LibGuides: Nonprofit Organizations : Home

Introduction

This Research Guide provides suggested library resources for Nonprofit Organizations such as Books, E-books, Journals, eJournals and Databases with articles and images. Reliable, freely available web sites are also listed.

EDS and Classic Catalog

Other Resources

Academic Video Online
Is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 64,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, education, film, health, history, music, and more. Provides more than 17,000 titles that are exclusive to Alexander Street.

This database fully funded, or partially funded, by an HBCU Title III grant from the U.S. Department of Education, P031B170028, 2018-2022.

BrowZine

Publication Finder

Publication finder contains the titles of all the journals in databases that the library can provide in Full Text. It has the capability of identifying journals by topic. By click on the Complete List of Online and Print Journals link on the library's webpage, patrons can find journals by title or topic.

Databases

Databases are for students, faculty, and staff of Tennessee State University to use to find journal articles, images, and other information. Remember to login to databases off-campus using your TSU login.

Nonprofit Organizations

Business Abstracts With Full Text
Provides articles from over 500 business journals and magazines. Includes interviews, biographies, corporation profiles, statistics and reports.
Business Insights Essentials
Detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports." Plus company histories, industry essays, scholarly journals, and business news.
Business Source Premier
Content includes Harvard Business Review top 500 articles for coursework and 75,000 videos. Contains American Accounting Assn journals, plus full text access to 936 non-open access journals and magazines, as well as, 556 peer-reviewed journals. Contains 500 journals that are indexed in Web of Science.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source
Provides current information about topics relating to entrepreneurship and small business. Offers researchers full text for more than 125 important periodicals, 135 reference books, case studies, thousands of company profiles and over 600 videos with transcripts and related articles from the Harvard Faculty Series and VatorTV."
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship
Offers career information for entrepreneurs and those wanting to start a small business.
Gale OneFile: Business
A comprehensive business resource for the undergraduate researcher seeking company news, the public library patron making personal investment decisions, or the high school student looking to major in business administration, Business Collection provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily. Complementing these titles is a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications, all available on the state-of-the-art InfoTrac platform.
Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory
Offers instant access to full-text academic journals and magazines—with a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit bibliographic index. Powered by InfoTrac, it includes more than 1,800 titles. Content is useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic models, investing for the future, researching rates, and more.
Gale OneFile: Entrepreneurship
A custom collection from the Gale databases suite of products. It’s helpful for business schools and entrepreneurs and provides compilation insights, tips, strategies and success stories.
Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism
Current and relevant content from over 500 industry journals. Well-rounded historical and current state of affairs coverage. Some specialized coverage - including cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities, economic aspects of tourism, and more.
Gale OneFile: Insurance & Liability
Insurance and Liability Collection provides access to academic journals and trade publications covering the insurance industry and topics such as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more. The database offers content of interest to individual property owners and multinational corporations alike.
Gale OneFile: Leadership and Management
Provide access to authoritative periodical content covering topics as diverse as 21st century skills, learning disorders, standardized testing, home schooling and more. Updated daily, this library resource is useful for researchers or any professional educator interested in professional development.
Mergent Online
Provides Internet-based access to the most detailed, accurate and comprehensive global company database available, with the latest in features and functions.
Mintel Academic
A marketing analysis database that provides reports on businesses and industries.
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Morningstar; Investment Research Center offers public, corporate, and academic libraries real-time access to comprehensive data and independent analysis on thousands of investments, spanning mutual funds, stocks, exchange-traded funds, and closed-end funds. Customized to meet any organization’s needs, Investment Research Center serves all levels of investors with a range of dynamic tools and thoughtful perspectives to help them make more informed investment decisions.
Regional Business News
Provides full-text business publications on regional level - useful for franchise restaurants, retail industry, business planning, or political participation.
Taylor and Francis Online
Taylor and Francis Online contains journal packages for Education, Biology, Agriculture, Environmental Science, Business, Management, and Economics.

Sage Journal Collections

It includes international, peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 500 scholarly and professional societies.
Electronic access to more than 1,000 peer-reviewed journals (over 1 million articles)
Complimentary access back to 1999 and includes collections in Communication, Psychology, Sociology, Social Work and Social Policy, Urban Studies, Criminal Justice, Education, Nursing, Public Health, Management and Organization as well agriculture.

This database is fully funded, or partially funded, by an HBCU Title III grant from the U.S. Department of Education, P031B220034, 2023-2027.

Books about Nonprofit to Browse

Partnerships for Health and Human Service Nonprofits by Tine Hansen-Turton; Richard J. Cohen; Nicholas D. Torres
ISBN: 0826128068

Publication Date: 2015-11-01
Privatization in Practice by Joaquin Jay Iii Gonzalez (Editor); Roger L. Kemp (Editor)
ISBN: 9780786476770

Publication Date: 2016-06-30
Steward Leadership in the Nonprofit Organization by Kent R. Wilson
ISBN: 0830844678

Publication Date: 2016-07-08
Measuring Research and Development Expenditures in the U. S. Nonprofit Sector by Carol C. House (Editor); Holly G. Rhodes (Editor); Esha Sinha (Editor)
ISBN: 9780309367141

Publication Date: 2015-05-14

If the Library Doesn't Have the Book

The Library's print and electronic book collection can be searched by using the library catalog.

Books and Journal articles not owned by TSU library can be borrowed or obtained from other libraries via Inter-Library Loan.

If you cannot find a specific book that you would like in the library catalog, please feel free to Suggest A Purchase or you may contact your library liason .