Association Links
The following is a select list and does not represent all of the associations, foundations, or societies formed to address some aspect of issues in speech and hearing.
-
Acoustical Society of AmericaSponsors educational and advocacy activities in area of acoustics.
Provides access to extensive number of full-text articles. -
Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf and Hard of HearingProvides assistance to people who are hard of hearing and their families.
One of the features is a career center for employers and job seekers. -
American Academy of AudiologyThis is a professional organization for audiologists and it promotes education and research in this field. This site provides a number of full-text articles, serves as an employment resource and provides extensive links to related web sites.
-
ASHA: American Speech-Language-Hearing AssociationThis is the professional, scientific, and credentialing association for professionals of this field. The web site includes extensive career assistance and extensive reports on health care surveys, on various vocational concersn. Other features address issues of ethics and state licensure requirements.
-
American Cleft Palate-Craniofacial AssociationFeatures monthly newsletter, extensive videos, and funding opportunities.
-
American Tinnitus AssociationFocus is tinnitus awareness, prevention, treatment, and research.
-
AFA: Audiology Foundation of AmericaPromotes audiology as a healthcare profession. This web site offers an extensive array of published articles.
-
Autism SocietyExists to improve the lives of all affected by autism. The site features information about autism: causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, asperger's syndrome, and facts and statistics.
-
Friends: The National Association for Young People Who Stutter"Only national organization dedicated solely to empowering young people who stutter and their families. The site features News and Links, Events, and Video Links.
-
Hearing Loss Association of America"Is the nation's leading organization representing people with hearing loss. The web site features helpful resources to hard of hearing, including a glossary and information on state organizations.
-
IFA: International Fluency AssociationThis "is a not-for-profit international, interdisciplinary organization devoted to understanding and management of fluency disorders, and to improve in the quality of life for persons with fluency disorders." Site includes links to related web sites and newsletters.
-
Learning Disabilities Association of AmericaServes as a source for information, resources, and support. Features legislative updates and extensive full-text articles pertaining to interests of parents, teachers, professionals, and adults.
-
National Aphasia AssociationIts mission is to promote public awareness and understanding of aphasia. The web site features facts about aphasia, aphasia bill of rights, news and events, and research.
-
NAD: National Association of the DeafServes as nations's civil rithts organization for the deaf and hard of hearing in the United States. Among it many features, this site provides legal information and events in the news.
-
NCSA: National Cued Speech AssociationCuing uses visual signals to aid deaf or hard of hearing to communicate. This site provides indepth description of cued speech, related videos, and access to scholarly and news articles. Provides list of job openings in the field.
-
NHCA: National Hearing Conservation Association"The mission of the NHCA is to prevent hearing loss due to noise and other environmental factors in all sectors of society." Resources include regulatory information, access to articles, newsletters, and much more.
-
National Stuttering Association"The National Stuttering Association is a nonprofit organization dedicated to bringing hope and empowerment to children and adults who stutter, their families and professionals through their support, education, advocacy, and research. The website features videos, news items, newsletters, and informational brochures.
Government Links
Includes government agencies and publications that relate to issues of speech and hearing.
-
CDC: Centers for Disease Control and PreventionFeatures include facts and statistics, National Goals, Hearing loss prevention, and publications.
-
NIDCD: National Instituteon Deafness and Other Communication DisordersGovernment source for health informaiton, research, funding, news and events.
-
National Institutes of HealthHealth information on topics such as children's health, hearing, autism, apraxia, and communication disorders. Features news articles, podcasts with links to NIDCD: National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders and the NINDS: Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke.
-
OSHA: Occupational Safety & Health AdministrationIts mission is to assure a safe and healthy work environment. Features government regualtions, published articles, data and statistics, and news articles.
Internet Links
The following web sites focus on various aspects of speech pathology and audiology.
-
American Institute for StutteringA nonprofit organization designed to help people who stutter and to train professionals. Site includes a blog and some basic informtion about stuttering and provides links to related websites.
-
Aphasia Hope FoundationPromotes research into the prevention and cure of Aphasia. The web site provides many articles, news announcements, support groups, and more.
-
Better Hearing InstituteA not-for-profit corporation dedicated to educating the public about hearing loss. Features hearing health news, technology updates, better hearing blog, consumer assistance. It produces several publications relating to hearing loss.
-
Handspeak.comFocus in on sigh language communication. Features finger spelling, brain training games, news items, and more.
-
Hear-itFeatures various informative reports on hearing loss, including tinnitus, hearing aids, news reports.
-
NFOSD National Foundation of Swallowing DisordersAdvances the treatment of swallowing disorders and serve as a resource for people suffering from all types of swallowing difficulties.
-
Reading Rockets: For Speech-Language PathologistsFeatures videos, webcasts, research based articles, educational and therapeutic activities.
-
Speechlanguage-Resources.comThis site provides information to help educators better understand language and literacy difficulties in school age children by providing access to a number of resources to address such issues as language therapy, language skills, dyspraxia, autism, asperger's syndrome, and dyslexia.
-
Stutter TalkStutter Talk is a free weekly podcast that includes interviews with people who stutter, famous people who stutter and "renowned researchers" in the field of stuttering. The site includes videos and archived podcast going back to 2007.
-
The Stuttering FoundationOffers in depth resource material on stuttering, such as facts on stuttering, advice to parents, information to children and teenagers and for teachers. It also provides extensive research articles.
-
The Stuttering Home PageProvides access to a wealth of information on various aspects of stuttering, including therapy, discussion forums, audio presentations, blogs, videos, and podcasts, plus the history of stuttering and stuttering in the media.
-
Wide Smiles: Cleft Lip and Palate ResourceProvides lengthy answers to many topics such as cases, terms & definitions, feeding issues, parent information, school, self-esteem, and many more.