Human Performance and Sports Sciences

An essential preparation book for the ACSM Certified Exercise Physiologist examination, ACSM's Resources for the Exercise Physiologist, 3rd Edition, is an essential volume for certification candidates and practicing Exercise Physiologists looking to boost their exam confidence and achieve success in practice. This updated edition is fully aligned with the eleventh edition of ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription and reflects the most current standards and practices in exercise physiology.    Published by the American College of Sports Medicine, this practical resource is organized around the scope of ACSM-EP practice domains. A clear introduction to understanding exercise, physical activity, and pre-exercise screening opens the book, followed by thorough coverage of assessment and programming for healthy populations, assessment and programming for special populations, counseling and behavioral strategies for encouraging exercises, and legal, management and professional issues relevant to practice. Updated content aligned with the 11th edition of ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription prepares students for exam success and equips prospective and practicing EPs with the foundation for confident, competent clinical practice. Chapter objectives keep students focused on essential information. Case Studies provide essential practice applying knowledge to commonly encountered scenarios.

As women's sport continues to grow and develop there is an increasing need to critically examine the conditions in which women as athletes operate. The Professionalisation of Women's Sportdiscusses the processes of professionalisation in women's sports as distinct from, and different to, that seen in men's sport, identifying different challenges that face the growth of women's elite sport. Within this collection, the complex and often fragmented nature of women's involvement across a range of sports are critically discussed. Contributions span the fields of sport sociology, sport history, sport economics and beyond, and across the varying geographical contexts of North America, Europe, Australia and South Africa. Examining American football, basketball, cricket, cycling, golf, ice hockey, tennis, rugby union and rugby league, scholars consider the emergence of professionalisation, the role of the media, and experiences in and of women's (semi-)professional sport. The Professionalisation of Women's Sportis an essential reference point for any student, researcher or professional interested in, or working in, elite women's sport settings.

This timely Research Handbook examines sport-related research and analysis pertaining to how the sport industry has been impacted by the Covid-19 pandemic. Taking stock of the changes over the course of the pandemic, it also provides key insights into how the sport industry and its stakeholders might move forward in post-pandemic times. Organized into six parts, the first half of the book explores the areas of sport management, sport communication, and sport marketing, while the final three parts analyze sport events, sport stakeholders, and sport and society. Expert international contributors delve into a wide array of topics related to the sport industry including athletes, clubs, leagues, and brand and sport management to illuminate how the pandemic has influenced these aspects of sport. Offering a comprehensive analysis of how Covid-19 has affected the sport industry, this Research Handbook will be a key resource for business and management scholars and advanced students with a particular interest in sport, health, and well-being. Its use of global case studies will also be beneficial for sport managers and practitioners in this field.

An essential resource offering career insight and practical advice from industry-leading sports professionals. In So You Want to Work in Sports, K. P. Wee has gathered invaluable first-hand perspectives from sports industry leaders with decades of experience in a range of fields, including broadcasting, sports management, journalism, scouting, marketing, analytics, and more. These seasoned professionals share their stories of how they got started in sports and the lessons they learned along the way. Wee shares how veteran sports radio reporter Ted Sobel deals with emotional athletes after a difficult loss; what broadcasters Chris King, Jeff Levering, and Steve Granado have to say about working in play-by-play; what advice Kris Budden has for conducting a quality interview; how respected baseball executive Andy Dolich got to where he is today, and more. Full of tips, advice, and inspiration for those wanting to gain a foothold in the competitive sports industry, So You Want to Work in Sports is an indispensable resource for students and young professionals alike. an indispensable resource for students and young professionals alike.an indispensable resource for students and young professionals alike.an indispensable resource for students and young professionals alike.

Sport now has to compete for the consumer dollar with a vast array of leisure activities online as well as offline. Successful sport marketing is the result of carefully structured planning, creativity and perseverance.

Integrating the unique characteristics of sport with traditional marketing theory, Strategic Sport Marketing presents a framework of strategic decision-making. The authors outline the diverse markets for sport: participants, sponsors, spectators and fans. International case studies and 'sportviews' selected from a wide range of sports and media illustrate the unique features of sport marketing.

Strategic Sport Marketing is a practical tool and theoretical guide to sport marketing internationally. The fourth edition of this widely used text is fully revised and updated. It includes new material on sports promotion, customer service and social media, as well as new case studies.

Understanding Sports Law provides a comprehensive overview of the legal issues and concepts that emerge from relationships existing within American sport. It captures the legal doctrine and rules arising from judicial decisions, state and federal legislation, and the private law created by associations and other sport entities. In doing so, Understanding Sports Law examines a vast array of different substantive areas of law as applied in the sports context. These include contracts, torts, intellectual property, antitrust, labor law and constitutional law. While this treatise's primary focus is on articulating the current legal principles governing relationships in sport, it often discusses the historical evolution of such rules in order to contextualize and foster an understanding of today's controlling principles. It also guides the reader through legal and regulatory developments shaping the future of the sports industry, such as name, image, and likeness marketing opportunities for collegiate athletes and race and gender equity movements across the sports landscape. This treatise can serve as a helpful companion to a casebook or as a stand-alone resource and will prove useful for law students, law professors, and practitioners alike."

Now in its second edition, Applied Exercise Psychology emphasizes the application of evidence-based knowledge drawn from the fields of exercise psychology, health psychology, clinical and counseling psychology, and exercise physiology for physical activity behavior change. Thoroughly revised, the new edition offers readers: two new chapters covering Excusercise and Mood Alteration's link to exercise; fully updated sections on current research and theoretical bases for understanding and promoting physical activity behavior; interventions for facilitating physical activity behavior change and the tools for measuring the effectiveness of these interventions; cross-cultural considerations for practitioners to ensure multicultural competency; considerations to guide best practices with special populations (e.g., persons with medical conditions and persons with mental health conditions); overall applied implications and future directions. An essential read that covers a variety of critical topics in applied exercise psychology, it brings often overlooked issues to the attention of practitioners to promote not only evidence-based practice but also responsible ethics and referral. The collection is a key reference for up-to-date research findings, relevant field experiences, and applied implications.

Mental Toughness For Young Athletes is a book designed to help kids and teens find and strengthen their mental toughness mindset muscle. There are a lot of books out there for mental toughness for the adult mind, but not a lot for the developing mind. This book fills the gap. Filled with proven, easy to apply, 5-minute exercises, "Mental Toughness For Young Athletes" is a chronicling of an actual youth athlete's mental toughness journey. In the book he and his father talk about their mental toughness struggles and successes. They also give the exact mental toughness exercises that helped them down their path towards their success. If you have a young athlete who is struggling with finding and growing their mental toughness this book is for you. Real proven exercises with a young athlete's perspective. Experts are great, but having a kid's mindset and thought process included in a book about mental toughness for kids and teens is priceless.

With comprehensive, highly visual coverage designed for sports clinicians, team physicians, sports medicine fellows, primary care physicians, and other health care professionals who provide care to athletes and active individuals, Netter's Sports Medicine, 3rd Edition, is an ideal resource for everyday use. Editors include three past presidents of the American Medical Society for Sports Medicine, it includes contributions from world-renowned experts as well as a rich illustration program with many classic paintings by Frank H. Netter, MD. From Little League to professional sports, weekend warriors to Olympic champions, and backcountry mountainside to the Super Bowl field, this interdisciplinary reference is indispensable in the busy outpatient office, in the training room, on the sidelines, and in preparation for sports medicine board certification. More than 1,000 superb Netter graphics, tables, figures, pictures, diagnostic images, and other medical artwork highlight easy-to-read, bulleted text. New coverage of esports, as well as other key topics such as travel considerations for the athlete, EKG interpretation, cardiac disease, diagnostic imaging and ultrasound, injury prevention protocols, and mixed martial arts. Up-to-date information on nutritional supplements, eating disorders, sports and pharmacology for chronic conditions and behavioral medicine, and extreme and adventure sports. Designed for quick reference, with a logical organization by both topic and sport. Online features include downloadable patient education handouts, and handy links. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

In the bestselling tradition of Charles Duhigg's The Power of Habit and Angela Duckworth's Grit, a renowned social psychologist demonstrates the power of small acts--and how a subtle turning of habits into rituals can add purpose and pleasure to life. Our lives are filled with repetitive tasks meant to keep us on track--what we come to know as habits. Over time, these routines (for example, brushing your teeth or putting on your right sock first) tend to be performed automatically. But when we're more mindful about these actions--when we focus on the precise way they are performed--they can instead become rituals. Shifting from a "habitual" mindset to a "ritual" mindset can convert ordinary acts from black and white to technicolor. Think of the way you savor a certain beverage, the care you take with a particular outfit that gets worn only on special occasions, the unique way that your family gathers around the table during holidays, or the secret language you enjoy with your significant other. To some, these behaviors may seem quirky, but because rituals matter so deeply to us on a personal level, they imbue our lives with purpose and meaning. Drawing on a decade of original research, Norton shows that rituals play a role in healing communities experiencing a great loss, marking life's major transitions, driving a stadium of sports fans to ecstasy, and helping us rise to challenges and realize opportunities. Compelling, insightful, and practical, The Ritual Effect reminds us of the intention-filled acts that drive human behavior and create sur­prising satisfaction and enjoyment.

This book presents the most pressing questions to advance the field of sports, exercise, and performance psychology. Organized around performance and learning, health and wellbeing, and cultural and professional considerations, expert contributors in the field summarize the state-of-the-art literature, including tables with five must-read papers in each chapter. The book then presents the 125 critical research questions that must be addressed to move the field forward. As the main source of research questions for senior scholars, graduate masters and doctoral students, and advanced undergraduate students working on research projects, this book is the ultimate guide to addressing theoretical, methodological, and applied research in the field.

This interdisciplinary collection explores the nexus of social justice and sport to consider how sport and physical education can serve as a unique point of commonality in an era of religious, political, economic, and cultural polarity. Originally published as a special issue of Quest, Sport, Physical Education, and Social Justice offers timely theoretical perspectives from the fields of theology, philosophy, psychology, and sociology. The volume demonstrates the multiple ways in which sport can be used to overcome inequalities and marginalization relating to gender, race, disability, religion, and sexuality, and posits sports education as a powerful mechanism for addressing school-based issues including bullying, racism, and citizenship education. Truly international in scope, the text includes contributions from scholars addressing issues in both formal and informal sports education settings, communities, and locales. Sport, Physical Education and Social Justice will be of interest to researchers, scholars, policy makers and advocates in the fields of education, psychology, sociology, and religious studies.

An essential resource to prepare for the ACSM Certified Personal Trainer examination, ACSM's Resources for the Personal Trainer, 6th Edition, provides critical insights for Certified Personal Trainer candidates looking to boost their exam confidence, as well as practicing Personal Trainers who want to take their practice to the next level. This updated edition is fully aligned with the eleventh edition of ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription and equips readers with the latest practices in client screening, exercise program development, and working with special populations.   Published by the American College of Sports Medicine, this top-selling text guides readers from an introduction to the profession and the science behind the field through the building blocks of a successful exercise program and ultimately the establishment of a successful personal training practice. Engaging case studies and study features help ensure the retention for success on the ACSM-CPT exam and provide prospective and practicing Personal Trainers with both the tools and scientific evidence to build safe and effective exercise programs for a variety of clients.   NEW! Update content aligned with the 11th edition of ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription prepares students to confidently perform the most effective client fitness assessments and create successful resistance training programs. UPDATED! Full-color photographs clarify concepts and techniques. Chapter objectives keep students focused on the most vital content. Case Studies provide essential practice applying concepts to realistic scenarios commonly encountered by Certified Personal Trainers. Key Points and chapter summaries reinforce important chapter takeaways.

The field of psychology encompasses research, clinical practice, and education. One of psychology's most unique and important characteristics is its coupling of science and practice. Job opportunities within the broad field of psychology are many, depending on one's level of education, with a variety of options at all levels in clinical and private settings. Job seekers will find real-world information in this volume covering: -Clinical Psychology -Cognitive Psychology -Sport Psychology -Developmental Psychology -Evolutionary Psychology -Forensic Psychology -Environmental Psychology Neuropsychology In addition to need-to-know data on the specifics of these careers, each chapter includes charts, tables, and valuable sections like "A Day in the Life of..." and Conversations with Real Professionals.

The measure of a great coach is bringing the best out of athletes. This is the first guide to motivational interviewing (MI)--the proven approach to harnessing the power of conversations to build relationships and trust--for coaches, sport psychologists, training and rehabilitation specialists, and other affiliated staff. Revealing why conventional ways of giving feedback and addressing conflict are often counterproductive, the book presents tried-and-tested methods for getting through to athletes and helping them to thrive. Leading sport psychologists and MI experts--including MI cofounder Stephen Rollnick--provide effective strategies to fire up motivation, promote ownership of personal goals, address problem behavior on and off the field, enhance performance, and improve teamwork. Included are step-by-step examples and inspiring stories from coaches at all levels. Purchasers get access to a Web page where they can download and print the book's reproducible quick-reference sheets on key MI skills.   This book is in the Applications of Motivational Interviewing series, edited by Stephen Rollnick, William R. Miller, and Theresa B. Moyers.

Coaching for Sports Performance provides a practical overview of the many disciplines necessary to be an effective coach. Using experts from across the sports science fields, this book teaches readers the core concepts in a practical, easy to understand style, separated into four sections. Part I explains the fundamentals of effective coaching including the development of coaching philosophies, best practices for coaching effectively, how athletic technique matures, and what coaches can and cannot do in specific health-related situations. Part II provides practical ways to improve athletic performance where readers learn the fundamentals of biomechanics and how to use technology to analyze performance, the physiological functions and adaptations to exercise, how the body can be physically trained and properly fueled, and mental strategies to optimize athletic outcomes. Part III introduces the business side of coaching, the important responsibilities involved in sport management, and practical methods for marketing as well as working with the media. Last, Part IV offers specific strategies for coaching across age and skill levels. Chapters are split into youth and high school, collegiate, and professional athletes, and the nuances of coaching each level are explained. Being called "Coach" is an honor, but with this title comes the responsibility of being professional, knowledgeable, and effective. Coaching for Sports Performance provides the platform for becoming a successful coach and assisting athletes in achieving their potential. Coaching for Sports Performance provides a practical overview of the many disciplines necessary to be an effective coach.

Sport is a universal feature of global popular culture. It shapes our identities, affects our relationships, and defines our communities. It also influences our consumption habits, represents our cultures, and dramatizes our politics. In other words, sport is among the most prominent vehicles for communication available in daily life. Nevertheless, only recently has it begun to receive robust attention in the discipline of communication studies. The handbook of Communication and Sport attends to the recent and rapid growth of scholarship in communication and media studies that features sport as a central site of inquiry. The book attempts to capture a full range of methods, theories, and topics that have come to define the subfield of "communication and sport" or "sports communication." It does so by emphasizing four primary features. First, it foregrounds "communication" as central to the study of sport. This emphasis helps to distinguish the book from collections in related disciplines such as sociology, and also points readers beyond media as the primary or only context for understanding the relationship between communication and sport. Thus, in addition to studies of media effects, mediatization, media framing, and more, readers will also engage with studies in interpersonal, intercultural, organizational, and rhetorical communication. Second, the handbook presents an array of methods, theories, and topics in the effort to chart a comprehensive landscape of communication and sport scholarship. Thus, readers will benefit from empirical, interpretive, and critical work, and they will also see studies drawing on varied texts and sites of inquiry. Third, the handbook of Communication and Sport includes a broad range of scholars from around the world. It is therefore neither European nor North American in its primary focus. In addition, the book includes contributors from commonly under-represented regions in Asia, Africa, and South America. Fourth, the handbook aims to account for both historical trajectories and contemporary areas of interest. In this way, it covers the central topics, debates, and perspectives from the past and also suggests continued and emerging pathways for the future. Collectively, the handbook of Communication and Sport aspires to provide scholars and students in communication and media studies with the most comprehensive assessment of the field available.

If you are eager to find out the similarities between sports coach and business manager, and what lessons from the world of sports coaching can be applied to both sports and business management, then this is the book for you. It is commonly believed that, in order to achieve success in coaching, the most important things are to be a good teacher and a pedagogue, and to master in theory and practice technical knowledge about technique, tactics, and conditioning. The aforementioned is no longer sufficient to achieve a successful coach's career, and thus for the successful running of the club. Sports coaches represent a significant source of new values for sports organizations. They are one of the key factors in the business and sports success of sports organizations. Not only the competitive success, but also the business success of sports organization depends on them. In this book you will find out that today, for successful running of the sports organization, the knowledge of communication and marketing skills is as important as the expertise and the sports results of the coach. The bottom line is that better sports coaching delivers better business results.

Management Behaviours in Higher Education explores the traits and behaviours of higher education leaders that are associated with staff management. It sets out beneficial management qualities and techniques which can be applied and suggests the need for a behavioural standard for senior managers in universities. The book showcases the importance of creating a supportive motivational climate and culture for greater psychological security in higher education. It proposes the idea of an agreed behavioural framework for those in and being considered for staff management positions to provide an improved motivational climate. Chapters evaluate current business management practice and human resources advice and compare these to research evidence on the management of higher education staff. This book will be of great interest for academics, researchers and postgraduate students engaged in the study of higher education, educational leadership and management studies. It will also appeal to those interested in business studies and the suggested parallel role/topic of sports coaching/or similar.

Despite the rapid advance of the academic study of coaching science, there is a dearth of evidence on contemporary progressions within the coaching profession itself, particularly around the wide-ranging challenges that coaches face. Professional Advances in Sports Coachingconstitutes an essential collection of the most innovative, up-to-date reviews and research on professional issues in sports coaching and coaching psychology. Seeking to assess and challenge contemporary conceptual and theoretical research around the evolving nature of the coach's role, issues associated with athlete and coach welfare, and societal demands of the coach, the book covers topics as diverse as: gender and spirituality within sports coaching; working in culturally diverse environments and disability sport; understanding hazing, mental health issues, and disordered eating in athletes; moral behaviour and safeguarding; high performance coaching and talent development; communicating with athletes in the age of social media, and managing cliques. Written by leading experts from around the world, every chapter clarifies and defines key concepts, gives an up-to-date and comprehensive review of literature within the area, and examines the implications for future research and applied practice. This is a critical resource for any upper-level student enrolled in sports coaching science or practice classes, sports coaching academics with an interest in professional practice, and practicing sports coaches.

Shortlisted for the North American Society for Sports History 2020 Monograph Prize It's hard to imagine, but as late as the 1950s, athletes could get kicked off a team if they were caught lifting weights. Coaches had long believed that strength training would slow down a player. Muscle was perceived as a bulky burden; training emphasized speed and strategy, not "brute" strength. Fast forward to today: the highest-paid strength and conditioning coaches can now earn $700,000 a year. Strength Coaching in America delivers the fascinating history behind this revolutionary shift. College football represents a key turning point in this story, and the authors provide vivid details of strength training's impact on the gridiron, most significantly when University of Nebraska football coach Bob Devaney hired Boyd Epley as a strength coach in 1969. National championships for the Huskers soon followed, leading Epley to launch the game-changing National Strength Coaches Association. Dozens of other influences are explored with equal verve, from the iconic Milo Barbell Company to the wildly popular fitness magazines that challenged physicians' warnings against strenuous exercise. Charting the rise of a new athletic profession, Strength Coaching in America captures an important transformation in the culture of American sport.