Librarian
Introduction
This Research Guide provides suggested library resources such as Books, E-books, and Databases with articles and images pertaining to Speech Pathology and Audiology. Reliable, freely available web sites are also listed.
Databases
Databases are for students, faculty, and staff of Tennessee State University to use to find journal articles, and other information relative to their research interest. Some content may be replicated on different data bases; however, each database will often have resources unique to it. If you find citations without the full-text, sometimes "web-bridge" will direct you to another database.
To access databases and eJournals off campus you must use your user name and password. For assistance with problem logins, contact Colette Bradley (cbradley@tnstate.edu) or at 615-963-5489.
- BioMed Central
Provides access to 220 online scholarly journals. All articles are available in PDF full-text.
- ComDisDome
This database is an indexing and abstracting tool covering the communications disorders literature, with focus on speech-language pathology and audiology. Quickly identify and connect to reliable information from multiple sources , including journal articles and books, along with access to profiles of researchers working in this area.
- Gale (formerly Infotrac)
is the platform for over 30 on interdisciplinary databases on general and specific subjects such as Academic OneFile, Expanded Academic General Reference Gold, Educator’s Reference Complete, Military and Intelligence, Business, Economics and Theory, Informe, General Science Collection, and several others
- JSTOR
Jstor Is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources. The library has the entire Arts & Sciences Collection, the Life Sciences Collection and Business Journal IV. We have both archival and current subscriptions.
- MedOne ComSci
MedOne ComSci offers the means to elevate communication science with up-to-date text, cutting-edge content, and detailed images, videos, and audio. This unique collection of online content includes e-books with core texts for Masters and PhD level instruction. Thieme’s titles are widely adopted by professors at ASHA-accredited programs. The platform features a rich source of case material for study and discussion in class, with associated question and answer sets provided for every case. It is an electronic resource for undergraduate and graduate students in communication science, speech pathology, and audiology as well as professionals practicing in those disciplines.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print
Overs more than 2,000 commercially-available educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement and intelligence test. Each entry includes test name and classification; author(s); publisher, publication date; price; time requirements; score descriptions; levels; and intended populations.
- PubMed
International journals in medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. Information from allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
- Sage Journal Collections
It includes international, peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 500 scholarly and professional societies.
Electronic access to more than 1,000 peer-reviewed journals (over 1 million articles)
Complimentary access back to 1999 and includes collections in Communication, Psychology, Sociology, Social Work and Social Policy, Urban Studies, Criminal Justice, Education, Nursing, Public Health, Management and Organization as well agriculture. - ScienceDirect
Provides access to articles from up to 3,800 journals and over 37,000 book titles. ScienceDirect brings the world of open science to you wherever you are. With over 250,000 open access publications at your fingertips, the next big step towards discovery is yours to take. It covers biological sciences, medicine, engineering, and chemistry.
- Taylor and Francis Online"Open research publishing platform for HSS that combines books, articles, and other research outputs in one interdisciplinary venue."
- Web of Science
Is very important for research discovery and analytics. Web of Science connects publications and researchers through citations and controlled indexing in curated databases spanning every discipline. Use cited reference search to track prior research and monitor current developments in over 100 year's worth of content that is fully indexed, including 59 million records and backfiles dating back to 1898.
Interlibrary Loan
Looking for a book or article that we don't have? You may be able to acquire it through "Interlibrary Loan." Located under "Quick Links."
Interlibrary loan allows us to borrow resource materials on your behalf from almost any libray in the nation. Although some libraries charge a fee for this service, we will make every effort to borrow only from those that do not charge for this service.
DANGER DANGER
Save your work!
In the world of computers Murphy's Law is always in effect!
"If something can go wrong, it will."
Don't wait until you are finished - save your work to a flash drive as you progress through your project.
Unexpected interruptions (like power failures) do occur.
EDS and Classic Catalog
Search Books, Articles, and More
Vocational Assistance
The following sources provide information about vocational possibilities, provides job prospects, projected salaries, and educational training.
- CareeronestopThe following sources provide information about vocational possibilities, provides job prospects, projected salaries, and educational training.
Information Literacy
How to Do Effective Library Research
Choose or Identify a Topic An idea for a topic should always be discussed with your instructor.A topic can be viewed much like the scientific method in which a new perspective is developed or knowledge is added. This is generally considered to include 1) definition of a problem to be investigated, 2) collection of initial data, 3) use of data to form a theory or hypothesis explaining the problem 4) further collection of data to verify or modify the hypothesis through observation or experiment, 5) testing the data, and 6) interpreting the results to determine how it relates to the initial problem.
Citing Sources of InformationThe library owns several style manuals to help you properly cite sources of information. The instructor should recommend a format for your research paper which will include any of the following:
- Modern Language Association (MLA)
- American Psychological Association Publication Manual (APA)
- Kate Turabian: Manual for Writers of Term Papers