Dean-Libraries and Media Centers
Introduction
This Research Guide provides suggested library resources for Applied and Industrial Technologies such as Books, E-books, and Databases with articles which support the Applied and Industrial Technologies program of study.
Additional Databases for Applied Technologies Research
- AccessEngineeringAccessEngineering's 800+ titles span all engineering disciplines, from mechanical to chemical, civil and electrical/electronic to assist you with your engineering problems, research, and projects, and gives you free access to Marks’ Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry’s Chemical Engineers’ Handbook, Handbook of Mechanical Engineering Calculations, Piping Handbook, Roark’s Formulas for Stress and Strain, and more. Most titles, including reference, textbooks, and code commentary, come embedded with calculator tools, interactive graphs, and downloadable tables.
- ACM Digital LibraryThe full-text collection of all the Association for Computing Machinery publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters, and books. Article downloads may work better in Microsoft Edge.
- Advanced Technologies & AerospaceThe Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database includes the renowned Aerospace Database and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
- Applied Science and Technology Full TextContains indexing and abstracting over 800 periodicals going back to 1983. It provides full text articles from over 220 periodicals from 1997-. Covers aeronautics, biotechnology, computers, and all fields of engineering.
- Engineering Village (INSPEC)Engineering Village is a platform that enables in-depth search and discovery of both current, archival and interdisciplinary content comprising research and technical information in the applied engineering and physical science domains. It hosts highly-curated databases in which content from global publishers is indexed from journals, conference proceedings, trade publication, dissertations, standards, books, patents and technical reports.
- IEEE Xplore Digital LibraryProvides information on all aspects of engineering. Includes journals, magazines, conference proceedings, standards, and books. Also has recommendations for textbooks to support coursework.
- IET Digital Library
The IET Digital Library holds more than 190,000 technical papers from 1994 onwards for all IET journals, magazines, books, conference publications and seminar digests, the IET's member magazine Engineering & Technology, plus seminar digests and conference publications.
- ScienceDirect
Provides access to articles from up to 3,800 journals and over 37,000 book titles. ScienceDirect brings the world of open science to you wherever you are. With over 250,000 open access publications at your fingertips, the next big step towards discovery is yours to take. It covers biological sciences, medicine, engineering, and chemistry.
- ScienceOpenIs a professional networking platform for scholars to enhance their research in the open, make an impact, and receive credit for it. We provide context building services for publishers, to bring researchers closer to the content than ever before. Our advanced search and discovery functions, combined with post-publication peer review, recommendation, social sharing, and collection-building features make ScienceOpen the only research platform you’ll ever need.
- Taylor and Francis OnlineTaylor and Francis Online contains journal packages for Education, Biology, Agriculture, Environmental Science, Business, Health Sciences, and Social Sciences.
- Web of Science
Is very important for research discovery and analytics. Web of Science connects publications and researchers through citations and controlled indexing in curated databases spanning every discipline. Use cited reference search to track prior research and monitor current developments in over 100 year's worth of content that is fully indexed, including 59 million records and backfiles dating back to 1898.
- Wiley Online LibraryA multidisciplinary collection of online resources which include agriculture, business, nursing, health, social sciences and technology. Provides access to 1500 journals, thousands of ebooks, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.
Research Tips
Research Strategies
Aviation
Mechatronics
How to Do Effective Library Research
Choose or Identify a Topic An idea for a topic should always be discussed with your instructor. A topic can be viewed much like the scientific method in which a new perspective is developed or knowledge is added. This is generally considered to include 1) definition of a problem to be investigated, 2) collection of initial data, 3) use of data to form a theory or hypothesis explaining the problem 4) further collection of data to verify or modify the hypothesis through observation or experiment, 5) testing the data, and 6) interpreting the results to determine how it relates to the initial problem.
Citing Sources of Information: The library owns several style manuals to help you properly cite sources of information. The instructor should recommend a format for your research paper which will include any of the following:
- Modern Language Association (MLA)
- American Psychological Association Publication Manual (APA)
- Kate Turabian: Manual for Writers of Term Papers
EDS and Classic Catalog
Search Books, Articles, and More
Classic Catalog
Smartphone (Mobile) Access
Examples to search in the online catalog:
- Mechatronics
- Robotics