Business Administration

Welcome to the Business Administration LibGuide—a curated resource designed to support students, faculty, and professionals in navigating the dynamic world of business. This guide provides access to essential materials across key disciplines including management, marketing, finance, entrepreneurship, and organizational behavior. Whether you're conducting research, preparing for exams, or exploring industry trends, you'll find scholarly articles, databases, eBooks, and practical tools to enhance your learning and decision-making. Updated regularly to reflect current business practices and academic standards, this LibGuide serves as your gateway to informed analysis, strategic thinking, and professional growth in today’s competitive global marketplace.

Databases are provided exclusively for Tennessee State University students, faculty, and staff to support academic research by offering access to scholarly journal articles and related resources. While some content may appear across multiple platforms, each database typically contains unique materials that enhance research depth and breadth. If a citation does not include full-text access, the WebBridge tool may redirect users to an alternative database where the full article is available.

For off-campus access to databases and electronic journals, users must authenticate using their TSU username and password. This ensures secure and seamless connectivity to university-subscribed resources.

Databases

E-Books

E-JOURNALS

Classic Catalog 

Smartphone (Mobile) Access

How to Do Effective Library Research

1. Clarify Your Research Topic

Begin by defining a clear, focused research question. Break broad subjects into manageable themes and identify key concepts and terminology relevant to your inquiry.

2. Develop a Search Strategy

Use keywords, synonyms, and subject-specific terms. Apply Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to refine your search logic and improve precision.

3. Select Appropriate Resources

Choose databases, catalogs, and reference tools suited to your discipline. Use academic databases for peer-reviewed articles, library catalogs for books, and subject guides for curated resources.

4. Evaluate Sources Critically

Assess each source for credibility, relevance, currency, and scholarly value. Prioritize peer-reviewed journals, authoritative books, and reputable publishers.

5. Use Library Tools Effectively

Leverage advanced search features, citation tools, and filters. Consult librarians for guidance on specialized resources or complex search queries.

6. Organize and Document Your Findings

Keep detailed notes and track citations using reference management software (e.g., Zotero, EndNote). Maintain a research log to record search terms and results.

7. Cite Sources Properly

Follow the required citation style (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.) and ensure all sources are accurately referenced to avoid plagiarism.

8. Review and Revise

Reassess your findings, identify gaps, and refine your search strategy as needed. Effective research is iterative and benefits from critical reflection.

Citing Sources of Information 

1. Start with a Clear Research Question

Define your topic and identify key concepts. Use these to generate relevant keywords and search terms that will guide your exploration of library resources.

2. Use Credible Library Resources

Access scholarly databases, academic journals, books, and reference materials through your institution’s library portal. Prioritize peer-reviewed and authoritative sources.

3. Track Your Sources Meticulously

As you gather information, record full citation details immediately—author, title, publication date, journal name, volume, issue, and page numbers. This prevents loss of critical data and ensures accuracy.

4. Understand Citation Styles

Familiarize yourself with the required citation format (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.). Each style has specific rules for citing books, articles, websites, and other media.

5. Use Citation Management Tools

Leverage tools like Zotero, EndNote, or RefWorks to organize references, generate citations, and format bibliographies efficiently. 

6. Apply In-Text Citations Appropriately

When quoting, paraphrasing, or summarizing, include in-text citations to attribute ideas to their original sources. This upholds academic integrity and avoids plagiarism.

7. Create a Comprehensive Bibliography

Compile a list of all sources consulted and cited in your research. Ensure consistency in formatting and completeness in details.

8. Consult Library Support Services

Reach out to librarians for guidance on citation standards, source evaluation, and research strategies. Many libraries offer citation workshops and writing support.

Interlibrary Loan

If you are looking for an item, and find that is not held by TSU, Interlibrary Loan (ILL) will attempt to find it from free lending libraries off-campus. TSU uses the software called Tipasa to process ILL requests.

• Directions for Logging into your ILL Account to Request Items:

• Go to the TSU Library Home Page: www.tnstate.edu/library
• Click on the Interlibrary Loan link
• Select your campus location. Then, select your user status
• Login with your TSU username and password
• Click Create Request button
• Choose type of item requested (e. g. article, book chapter)
• Fill out request form
• Click Submit Request button. You will then see your personal page to view the status of items requested.

Delivery time: 1-14 days depending on item type (article/chapter scans, books).

• Main Campus Interlibrary Loan Request
• Avon Williams Campus Interlibrary Loan Request

Our Interlibrary Loan librarians are available to help you by email or phone: 

• (Main Campus) - Morgan Mitchell | kmitch86@tnstate.edu  615.963.5235
• (Avon Williams Library) - Dr. Vanessa Jones | vjones30@tnstate.edu 615.963.7383