To access these databases off-campus, the username is your first and last name and the password is the 10 digit number found on the front of your id card
HAVING PROBLEMS? Contact (cbradley@tnstate.edu) or at 615-963-5489.
General/interdisciplinary databases have articles on lots of topics, so they can be a good place to start your research. Some of the best choices are:
Gale in Context: College -- a collection of sources (including articles and audiovisual materials) appropriate for undergraduate research.
Specialized databases are important sources of more in-depth articles and other types of information.
JSTOR contains primarily older journals, with some books and current journals, in most disciplines. It is an excellent choice for most history topics.
AAS (American Antiquarian Society) Historical Periodicals contains over 6500 periodical titles published from 1693 to 1877.
African American newspapers, 1827-1998 has 280 newspapers from 37 states and the District of Columbia. (Approximately 100 issues, from Louisiana newspapers, are in French.)
African American periodicals, 1825-1995 contains news, opinion, and advertising from periodicals in 25 states and the District of Columbia.
Chronicling America (at the Library of Congress) has selected issues of over 3,000 newspapers that were published between 1789 and 1960. A complete list of papers is available.
Academic Video Online is a collection of newsreels, documentaries, dramatic reenactments, and other materials. Although all aspects of American history are included, the Great Depression, World War II, the Korean Conflict, and the Cold War have more extensive coverage.
Digital National Security Archive contains over 100,000 government documents on US policy. It is searchable by country or by topic.
Early American Imprints, Series: Evans (1639-1800) - is based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans. The definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable. Upon completion, Evans Digital will consist of more than 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 - This bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750,” the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
Gale Primary Sources: Slavery and Anti-Slavery
Contingent is a new online history magazine whose contributors are primarily not full-time tenured faculty.
Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture - is a joint project of the Tennessee Historical Society and the University of Tennessee Press. This fully searchable version of the print edition, originally published in 1998, contains over 1,500 entries. The online version has updates to existing entries, new entries, more than five hundred additional images, plus audio and video files.
Tennessee State Data Center - is a state/Census Bureau cooperative program that disseminates census and other data to the public through a network of over 1,800 state and local agencies, libraries, universities, chambers of commerce, and others. Since 1978, the U.S. Bureau of the Census has provided state data centers with a wide range of census information and with technical assistance and training necessary to access the data.
EBSCO's Mobile App provides access to EBSCOhost databases and EBSCO ebooks (a large percentage of TSU's electronic resources), with a simplified interface.