Services for Patrons With Disabilities

The Tennessee State University Libraries and Media Centers are intentional about providing the best possible access to library collections, services, and facilities for all library users. It is a priority for the TSU Libraries and Media Centers to select and acquire, whenever possible, resources and technologies that are accessible to all and compliant with the Americans with Disabilities Act. If any library resources are not accessible, we are committed to providing reasonable accommodations and timely access to users with disabilities.

Accessibility Staff at the TSU Libraries

Colette Bradley, Computer Specialist - cbradley@tnstate.edu / 615-963-5489

Sherry Ge, TBR Libraries Accessibility Chair for Tennessee State University Libraries - xge@tnstate.edu / 615-963-5237

Most of the digital content the library subscribes to comes to us through databases. This includes digital platforms that host ebooks, journal articles, reference material, audiovisual content, data sets, and more. Many of these database vendors provide accessibility statements or VPATs to describe how their product complies with Section 508 and Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG).

This section contains publicly posted accessibility statements and VPATs for a selection of the University Libraries' database vendors.

If you need assistance using a scanner, staff at the Access Services Desk, located on the first floor can provide assistance (scans can be emailed to you or downloaded). Additional information on scanning may be obtained from the Head of Access Services Candace Lewis.

Library personnel CANNOT read from books or periodicals for patrons. Students should contact the Office of Disability Services in advance of their needs for guidelines on research assistance.

If you find a specific accessibility problem with a library resource or service, please let us know by e-mailing Library Dean, Glenda Alvin (galvin@tnstate.edu).

Library staff will make every effort to assist students with a disability in obtaining information from library databases or library resources that are inaccessible due to a disability.

Items can be paged from most areas of the library, including the main collection. They are available for pickup at the Guest Services desk the next business day (on average).  

You can renew circulating library-owned materials by:

• Renew items by calling: 615-963-5064 Monday-Thursdays between 8:00 am-11:45 pm, Fridays between 8:00 am and 4:00 pm, Saturdays between 10:00 am and 5:30 pm, and Sundays between 2:00 pm and 9:30 pm.
• Visit TN State University Libraries Catalog (link is external) to log into your account and renew books online

Once you have renewed an item the maximum number of times, you must return it. Overdue books and books on hold for other users cannot be renewed.

• If the public elevator is out of service, please visit the Access Services desk to request that a Library staff member escort you to the 2nd or 3rd floor via the Library’s staff-only elevator.
• To return to the 1st floor using the staff-only elevator, please approach 2nd floor staff at the Research & Instruction Desk or 3rd floor staff in the Special-Collection Department for assistance being escorted to the 1st floor in the staff-only elevator.
• You’re also welcome to call 615-963-1352/5064 from any floor to request an escort back to the main 1st floor using the staff-only elevator.

If you need assistance obtaining books or items from Library shelves, do not hesitate to approach staff at the main 1st floor’s Access Services desk and request an escort into the collection’s aisles on the 1st or 3rd floors to retrieve items.