LibGuides: Women's Studies Research Guide: Web Resources

Women's History Resources

Discovering American Women's History
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
Internet History Sourcebook Project
This project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly for educational use.
Women in World History
Scholarly reviews of online primary archived sources
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
A resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. It seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding and makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools.
National Women's History Museum

African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
The New York Public Library’s Digital Schomburg Collection site is a searchable full-text database of 52 published works by 19th-century black women writers. It provides access to the creative abilities of black women in books and pamphlets published prior to 1920.
Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History & Culture (Duke University)
This is an online archive collection from Duke University. Primary Internet sources, manuscripts, and women’s studies resources, full text diaries, letters, and newspapers that offers insight into the life of Southern African American women.
From Slave Women to Free Women: The National Archives and Black Women's History in the Civil War Era
An article written by Noralee Frankel in the Prologue, a NARA publication in the summer 1997 edition.

"Any woman who is now or may hereafter be married..." Women and Naturalization, ca. 1802-1940
Prologue periodical by Marian L. Smith discusses the challenges immigrant women faced in the naturalization process from 1802-1940.
Gifts of Speech: Women's Speeches from Around the World
Sweet Briar College maintains this site that is dedicated to preserving and creating access to speeches made by influential contemporary women.
Photographs of Women During the Civil War: Selected Images
Prints and Photographs Division from the Library of Congress. Contains a selection of photographs of women during the Civil War -- One page devoted to African American women, and another to white women.

Five Evaluative Guidelines

Authority: Who is the author? What are their credentials? (PhD, affiliation with university)

Source: Where was it published? How was it selected for publication? (is it peer-reviewed, or scholarly?)

Currency: When was it published?

Research: Does it have a bibliography or footnotes?

Bias: Does it have an objective viewpoint with documentation?

Womanstats Project
"The WomanStats Database is the largest crossnational compilation of data, statistics, and maps on the status of women worldwide. Organized by country, we have over 350 variables for 176 countries." The site also includes essays on the status women in various countries.
Women's College Coalition
A directory of the approximately 33 women's colleges currently operating in North America, with a few essays on the impact of women's colleges.
The Fuller Project
"The global newsroom dedicated to groundbreaking reporting that catalyzes positive change for women."