Search the library Catalog.
Use the search field below to find career resources in our library! 
This Research Guide provides suggested library resources for Career Information such as Books, E-books, and Databases with articles. There are also websites and other resources that will assist with finding information.
Databases are for students, faculty, and staff of Tennessee State University to use to find journal articles, images, and other information relative to their research interest. To access databases and e-journals off campus you must use your name and T Number. For assistance with problem logins, contact Colette Bradley (cbradley@tnstate.edu) or at 615-963-5489.
- Career OutlookProvides job seeking information from the Bureau of Labour Statistics. Has data of the hottest jobs and earnings for different professions.
- Peterson's Career PrepProvides information on charting career paths and finding the jobs. Offers blogs and other ways of discovery for job seekers.
- O*Net The O*NET program is the nation's primary source of occupational information. Central to the project is the O*NET database, containing information on hundreds of standardized and occupation-specific descriptors. The database, which is available to the public at no cost, is continually updated by surveying a broad range of workers from each occupation. Information from this database forms the heart of O*NET OnLine, an interactive application for exploring and searching occupations. The database also provides the basis for our Career Exploration Tools, a set of valuable assessment instruments for workers and students looking to find or change careers.
- Occupational OutlookPublished by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, this is the electronic version of the book. It is the nationally recognized source for career trends, salary information, emerging job industries and other valuable information for job seekers.
- Plunkett Research, Ltd For job seekers, it provides such tools as interview preparation for specific industries, analysis of job trends, and links to job search websites. It offers a database of temporary employment agencies, and tips for how to apply for jobs, online. The database contains a Search for Employers Center with contacts for 1,000 favorit employers.
- Gale Business: Entrepreneurship
Offers career information for entrepreneurs and those wanting to start a small business.
- Gale OneFile:Vocation and CareersResearch a vocation, find an appropriate institution of learning, and get assistance on job searches and maintaining a career. A Gale database that provides access to 400 journals concerning career information.
- Vocational Studies Premier
A popular resource that provides access to information on careers and vocations.
University Libraries and the University Career Development Center provide templates for a variety of career fields.
- My Perfect ResumeStart your career on the right track with our professional cover letter templates. They’re formatted to follow industry standards, are ATS-friendly and easy to customize.
- University CompareA-Z list of Personal Statement Examples.
- How to Write a Resume: A Step-by-Step Guidehis step-by-step resume writing guide is designed to help you build a resume that stands out to recruiters and adequately communicates your skills and experience.