Subject librarian
Getting started
Some Reference Works in Anthropology
- African-American Pioneers in Anthropology byCall Number: GN17.3.U6 A37 1999 Brown-Daniel Library 1st floorISBN: 0252067363
Methodology and African prehistory (abridged ed.) by Call Number: DT20 .G452 1990 vol. 1 Brown-Daniel ReferenceISBN: 0520066960Publication Date: 1990
Rise of Anthropological Theory by Call Number: GN308 .H35 2001 Brown-Daniel Library 1st floorISBN: 0759101337
Best journals for anthropological research
- All electronic journals in anthropology available through TSU LibrariesApproximately 300 titles (not all of which are currently received, but we have some older issues).
Searching Our Resources
- DiscoverySearches virtually everything in the library's catalog and databases
General databases
- Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 4700 full-text periodicals, including more than 2660 peer-reviewed journals.
Specialized databases
- Ethnographic Sound Archives Online
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online brings together previously unpublished historic audio recordings and their supporting field materials, opening new paths for the study of music in its cultural context. The collection brings together 2,000 hours of audio recordings from field expeditions around the world, particularly from the 1960s through the 1980s—the dawn of ethnomusicology as a codified discipline.
- AnthroSource
AnthroSource is the premier online portal serving the research, teaching and practicing needs of anthropologists. An online service of the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource offers access to more than 100 years of anthropological knowledge.
Google Scholar
Websites
- Sapiens"An editorially independent anthropology magazine of the Wenner-Gren Foundation & University of Chicago Press."
- The Wenner-Gren BlogBlog of the anthropological foundation.
- John Hawks weblogBlog of a leading paleoanthropologist.