Subject Guide
Introduction
This Research Guide provides suggested library resources for Child Development and Family Studies such as Books, E-books, and Databases with articles and images. Reliable, freely available web sites are also listed.
Books to Browse
BrowZine
Citation Style Manual in Print
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by ISBN: 1433832151Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Contact the Library
If you have questions about the Library’s resources or need specific research help, don't hesitate to contact the Library.
Reference Department
Phone 615-963-5201
Databases
Databases are for students, faculty, and staff of Tennessee State University to use to find journal articles, images, and other information. Remember to log into databases off-campus using your TSU login.
Child Development and Family Studies Databases
- Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 4438 full-text periodicals, including more than 1,832 full text non-open accessed journals indexed in Web of Science.
- Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)Has more than 500 full-text journals and Indexing for more than 1,000 journals Subjects include:adult education, continuing education,Literacy standards, multi-cultural/ethnic education,school administration, teacher evaluation and teaching methods. Provides full text articles from 1980- and indexing from 1989-
- Bloomsbury Education and Childhood StudiesBloomsbury Education and Childhood Studies is an online resource that offers a systematic and comparative look at key education levels and the study of cognitive and psychosocial development through early childhood and youth.
- Education SourceIs designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The extensive collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
- Educator's Reference CompleteIs a selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Included content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education. Majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database. The database is updated daily and provides 24-hour access from school or home.
- Gale in Context - Elementaryis the perfect educational product for today's young learners. It is a content-rich, authoritative, easy-to-use digital resource featuring age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of educational topics. The modern design and simple navigation makes it easy for users to explore content and gain comfort with database searching. With full-text proprietary content from Blackbirch Press®, U•X•L, KidHaven Press™, and more, it's reliable and geared to fit the needs of today’s young learners.
- Gale OneFile: Home ImprovementPuts the research of hobbyists and professionals alike on a solid foundation with more than 4.5 million articles from more than 200 home improvement-focused titles, covering topics including architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and others.
- Proquest EducationHas full text articles on all facets of education and includes ERIC.
- Social Services AbstractsThis provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
- Social Work Abstractsproduced by the National Association of Social Workers, Inc., this database contains more than 45,000 records, spanning 1977 to the present, from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.
- Social Work Reference CenterAn information resource for social workers and mental health professionals. Created by a multi-specialty editorial team, it covers a wide array of topics such as adolescent health, aging, end-of-life care, clinical social work, and diversity.
- SocINDEX with Full TextThis is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. The database features more than 1,600,000 records with subject headings from a 15,600 term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. This product also contains informative abstracts for more than 720 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.
- Sage Journal Collections
It includes international, peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 500 scholarly and professional societies.
Electronic access to more than 1,000 peer-reviewed journals (over 1 million articles)
Complimentary access back to 1999 and includes collections in Communication, Psychology, Sociology, Social Work and Social Policy, Urban Studies, Criminal Justice, Education, Nursing, Public Health, Management and Organization as well agriculture.
EDS and Classic Catalog
If the Library Doesn't Have the Book
The Library's print and electronic book collections can be searched using the library catalog.
Books and Journal articles not owned by TSU library can be borrowed or obtained from other libraries via Inter-Library Loan.
If you cannot find a specific book that you would like in the library catalog, please feel free to Suggest A Purchase or you may contact your library liaison.
Information Literacy
TSU's Writing Center offers appointments for reviewing papers and confirming accuracy in citation references.
Citing Your Sources
Basics of APA Style Tutorial From the APA
Formatting Your Paper
Citation Generators
Enter Your data, the system provides you with the citation.
Other Information
Lean Library
Other Resources
- Digital Scholarship @ Tennessee State University
This is an open-access platform for the scholarly articles and publications of TSU faculty, staff, and students. It hosts student and faculty-created journals. It has TSU digitized archival content such as yearbooks, commencements, student newspapers (The Meter), TSU Queens, Black Greek history, biographies of TSU Presidents, Olympic History and much more.
Publication Finder
Publication Finder contains the titles of all the journals in databases that the TSU library can provide in Full Text. It has the capability of identifying journals by topic. By clicking the Complete List of Online and Print Journals link, patrons can find journals by title or topic.