Civil and Architectural Engineering

The book is a comprehensive volume on multi-hazards and their management for a sustainable built environment. It focuses on the role of civil engineering in building disaster resilient society. This book brings together all diverse disciplines of civil engineering and related areas (for example, geotechnical engineering, water resources engineering, structural engineering, transportation engineering, environmental engineering, construction management, GIS, and remote sensing) towards a common goal of disaster resilience through an interdisciplinary approach. It contains methods and case studies focusing on civil engineering solutions to reduce the disaster risk. The book contents are aligned in line with the priorities set by UN-Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction and UN-SDGs to promote a global culture of risk-awareness and disaster reduction. The book will be a useful comprehensive reference for disaster risk reduction beneficial for engineering students, teaching faculty, researchers, industry professionals and policymakers.

This book aims to introduce the knowledge, tests, and designs of materials in civil engineering. The scope of this book includes the fundamental mechanical and physical properties of materials; properties, tests, and gradation designs of aggregates; production, composition, hydration, properties, and tests of lime and cement; composition, tests, and design of cement concrete; mechanisms, properties, and design of inorganic binder stabilized material; properties, tests, and grading of asphalt; composition, properties, tests, and designs of asphalt mixture; and properties, treatments, tests, and selections of steel. This book can be used as a textbook or a reference book for undergraduate students, graduate students, and professionals in the field of civil, pavement, bridge, geotechnical, and environmental engineering.  In this book, many charts on the key properties are used to help explain the mechanisms of materials. Step-by-step examples are presented to help understand both the knowledge and practices of material design such as the aggregate gradation design, cement concrete design, asphalt grading, and asphalt mixture design. The tests, designs, and specifications of civil engineering materials in China are introduced in detail.  

Engineering in Plain Sight is a beautifully illustrated field guide with accessible explanations to nearly every part of the constructed world around us. Author Grady Hillhouse is the creator behind the popular YouTube channel Practical Engineering (over 3 million subscribers!) and this book is essentially 50 new episodes crammed between two covers. Engineering in Plain Sight extends the field guide genre from natural phenomena to human-made structures, making them approachable and understandable to non-engineers. It transforms readers' perspectives of the built environment, converting the act of looking at infrastructure from a mundane inevitability into an everyday diversion and joy. Each section of this accessible, informative book features colorful illustrations revealing the fascinating details of how the human-made world works. An ideal road trip companion, this book offers a fresh perspective on the parts of the environment that often blend into the background. Readers will learn to identify characteristics of the electrical grid, roadways, railways, bridges, tunnels, waterways, and more. Engineering in Plain Sight inspires curiosity, interest, and engagement in how the infrastructure around us is designed and constructed.

This book gathers a selection of papers presented at the 5th International Scientific Conference "Environmental Challenges in Civil Engineering", ECCE 2022, held on September 26-28, 2022, in Opole, Poland. Written by an international group of experts, it reports on findings concerning structural material behavior, and new methods and technologies in constructions. A special emphasis is given to sustainable constructions practices, including material recycling and reuse, renovation and restoration of historical building and to those fostering sustainable development of cities and rural areas, and a better integration of buildings with the environment.   Offering a good balance of theory and practice, and covering both technical and organizational aspects in civil engineering and architectural projects, this book offers extensive information on solutions and current challenges in construction projects and structural interventions in the context of environmental protection and earthquake prevention.

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Master the art and science of foundation engineering This civil engineering textbook shows how geotechnical theory connects with the design and construction of today's foundations. Foundation Engineering: Geotechnical Principles and Practical Applications shows how to perform critical calculations, apply the newest ground modification technologies, engineer and build effective foundations, and monitor performance and safety. Written by a recognized expert in the field, the book covers both shallow and deep foundations. Real-world case studies and practice problems help reinforce key information. Coverage includes: * Soil classification, clay, and minerals * Moisture content and unit weight * Shear strength * Consolidation * Terzagi's eureka moment * Shallow foundations, stress distribution, and settlement * Flow nets, seepage, and dewatering * Slope stability * Deep foundations * Ground modification * Retaining walls and wall friction * Empirical tests * Field monitoring * Ethics and legal issues

Accessible and practical framework for machine learning applications and solutions for civil and environmental engineers This textbook introduces engineers and engineering students to the applications of artificial intelligence (AI), machine learning (ML), and machine intelligence (MI) in relation to civil and environmental engineering projects and problems, presenting state-of-the-art methodologies and techniques to develop and implement algorithms in the engineering domain. Through real-world projects like analysis and design of structural members, optimizing concrete mixtures for site applications, examining concrete cracking via computer vision, evaluating the response of bridges to hazards, and predicating water quality and energy expenditure in buildings, this textbook offers readers in-depth case studies with solved problems that are commonly faced by civil and environmental engineers. The approaches presented range from simplified to advanced methods, incorporating coding-based and coding-free techniques. Professional engineers and engineering students will find value in the step-by-step examples that are accompanied by sample databases and codes for readers to practice with. Written by a highly qualified professional with significant experience in the field, Machine Learning includes valuable information on: The current state of machine learning and causality in civil and environmental engineering as viewed through a scientometrics analysis, plus a historical perspective Supervised vs. unsupervised learning for regression, classification, and clustering problems Explainable and causal methods for practical engineering problems Database development, outlining how an engineer can effectively collect and verify appropriate data to be used in machine intelligence analysis A framework for machine learning adoption and application, covering key questions commonly faced by practitioners This textbook is a must-have reference for undergraduate/graduate students to learn concepts on the use of machine learning, for scientists/researchers to learn how to integrate machine learning into civil and environmental engineering, and for design/engineering professionals as a reference guide for undertaking MI design, simulation, and optimization for infrastructure.

This book presents the research results of advanced vibration control technology, based on two types of typical equipment in industrial engineering of China: power equipment and vibration-sensitive equipment. The main contents of this book include optimized active control strategy research, semi-active control research that can track and equivalently achieve active control effects, refined analysis of active control based on finite element method, research on the impact of vibration isolator layout on vibration isolation performance, passive and active control research based on system freedom decoupling and load decoupling, realized passive and active control research using quasi-zero stiffness system based on positive and negative stiffness, intelligent sensors optimization deployment of plane and space structure, and related key technology application cases in engineering applications. This book provides useful references for engineers and researchers in industrial engineering and technical support for practitioners in the development of China's high-end industry.

The book provides primary information about civil engineering to both a civil and non-civil engineering audience in areas such as construction management, estate management, and building. Basic civil engineering topics like surveying, building materials, construction technology and management, concrete technology, steel structures, soil mechanics and foundations, water resources, transportation and environment engineering are explained in detail. Codal provisions of US, UK and India are included to cater to a global audience. Insights into techniques like modern surveying equipment and technologies, sustainable construction materials, and modern construction materials are also included. Key features: - Provides a concise presentation of theory and practice for all technical in civil engineering. - Contains detailed theory with lucid illustrations. - Focuses on the management aspects of a civil engineer's job. - Addresses contemporary issues such as permitting, globalization, sustainability, and emerging technologies. - Includes codal provisions of US, UK and India. The book is aimed at professionals and senior undergraduate students in civil engineering, non-specialist civil engineering audience

Machine learning has undergone rapid growth in diversification and practicality, and the repertoire of techniques has evolved and expanded. The aim of this book is to provide a broad overview of the available machine-learning techniques that can be utilized for solving civil engineering problems. The fundamentals of both theoretical and practical aspects are discussed in the domains of water resources/hydrological modeling, geotechnical engineering, construction engineering and management, and coastal/marine engineering. Complex civil engineering problems such as drought forecasting, river flow forecasting, modeling evaporation, estimation of dew point temperature, modeling compressive strength of concrete, ground water level forecasting, and significant wave height forecasting are also included. Features Exclusive information on machine learning and data analytics applications with respect to civil engineering Includes many machine learning techniques in numerous civil engineering disciplines Provides ideas on how and where to apply machine learning techniques for problem solving Covers water resources and hydrological modeling, geotechnical engineering, construction engineering and management, coastal and marine engineering, and geographical information systems Includes MATLAB® exercises

The two-volume set Rock Mechanics and Rock Engineering is concerned with the application of the principles of mechanics to physical, chemical and electro-magnetic processes in the upper-most layers of the earth and the design and construction of the rock structures associated with civil engineering and exploitation or extraction of natural resources in mining and petroleum engineering. Volume 1, Fundamentals of Rock Mechanics, discusses rock-constituting elements, discontinuities and their behavior under various physical and chemical actions in nature. The governing equations together with constitutive laws and experimental techniques and the solution techniques are explained and some examples of applications are given. A number of chapters are devoted to possible new directions in rock mechanics. Rock Mechanics and Rock Engineering is intended to be a fundamental resource for younger generations and newcomers and a reference book for experts specialized in Rock Mechanics and Rock Engineering and associated with the fields of mining, civil and petroleum engineering, engineering geology, and/or specialized in Geophysics and concerned with earthquake science and engineering.

This book gathers the peer-reviewed selected papers presented at the 3rd International Conference on Testing and Experimentation in Civil Engineering (TEST&E 2022), held in Almada, Portugal, on June 21-23, 2022. It showcases the role of smart technologies in all civil engineering areas, such as structures and construction, geotechnics and natural resources, hydraulics and water resources, transportation and communication networks. The conference topics encompass big data and advanced data processing systems, AI applications, virtual and augmented reality, 3D modeling and printing, digital twins, automation, sensing and detection technologies, inspection, monitoring and automatic damage identification, destructive and non-destructive testing, bio, nano and new materials, disaster risk reduction and emergency management. As such the book represents an invaluable, up-to-the-minute tool, and offers an important platform to engineers and architects.