Assistant Director of Operations and Planning
Introduction
This Research Guide provides suggested library resources for Food and Nutritional Sciences (Dietetics) such as Books, E-books, and Databases with articles and images. Reliable, freely available web sites are also listed.
APA Format Citation - Sixth(6th) Edition
Books to Browse
BrowZine
Citation Style Manual in Print
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by ISBN: 1433832151Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Contact the Library
If you have questions about the library’s resources or need specific research help, please contact the library.
Reference Department
Text Us at 615-552-0986
Call Us at 615-963-5211 (Main Library) 615-963-7188 *AWC Library) 615-963-5743 ( Main Media Center) 615-963-7198/2323 (AWC Media Center)
Databases
Databases are for students, faculty, and staff of Tennessee State University to use to find journal articles, images, and other information. Remember to login to databases off-campus using your TSU login.
Food and Nutritional Sciences ( Dietetics)
- AHFS Consumer Medication InformationAHFS is published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists—long recognized as an authority on educating patients about drug use and safety, and a founding member of the National Council on Patient Information and Education (NCPIE). Key Features: Drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers;Identifies medications that have the potential for adverse events when used by elderly patients as recommended by a panel of nationally recognized experts (Beers Criteria). These criteria identify medications that should generally be avoided or that should be used with caution in older adults (65 years of age or older)
- CINAHL CompleteConsidered the most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, it provides full text for more than 1300 journals. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. Contains publications from AOTA and the American Diabetes Assn., as well 130 Evidenced Based Care Sheets and 170 Quick Lessons.
- Core Historical Literature in AgricultureCHLA is a core digital collection of historical books and journals on United States agriculture and rural life published between the early nineteenth and the mid-twentieth century. The collection covers a range of agricultural sciences, forestry, food science, human nutrition, and rural sociology. It includes scientific texts, handbooks, memoirs, local government publications, transactions of early agricultural societies, government publications, and farm journals.
- Cornell Hearth Collection: Home Economics ArchiveHEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance. The first phase of this project focused on books published between 1850 and 1925 and a small number of journals. Future phases of the project will include books published between 1926 and 1950, as well as additional journals. The full text of these materials, as well as bibliographies and essays on the wide array of subjects relating to Home Economics, are all freely accessible on this site.
- Food Science SourceThis extensive full-text database is designed to support the informational needs of the food industry at all levels, offering unmatched full-text coverage of information relevant to many areas that are integral to the food industry
- Gale OneFile: Culinary ArtsCulinary Arts Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines on all aspects of cooking and nutrition. The database includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.
- Health and Wellness Resource CenterThis is a comprehensive resource for libraries, schools, and hospitals that provides integrated access to medical, statistical, health, and related information. The Health & Wellness Resource Center features a fully updated, intuitive interface—providing multiple pathways to key information. Its browser-style format lets you read the latest news, review a set of subject areas, select a particular resource, or search across the entire database.
- PubMed CentralIs a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
- Entrepreneurial Studies SourceProvides current information about topics relating to entrepreneurship and small business. Offers researchers full text for more than 125 important periodicals, 135 reference books, case studies, thousands of company profiles and over 600 videos with transcripts and related articles from the Harvard Faculty Series and VatorTV."
- Medline
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, etc.,. Provides citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals. Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine.
- FSTA - Food Science and Technology Abstracts with Full TextFSTA with Full Text is a specialized full-text database covering scientific and technological literature relating to food, beverages and nutrition. It is produced in collaboration with a team of experts within IFIS, a not-for-profit organization with an ongoing commitment to learning and development and a reputation for scientific integrity, accuracy and excellence.
EDS and Classic Catalog
If the Library Doesn't Have the Book
The Library's print and electronic book collection can be searched by using the library catalog.
Books and Journal articles not owned by TSU library can be borrowed or obtained from other libraries via Inter-Library Loan.
If you cannot find a specific book that you would like in the library catalog, please feel free to Suggest A Purchase or you may contact your library liason.
Information Literacy
Citing Your Sources
Basics of APA Style Tutorial From the APA
Formatting Your Paper
Citation Generators
Enter Your data, the system provides you the citation.
Other Information
Other Resources
- Digital Scholarship @ Tennessee State University
This is an open-access platform for the scholarly articles and publications of TSU faculty, staff, and students. It hosts student and faculty-created journals. It has TSU digitized archival content such as yearbooks, commencements, student newspapers (The Meter), TSU Queens, Black Greek history, biographies of TSU Presidents, Olympic History and much more.
Publication Finder
Publication finder contains the titles of all the journals in databases that the library can provide in Full Text. It has the capability of identifying journals by topic. By click on the Complete List of Online and Print Journals link on the library's webpage, patrons can find journals by title or topic.
