Human Performance and Sports Sciences

A must read book for students and researchers who are unfamiliar with the principles and applications of psychometrics, but are using one in their research projects. There are practically hundreds and thousands of questionnaires available measuring diverse psychological constructs. Selecting, administering, scoring and interpreting the scores of those questionnaires can be a daunting task. Questions such as ‘which questionnaire to use? ‘how to score the questionnaire?', and ‘what the scores mean?'are some of the common questions posed by unfamiliar users of questionnaires. This book helps to familiarize readers with the basic principles and application of questionnaire. Drawing the examples from some of the most commonly used questionnaire in sport and exercise psychology, the book provides a step-by-step approach to address common questionnaire related errors in selection, administration and interpretation of the questionnaires.

Economic globalisation refers to the notion of mobility. In basketball, just as in other team sports, competitions are associated with a specific territorial space. Through a comparison between United States and Europe, this compilation explores the issue of the perimeter of the competition area in the new economic environment. The authors discuss the different pedagogical models that basketball coaches can apply to promote the development of an all-around player during practice sessions. The "sport education", "teaching games for understanding", "cooperative learning", and "teaching personal and social responsibility" models are discussed and analyzed from a basketball coaching perspective. The relationship between rookie players' physical abilities on the Pre-Draft Combine and basketball performance in offense and defense in the first NBA season is assessed. The results highlight the importance of basic speed, speed strength and strength endurance. The concluding study tests the basic and specific indicators, in terms of differences, in estimating the isometric rate of force development for leg extensors in the context of a playing position in basketball. Sixty-eight basketball players performed a standardized "isometric leg press" test to assess the characteristics of isometric force from their leg extensors.

This book first describes the physical profile of elite young tennis players focusing on the Inertial Movement Analysis patterns.

Over the last forty years, running has grown from a niche sport for a handful of committed club athletes into one of the Western world's most popular pastimes. In Running, Identity and Meaning, Neil Baxter asks: What kinds of people have been drawn to running in such numbers? What do they seek from the sport? And what does running's popularity tell us about ourselves and the society we live in today? Delving into the great paradox of running: that despite its low cost of entry and inclusive ethos, the sport remains riven by inequalities, Baxter showcases how gender, class, age and ethnicity influence whether and how different groups participate in the sport, and explores its role in the reproduction of social structure and the search for distinction. By considering running simultaneously as a technique of self-cultivation, a social field in which forms of capital and status are at stake, and an important source of meaning and identity for millions of people across the world, this book equips readers to understand the many diverse links between the sport, society, and individual identities.

Many Kentuckians and fans of intercollegiate athletics are familiar with the name Jim Host. As founder and CEO of Host Communications, he was the pioneer in college sports marketing. Host's prevailing innovation in collegiate sports was the concept of bundled licensing, which encouraged corporate partners to become official sponsors of athletic programs across media formats. Host and his team developed the NCAA Radio Network and introduced what became known as the NCAA Corporate Partner Program, employing companies such as Gillette, Valvoline, Coca-Cola, and Pizza Hut to promote university athletic programs and the NCAA at large. Host was involved with the construction of Rupp Arena, the Kentucky Horse Park, and the KFC Yum! Center. But few know his full story. Changing the Game is the first complete account of Host's professional life, detailing his achievements in sports radio, management, and broadcasting; his time in minor league baseball, real estate, and the insurance business; and his foray into Kentucky politics, including his appointments under governors Louie B. Nunn and Ernie Fletcher. This memoir provides a behind-the-scenes look at the growth of big-time athletics and offers solutions for current challenges facing college sports.

This book provides an overview of current issues being discussed in higher-education kinesiology and sport pedagogy departments, as well as current research being conducted in physical education, physical education preparatory programs, and kinesiology departments more generally. Those who are served valuable content from this publication include kinesiology faculty, and college/university instructors who prepare future physical educators, future coaches, and future allied-health professionals and movement specialists [such as personal trainers, athletic trainers, physical therapists, etcetera]. This book is composed of an assortment of both qualitative and quantitative research. Some chapters include empirically collected data, others are more philosophical 'think-pieces' -- representing an array of current issues, research foci, methodologies, and perspectives in the field of kinesiology. Contributing authors hail from institutions all over the United States -- ranging from Texas, Washington, Illinois, Georgia, and Alabama -- providing a broad and rich variety of perspectives, opinions, and experiences in the field. Each chapter is specific to an important line of research or concept being explored in higher-education kinesiology and sport pedagogy. Readers will find that most chapters do not overlap in particular concept, but rather they all generally apply to the advancement of leadership, mentorship, teaching and conducting research in kinesiology and sport pedagogy â making the book a broad overview of current topics and the status of modern kinesiology departments in higher education.

Digital technologies are having a profound impact on sport business, opening up new opportunities to generate income and value. This book explores the phenomenon of digitization in sport management, with a particular focus on business models and how they are being transformed in this new digital era. The book explains how business models describe and underpin contemporary sport business, and how flexibility is the key to unlocking value in an era of rapid technological change. It presents case studies of the impact of digitization on sport organizations, in both amateur and professional contexts, including cutting-edge topics such as the business of football, sponsorship communication, athlete engagement, micropayments and wearable devices. The final chapter summarizes current knowledge on digital business models and looks ahead at possible future directions for sport business in the digital era. This is fascinating reading for any advanced student, researcher or practitioner working in sport management who wants to better understand the challenges and opportunities presented by digital technology for the sport industry. The Open Access version of this book, available at www.taylorfrancis.com, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 license.

The first book to focus on crowdfunding in sport, an important new source of finance Examines the research evidence for crowdfunding, and how it can be successfully implemented by sports organisations Takes a deep dive into how crowdfunding works in the context of strategic marketing and consumer engagement, both key areas of sport business

The beautiful new edition of this highly successful book, written by Ann and Chris Frederick, directors of the Stretch to Win® Institute, is packed with theory and practice, including a host of beautifully illustrated assisted stretches. Fascial Stretch Therapy(tm), Second edition is a practical and highly applicable manual for any massage therapist, movement instructor, physical or occupational therapist, athletic or sports trainer, fitness instructor or osteopath - in fact for any hands-on practitioners who wants to learn new skills and improve therapeutic outcomes. It clearly demonstrates how FST(tm) assessment, treatment, and training are used in a variety of common circumstances encountered in manual therapy and athletic training. What's new for the second edition... Discusses a very brief history of a still expanding and evolving new industry of assisted stretching. It also covers the negative aspects of this trend, including the lack of assessments and specificity and common stretching methods. Approaches are listed so you can compare and contrast. Includes a new Chapter 2 with updates of the highest quality evidence-based research useful to the field of assisted stretching. It includes the authors' own research about the effects of FST(tm) on chronic nonspecific low back pain as well as a discussion about a recent systematic review of the acute effects of muscle stretching on physical performance range of motion, and injury incidence in healthy active individuals. Lists contraindications and indications for FST(tm) along with new updates to reflect current understandings (e.g. about Golgi tendon organs) with supporting references. Shows how this method will save you time when forming a working hypothesis that will quickly be proven or disproven so that you will have enough time to develop other hypotheses that you can test for efficacy, all within a single session. Includes new photographs and artwork along with new titles to reflect the change in nomenclature from the use of the term 'fascial line(s)' to 'fascial net(s)'.

Today's students are tomorrow's professionals, and it is immensely important for these students to attain the contemporary knowledge necessary to operate successfully in an ever-growing industry. Like no other textbook in the field, Fundamentals of Sport Business Marketing 5th Edition covers the practical and theoretical framework necessary for students to understand, and professionals to market any sport-related business in a global economy. The 5th edition encompasses the diversity of spectators and participants, sports and sport businesses that span the industry, well beyond the scope of professional and college sports to include sport marketing research, sporting goods retail and manufacturing, sports broadcast, internet sport business, sport tourism, and parasports (sports and sport businesses for people with disabilities)—in short, the full spectrum of companies in which students of sports programs around the world will seek careers.

For decades, sports management has not been considered a priority area of interest within sport, and there is a lack of professionalization within the multiple approaches and key performance areas in sports management.  However, in recent years, the importance and impact of the sports economy in the percentage of GDP has coincided with an increase in the volume of literature dedicated to the study of sports management, and specifically around fitness centers, the commercialization of their services and the loyalty chain of the users of this business model. The Global Private Health & Fitness Business shows the globalization of the health and fitness industry, and its different forms of management according to different countries, the objective being to show the various business models in the fitness industry in twenty countries around the world and explore their methods of marketing. The content will provide insight into the current situation and what challenges it faces in the future. In addition to these contexts, each chapter ends with the description of the main chains in each country and information on the complexity in the commercialization and loyalty of their services. This book provides a great opportunity to further analyze sports management in different countries, with contributions from leading academics and professionals who share the current situation as well as the challenges of the coming years, providing an excellent resource for all practitioners working in sports management, researchers and students with future projection towards this area.

What happens to teaching when you consider the whole body (and not just "brains on sticks")? Starting from new research on the body--aptly summarized as "sitting is the new smoking"--Minding Bodies aims to help instructors improve their students' knowledge and skills through physical movement, attention to the spatial environment, and sensitivity to humans as more than "brains on sticks." It shifts the focus of adult learning from an exclusively mental effort toward an embodied, sensory-rich experience, offering new strategies to maximize the effectiveness of time spent learning together on campus as well as remotely. Minding Bodies draws from a wide range of body/mind research in cognitive psychology, kinesiology, and phenomenology to bring a holistic perspective to teaching and learning. The embodied learning approaches described by Susan Hrach are inclusive, low-tech, low-cost strategies that deepen the development of disciplinary knowledge and skills. Campus change-makers will also find recommendations for supporting a transformational mission through an attention to students' embodied learning experiences.

The Routledge Handbook of Sport and Sustainable Development is a comprehensive and powerful survey of the ways in which sport engages with its social, environmental, and ethical responsibilities. It considers how sport can use its unique profile and platform to influence the attitudes of sport fans and consumers to promote positive social and environmental action around the world and to contribute to sustainable development, perhaps the most important issue of our time. The book is structured around the 17 UN Sustainable Development Goals, with a section devoted to each goal that contains chapters reviewing key theory and current research, measurement and evaluation issues, and the application of current knowledge in real-world development situations. Drawing on research and expertise from management, sociology, development studies, psychology, and other disciplines, the book examines the role that sport must play in areas such as health and well-being, poverty, education, gender equality, decent work, responsible consumption, and climate action. Representing a keynote work on the wider social responsibilities of sport as both an industry and sociocultural activity, this is essential reading for any advanced student or researcher working in sport development, sport management, sport sociology, event studies, development studies, or environmental studies, and for any development practitioner or sport management professional looking to understand how to achieve positive social change in and through sport. The Open Access version of this book, available at http://www.taylorfrancis.com, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives (CC-BY-NC-ND) 4.0 license.

2020 Choice​ Outstanding Academic Title The moving body--pervasively occupied by fitness activities, intense training and dieting regimes, recreational practices, and high-profile sporting mega-events--holds a vital function in contemporary society.

Sport Marketing:Managing the Exchange Process presents cutting edge conceptual and empirical approaches for managers to manage relationships with consumers. The central theme of the book is the sport marketing exchange, because this process is fundamental to marketing and can be used to highlight the challenges and opportunities faced by the sport marketer. The authors challenge students, researchers, and managers in sport marketing to embrace current marketing tools that are being employed by marketers in other industry sectors. Several recent marketing techniques are discussed and illustrated within the sport context.

The pandemic has completely disrupted the $430 billion sports business in the United States: postponed and cancelled games and events, games being played in bubbles, fragmentation of the fan base, disruption of sports marketing and media, vacant arenas and stadiums, and billions of dollars in financial losses. Sports: Impact of the Pandemic quantifies these impacts, providing guidance for the industry to move forward. This ebook assesses the impact, activities during the pandemic, and schedule revisions for each of the major league sports, collegiate sports, golf, horse racing, motorsports, tennis, the Olympic games, and more.

This book explores the local environmental impact of sports stadiums, and how that impact can disproportionately affect communities of color. Offering a series of review articles and global case studies, it illustrates what happens when sport organizations and other public and private stakeholders fail to factor environmental justice into their planning and operations processes. It opens with an historical account of environmental justice research and of research into sport and the natural environment. It then offers a series of case studies from around the world, including the United States, Canada, Kenya, South Africa, and Taiwan. These case studies are organized around key elements of environmental justice such as water and air pollution, displacement and gentrification, soil contamination, and transportation accessibility. They illustrate how major sports stadiums have contributed positively or negatively (or both) to the environmental health of the compact neighborhoods that surround them, to citizens' quality of life, and in particular to communities that have historically been subjected to unjust and inequitable environmental policy. Placing the issue of environmental justice front and center leads to a more complete understanding of the relationship between stadiums, the natural environment, and urban communities. Presenting new research with important implications for practice, this book is vital reading for anybody working in sport management, venue management, mega-event planning, environmental studies, sociology, geography, and urban and regional planning. The Open Access version of this book, available at www.taylorfrancis.com, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license.

Sport Startups: New Advances in Entrepreneurshipexamines the global growth of startup enterprises in the sports sector and addresses how they contribute to new developments in business innovation and entrepreneurship. Highlighting the unique challenges faced by startups in this sector, Vanessa Ratten explores approaches to business model development, branding and marketing, and the utilization of new technologies to build successful enterprises, underpinning her study with a clear theoretical framework rooted in institutional theory.  Sport Startupsis one of the first books to specifically focus on the role of startups in sport. Analyzing the inherent start-up aspect of the sporting sector, due to the combination of profit and non-profit ties, which means that many sport enterprises are developed as new start-up business ventures as they link in with the community. The book foregrounds how startups in sport are vital in developing a better global society that emphasizes the role of health and fitness in communities.  Sport Startupswill be illuminating reading for all scholars of innovation, entrepreneurship, sports management and business studies.

This book provides an overview of current issues being discussed in higher-education kinesiology and sport pedagogy departments, as well as current research being conducted in physical education, physical education preparatory programs, and kinesiology departments more generally. Those who are served valuable content from this publication include kinesiology faculty, and college/university instructors who prepare future physical educators, future coaches, and future allied-health professionals and movement specialists [such as personal trainers, athletic trainers, physical therapists, etcetera]. This book is composed of an assortment of both qualitative and quantitative research. Some chapters include empirically collected data, others are more philosophical 'think-pieces' -- representing an array of current issues, research foci, methodologies, and perspectives in the field of kinesiology. Contributing authors hail from institutions all over the United States -- ranging from Texas, Washington, Illinois, Georgia, and Alabama -- providing a broad and rich variety of perspectives, opinions, and experiences in the field. Each chapter is specific to an important line of research or concept being explored in higher-education kinesiology and sport pedagogy. Readers will find that most chapters do not overlap in particular concept, but rather they all generally apply to the advancement of leadership, mentorship, teaching and conducting research in kinesiology and sport pedagogy â making the book a broad overview of current topics and the status of modern kinesiology departments in higher education.

The beautiful new edition of this highly successful book, written by Ann and Chris Frederick, directors of the Stretch to Win® Institute, is packed with theory and practice, including a host of beautifully illustrated assisted stretches. Fascial Stretch Therapy(tm), Second edition is a practical and highly applicable manual for any massage therapist, movement instructor, physical or occupational therapist, athletic or sports trainer, fitness instructor or osteopath - in fact for any hands-on practitioners who wants to learn new skills and improve therapeutic outcomes. It clearly demonstrates how FST(tm) assessment, treatment, and training are used in a variety of common circumstances encountered in manual therapy and athletic training. What's new for the second edition... Discusses a very brief history of a still expanding and evolving new industry of assisted stretching. It also covers the negative aspects of this trend, including the lack of assessments and specificity and common stretching methods. Approaches are listed so you can compare and contrast. Includes a new Chapter 2 with updates of the highest quality evidence-based research useful to the field of assisted stretching. It includes the authors' own research about the effects of FST(tm) on chronic nonspecific low back pain as well as a discussion about a recent systematic review of the acute effects of muscle stretching on physical performance range of motion, and injury incidence in healthy active individuals. Lists contraindications and indications for FST(tm) along with new updates to reflect current understandings (e.g. about Golgi tendon organs) with supporting references. Shows how this method will save you time when forming a working hypothesis that will quickly be proven or disproven so that you will have enough time to develop other hypotheses that you can test for efficacy, all within a single session. Includes new photographs and artwork along with new titles to reflect the change in nomenclature from the use of the term 'fascial line(s)' to 'fascial net(s)'.

What happens to teaching when you consider the whole body (and not just "brains on sticks")? Starting from new research on the body--aptly summarized as "sitting is the new smoking"--Minding Bodies aims to help instructors improve their students' knowledge and skills through physical movement, attention to the spatial environment, and sensitivity to humans as more than "brains on sticks." It shifts the focus of adult learning from an exclusively mental effort toward an embodied, sensory-rich experience, offering new strategies to maximize the effectiveness of time spent learning together on campus as well as remotely. Minding Bodies draws from a wide range of body/mind research in cognitive psychology, kinesiology, and phenomenology to bring a holistic perspective to teaching and learning. The embodied learning approaches described by Susan Hrach are inclusive, low-tech, low-cost strategies that deepen the development of disciplinary knowledge and skills. Campus change-makers will also find recommendations for supporting a transformational mission through an attention to students' embodied learning experiences.

2020 Choice​ Outstanding Academic Title The moving body--pervasively occupied by fitness activities, intense training and dieting regimes, recreational practices, and high-profile sporting mega-events--holds a vital function in contemporary society. As the body moves--as it performs, sweats, runs, and jumps--it sets in motion an intricate web of scientific rationalities, spatial arrangements, corporate imperatives, and identity politics (i.e. politics of gender, race, social class, etc.). It represents vitality in its productive and physiological capacities, it drives a complex economy of experiences and products, and it is a meaningful site of cultural identities and politics.   Contributors to Sport, Physical Culture, and the Moving Body work from a simple premise: as it moves, the material body matters. Adding to the burgeoning fields of sport studies and body studies, the works featured here draw upon the traditions of feminist theory, posthumanism, actor network theory, and new materialism to reposition the physical, moving body as crucial to the cultural, political, environmental, and economic systems that it constitutes and within which is constituted. Once assembled, the book presents a study of bodies in motion--made to move in contexts where technique, performance, speed, strength, and vitality not only define the conduct therein, but provide the very reason for the body''s being within those economies and environments. In so doing, the contributors look to how the body moving for and about rational systems of science, medicine, markets, and geopolity shapes the social and material world in important and unexpected ways.   In Sport, Physical Culture, and the Moving Body, contributors explore the extent to which the body, when moving about both ostensibly active body spaces (i.e., the gymnasium, the ball field, exercise laboratory, the track or running trail, the beach, or the sport stadium) and those places less often connected to physical activity (i.e. the home, the street, the classroom, the automobile), is bounded to technologies of life and living; and to the political arrangements that seek to capitalize upon such frames of biological vitality. To do so, the authors problematize the rise of active body science (i.e. kinesiology, sport and exercise sciences, performance biotechnology) and the effects these scientific interventions have on embodied, lived experience.   Contributors to Sport, Physical Culture, and the Moving Body will be engaging a range of new and emerging theoretical perspectives, including new materialist, political ecology, developmental systems theory, and new material feminist approaches, to examine the actors and assemblages of movement-based material, political, and economic production. In so doing, contributors will vividly and powerfully illustrate the extent to which a focus on the fleshed body and its material conditions can bring forth new insights or ontological and epistemological innovation to the sociology of sport and physical activity. They will also explore the agency of the body as and amongst things. Such a performative materialist approach explicates how complex assemblages of sport and physical activity--bringing into association everything from muscle fibers and dietary proteins to stadium concrete or regional aquifers--are not only meaningful, but ecological.   By focusing on the confluence of agentive materialities, disciplinary technologies, vibrant assemblages, speculative realities, and vital performativities, Sport, Physical Culture, and the Moving Body promises to offer a groundbreaking departure from representationalist tendencies and orthodoxies brought about by the cultural turn in sport and physical cultural studies. It brings the moving body and its physics back into focus: recentering moving flesh and bones as locus of social order, environmental change, and the global political economy.