior Collection, Environment Complete, Education Source, Food Science Source, Biological and Agricultural Sciences, etc. RODP also provides EBSCOhost databases, such as Nursing and Allied Health. If you need assistance with mobile access to the journals, please review the is Help Sheet: