Occupational Therapy

A leading resource for occupational therapy practitioners and students for 20 years, now updated with the latest information in the profession, Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy, Seventh Edition is a resource for daily practice and academic training. Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy, Seventh Edition by Dr. Karen Jacobs and Laela Simon remains the only comprehensive dictionary available specifically for occupational therapy. Containing more than 4,000 words and definitions, more than 60 appendices, and illustrations, graphs, and tables throughout, this definitive text has been updated with the latest information in current occupational therapy practice. New appendices in the Seventh Edition include: Commonly Used Assessments Emerging Practice Areas Expand Your Knowledge Grading Versus Adapting a Task Hand Pathologies State Regulatory Entities Theories and Frames of Reference Useful Apps A handy, conveniently sized reference in an easy-to-use format, Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy, Seventh Edition gives occupational therapists, occupational therapy assistants, faculty, and students the most pertinent information they need day to day, right at their fingertips.

The number one book in pediatric OT is back! Focusing on children from infancy to adolescence, Case-Smith's Occupational Therapy for Children and Adolescents, 8th Edition provides comprehensive, full-color coverage of pediatric conditions and treatment techniques in all settings. Its emphasis on application of evidence-based practice includes: eight new chapters, a focus on clinical reasoning, updated references, research notes, and explanations of the evidentiary basis for specific interventions. Coverage of new research and theories, new techniques, and current trends, with additional case studies, keeps you in-step with the latest advances in the field. Developmental milestone tables serve as a quick reference throughout the book! Full-color, contemporary design throughout text includes high-quality photos and illustrations. Case-based video clips on the Evolve website demonstrate important concepts and rehabilitation techniques. Research Notes boxes and evidence-based summary tables help you learn to interpret evidence and strengthen clinical decision-making skills. Coverage of OT for children from infancy through adolescence includes the latest research, techniques and trends. Case studies help you apply concepts to actual situations you may encounter in practice. Learning objectives indicate what you will be learning in each chapter and serve as checkpoints when studying for examinations. A glossary makes it easy for you to look up key terms.

Functional Anatomy for Occupational Therapy provides students with a solid foundation for understanding the science of purposeful movement. Lead author Nathan Short, a practicing OT, presents functional anatomy across the human lifespan through an occupation-based lens, in the context of clinical practice.

Before you can master your role in physical therapy, you must first master the basics of patient care! Pierson and Fairchild's Principles & Techniques of Patient Care, 7th Edition provides a solid foundation in the knowledge and skills needed for effective patient care. Clear, step-by-step instructions show how to safely perform common procedures and tasks such as assessment of vital signs, positioning and draping, range of motion exercises, and patient transfer activities. Rationales make it easy to understand why specific techniques are used. Written by physical therapy experts Sheryl Fairchild and Roberta O'Shea, this book includes an enhanced eBook - free with each new print purchase - with video clips demonstrating procedures and techniques. Content based on the World Health Organization's ICF model (International Classification of Functioning, Disability, and Health) - the model currently endorsed by the APTA and AOTA - ensures you are referencing the most current theories and practice guidelines of physical and occupational therapy. More than 800 full-color photographs illustrate the concepts and techniques used in the assessment and management of patients in the rehabilitation setting. Procedure boxes include clear guidelines for performing each step of patient care tasks such as proper lifting techniques, patient transfers, basic wound care, and assessment of vital signs. Insights into physiological principles and rationales explain why specific techniques and procedures are used. Guidelines, principles, and precautions boxes offer additional tips for optimal assessment and management of patients in the rehabilitation setting. Self-study and problem-solving activities include case studies at the end of each chapter to help you understand important concepts and practice your decision-making and problem-solving skills. Coverage of professionalism, professional values, and ethics discusses workplace guidelines and describes how to apply those guidelines to your patient interactions. NEW! Revised content provides the current information you need to be an effective practitioner in physical therapy and occupational therapy, and includes input from clinical experts. NEW! Content on COVID-19 includes instructions on donning and doffing PPE, and is aligned with the latest CDC guidelines. NEW! Updated patient questions and documentation guidelines on wound care are included. NEW! Coverage of preventive patient positioning and objectively assessing patient pain is updated and expanded. NEW sections address early mobilization and exercise in the ICU. NEW! Enhanced eBook version - included with print purchase - allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. NEW! Video clips are included in the eBook, demonstrating techniques and procedures.

Discover how to use evidence to improve your practice! Providing thorough, contemporary coverage of the full range of rehabilitation research with a clear, easy-to-understand approach, Rehabilitation Research: Principles and Applications, 6th Edition helps you learn to analyze and apply research to practice. It examines traditional experimental designs, as well as nonexperimental and emerging approaches, including qualitative research, single-system designs, epidemiology, and outcomes research. Ideal for students and practitioners in physical therapy, occupational therapy, and speech-language pathology, this user-friendly resource emphasizes evidence-based practice and your development as a true scientist-practitioner. Evidence-Based Practice chapter provides an overview of the important concepts of EBP and the World Health Organization model of health and disease. Interdisciplinary author team consisting of a PT and an SLP brings an interdisciplinary focus and a stronger emphasis on evidence-based practice.