Library Liaison
Introduction
This Research Guide provides suggested library resources such as Books, Ebooks, and Databases with articles and images pertaining to the antislavery efforts in the United States and key historical persons leading to the passage of the Thirteenth Amendment. Reliable, freely available web sites are also listed. The web sites on the accompanying pages offer access to materials not owned by TSU,including primary source documents written by by participants of observers of the ant slavery movement. The secondary sources should be treated as a starting point for research, not the final steps in gathering information.
Databases
Databases are for students, faculty, and staff of Tennessee State University to use to find journal articles, images, and other information relative to their research interest. To access databases and eJournals off campus you must use your user name and password. For assistance with problem logins, contact Colette Bradley (cbradley@tnstate.edu) or at 615-963-5489 .
- Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: A Selection of Primary Resources
ProQuest's Black Freedom Struggle website is intended to support a wide range of students, from middle and high school to college, as well anyone interested in learning more about the on-going Black Freedom Struggle.
- Black HistoryOffers page length biographies to persons of all races. Features a phot portrait, quick facts. Under "Cite This" a citation style guide.
- Black Thought and CultureProvides primary source materials published by the leading African American thinkers and intellectuals of their day.
- Early American Imprints Series: Evans (1639-1800)This is a collection of books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the 17th and 18th centuries that are based on a bibliography by Charles Evans and Roger Bristol's Supplement. It is published in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society.
- EBSCOhost
This is the platform for all EBSCO database subscriptions, including Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, Education Source, ERIC, CINAHL, Education Source, Environmental Sciences, Medline, and all APA databases, as well as ebook and open access resources,
- Gale (formerly Infotrac)
is the platform for over 30 on interdisciplinary databases on general and specific subjects such as Academic OneFile, Expanded Academic General Reference Gold, Educator’s Reference Complete, Military and Intelligence, Business, Economics and Theory, Informe, General Science Collection, and several others
- Gale OneFile: U.S. History
An engaging online experience that provides contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. U.S. History merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
- JSTOR
Jstor Is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources. The library has the entire Arts & Sciences Collection, the Life Sciences Collection and Business Journal IV. We have both archival and current subscriptions.
- New York Times (1851 - 2020)
It offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Oxford African American Studies Center
The Oxford African American Studies Center combines the authority of carefully edited reference works. It contains: Africana, Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895, Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present,Black Women in America, 2nd Edition, African American National Biography, Dictionary of African Biography, The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought, and the Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography.
- Proquest
Provides access to all Proquest database subscriptions including Agriculture, Criminal Justice, Social Sciences, Sci-Tech, Proquest Black Studies, and Proquest Historical Newspapers as well as Proquest Dissertations and Theses.
- Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and Law
This an open access archive on the history of world slavery, but concentrates mostly on African American slavery.
EDS and Classic Catalog
Search Books, Articles, and More
Electronic Resources
Interlibrary Loan
Looking for a book or article that we don't have? You may be able to acquire it through "Interlibrary Loan." Located under "Quick Links."
Interlibrary loan allows us to borrow resource materials on your behalf from almost any libray in the nation. Although some libraries charge a fee for this service, we will make every effort to borrow only from those that do not charge for this service.