Subject Librarian
Introduction
This Research Guide provides suggested library resources for Mathematics, Physics, and Astronomy, such as Books, E-books, and Databases with articles and images. Reliable, freely available websites are also listed.
Databases
Databases are for students, faculty, and staff of Tennessee State University to use to find journal articles, images, and other information relative to their research interests. To access databases and journals off-campus you must use your network log-ins.
- MathSciNet:MathSciNet is a database that offers access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.
- Project EuclidIs the results of a collaborative partnership between Cornell University Library and Duke University Press which seeks to advance scholarly communication in theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics through partnerships with independent and society publishers. It was created to provide a platform for small publishers of scholarly journals to move from print to electronic in a cost-effective way. As of 2019, Project Euclid provided access to over 2.5 million pages of open-access content.
- PROLAIs the American Physical Society's online archive for Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, and Physical Review A–E. It contains all APS journal articles published from 1893–2008. Each January, another year is added to the archive. Searching and browsing abstracts are free.
- ScienceFounded in 1880 on $10,000 of seed money from the American inventor Thomas Edison, Science has grown to become the world's leading outlet for scientific news, commentary, and cutting-edge research, with the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general-science journal. Through its print and online incarnations, Science reaches an estimated worldwide readership of more than one million. In content, too, the journal is truly international in scope; some 35 to 40 percent of the corresponding authors on its papers are based outside the United States. Its articles consistently rank among world's most cited research.Provides full text access to the online journal.
- ScienceDirectOffers access to the Elsevier Science journal collection (over 1,200 titles), along with journals from a host of prestigious societies and STM publishers. The full text collection of over 1 million articles from 1995 to present covers a wide variety of subject areas and disciplines, including: Biochemistry, Biological Sciences, Business and Management Science, Chemistry, Clinical Medicine, Earth Sciences, Economics, Engineering and Technology, Environmental Science, Materials Science, Mathematics and Computer Science, Physics, and Social Sciences.
- Wiley OnlineLibraryProvides full text information of over 1500 leading scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals, plus major reference works, the acclaimed Current Protocols laboratory manuals, and even the full text of select Wiley print books online. Includes Mathematics and Statistics journals as well as Physical Sciences.
- Advanced Technologies & AerospaceThe Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database includes the renowned Aerospace Database and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
- IEEE Xplore Digital LibraryProvides information on all aspects of engineering. Includes journals, magazines, conference proceedings, standards, and books. Also has recommendations for textbooks to support coursework.
- SciTech Premium Collection
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection, Engineering, and Advance Technologies & Aerospace databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. For researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
BrowZine
Selected ebooks
- Real Life MathProvides an understanding of commonly studied math concepts by illustrating their use in everyday life in everyday tasks, such as buying insurance, constructing a budget, reading graphs, adjusting cooking recipes or planning for retirement. Topics are designed to support the modern mathematics curriculum and contain examples related to the global economy. 2 volumes.
- Nobel Lectures in Physics 2006-2010This volume is a collection of the Nobel lectures delivered by the prizewinners, together with their biographies and the presentation speeches by Nobel Committee members for the period 2006–2010. The criterion for the Physics award is to the discoverer of a physical phenomenon that changed our views, or to the inventor of a new physical process that gave enormous benefits to either science at large or to the public.
- Encyclopedia of the History or Astronomy and AstrophysicsProvides comprehensive coverage of the history of astronomy from its ancient origins in Africa, South America, the Middle East and China to the current developments.
Department website
T.S.U offers the B.S. in mathematical sciences, with or without teacher certification, and minors in mathematics and astronomy.
Mathematics Journals
Physics Journals
Websites
- American Mathematical SocietyThe website has some resources for students, but it is primarily intended for professional mathematicians. A section on mathematical communication is useful for both faculty and upper-division students.
- Mathematical Association of AmericaThe MAA is the largest association mathematicians in the world. Its website includes some sections on teaching mathematics that would be helpful to college students.
- University of Michigan Historical Mathematics CollectionA searchable collection of nineteenth and early-twentieth century mathematics texts.
- Wolfram MathworldAn dictionary-style website of aspects and levels of mathematics, with some interactive entries.
- Classroom Capsules and Notes (Mathematical Association of America)Links to MAA resources for teaching college-level mathematics.
Open Access Physics and Math Databases
Tutorials
Research Strategies
Math, Physics and Astronomy
How to Do Effective Library Research
Choose or Identify a Topic An idea for a topic should always be discussed with your instructor.A topic can be viewed much like the scientific method in which a new perspective is developed or knowledge is added. This is generally considered to include 1) definition of a problem to be investigated, 2) collection of initial data, 3) use of data to form a theory or hypothesis explaining the problem 4) further collection of data to verify or modify the hypothesis through observation or experiment, 5) testing the data, and 6) interpreting the results to determine how it relates to the initial problem.
Citing Sources of InformationThe library owns several style manuals to help you properly cite sources of information. The instructor should recommend a format for your research paper which will include any of the following:
- Modern Language Association (MLA)
- American Psychological Association Publication Manual (APA)
- Kate Turabian: Manual for Writers of Term Papers