QUOTED
 |
"There can't be a pure myth, especially when the myth has been handed down in the oral tradition. As the stories are told, they change. If the stories don't change they just die." ~ Maxine Hong Kingston, quote unverified |
FICTION
- Tripmaster Monkey
The story follows Wittman Ah Sing, an American graduate of University of California, Berkeley of Chinese ancestry in his adventures about San Francisco during the 1960s. Heavily influenced by the Beat movement, and exhibiting many prototypical features of postmodernism, the book retains numerous themes, such as ethnicity and prejudice, addressed in Kingston's other works.
(Wikipedia)
NON FICTION
- The Woman Warrior
The Woman Warrior: Memoirs of a Girlhood Among Ghosts is a book that blends autobiography with old Chinese folktales.
(Wikipedia)
POETRY
- To Be the Poet
To Be the Poet is Kingston's manifesto, the avowal and declaration of a writer who has devoted a good part of her sixty years to writing prose, and who, over the course of this spirited and inspiring book, works out what the rest of her life will be, in poetry.
(LibraryThing)
INTERVIEW
LITERATURE DATABASES
- Alexander Street LiteratureThis is a comprehensive, cross-searchable package of collections covering literatures of place, race, and gender.
- Columbia Granger’s World of Poetry OnlineThis database contains 250,000 poems in full text and 450,000 citations
- Films on DemandThese videos cover American Literature.
- Gale LiteratureThis database brings together many Literature databases.
- Gale: LitFinderHere you can find access to short stories, speeches, and plays.
- JSTORThis a huge database covering the humanities with access to very many academic journals and more.
- Project MuseThis database is a provider of digital humanities and social science content. It has access to academic journals and books.
- Scribner Writers SeriesThis includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 2,000 authors and literary genres.
- Twayne Author SeriesHere you can find biographical information and literary criticism about world authors and their notable literary works.
- Twentieth-Century African American PoetryThis is a source for modern and contemporary African American poetry
- Women Writers OnlineThis is a full-text collection of early women’s writing in English, published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University.