Chemistry

• Abbreviations of Chemical Compounds
   
• Cambridge Crystallographic Data Center 

• Chemical Genealogy
  Trace the doctoral lineage of chemists
   
• Chemistry Dictionary for Word Processors
  Download a free chemistry dictionary (licensed under Creative Commons) for word processors. The dictionary is compatible for Microsoft Office (Windows or Mac), and Open Office (Windows or Linux).
   
• Chem Info.
  Contains information resources divided into specific sections including publication/databases, reaction/synthesis information, physical properties information, patent and structure searching.

• Chromatography Online

• Common Chemistry
  From Chemical Abstracts Service, a free look-up for CAS Registry Numbers of approximately 7,800 chemicals of widespread general public interest.
   
• Directory of Graduate Research
  The ACS Directory of Graduate Research, an online resource on faculty and their research pro-grams in institutions throughout the U.S. and Canada
   
• eMolecules
  Free database to find suppliers and properties; can search by structure.
   
• Hazardous Substances Data Bank
  Information on hazardous substances, from the National Library of Medicine.
   
• IUPAC Compendium of Analytical Nomenclature
  From the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry
   
• IUPAC Gold Book
  Compilation of chemical terminology from IUPAC (International Union for Pure and Applied Chemistry).
   
• MatWeb Free source of materials properties, searchable by range of property values.

• Openstax

• Patents (European Patent Office)
  A free source of patents from eighty-four countries and international organizations world wide.
   
• Patents (Google)
  An easy-to-search free source of U.S. patents
   
• Patents (U.S. Patent Office)
  Patents and patent applications.
   
• Periodic Table formulations
  Displays some of the many formulations of the Periodic Table over the centuries, including both pre- and post- Mendeleev, as well as Mendeleev's own tables.
   
• Periodic Table Live!
  Information on elements of the periodic table linking to a range of information, including discovery and history, preparation, uses, physical data, atomic data (ionization energy, radii, volume, etc.), images, video, and crystal structure.
   
• Periodic Table of the Elements
  Interactive table with images
   
• Periodic Table of Videos
  Periodic table with video clips of descriptions of elements, from chemists at the University of Nottingham (UK).
   
• Polymer Science Learning Center Spectral Database Provides proton and 13C NMR, IR, and mass spectral data for 200 monomers and polymers.

• The Sheffield Chemdex 

• Spectroscopic Tools
  Searchable for chemical shits, infrared band locations, etc.
   
• WebElements Periodic Table

• The Worldwide Web Virtual Library: Chemistry

Search engines for finding science information on the Internet

• Google Scholar

•   Intute

•  National Science Digital Library
   

• Scientific Commons

• Science.gov
  U.S. Government science info
• Scirus
• WorldWideScience.org
  International science info