Subject librarian
Welcome to the Urban Studies Research Guide!
My name is Julie Huskey, and I am your liaison librarian. This research guide has been created to support the research needs of students, faculty, and staff in the Urban Studies program at Tennessee State University.
This guide will help you navigate the key resources and within the discipline and provides helpful tools for library research success. View the tabs above to get started.
Feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns, or to seek advice on where to begin.
Good Luck!
"Nashville Skyline" by w4nd3rl0st (InspiredinDesMoines) is licensed with CC BY-NC-ND 2.0. To view a copy of this license, visit https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/
Urban studies is an interdisciplinary major grounded in the social sciences -- combined with history, economics, political science, and public administration. Urban studies attempts to understand cities and city life, past and future. It focuses on cities as distinctive entities and explores the meaning and function of cities in the larger society.
Databases
- Academic OneFile provides extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences,
the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. - Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 3486 full-text periodicals, including more than 4734 full text non-open accessed journals.
-
Environment Complete is a comprehensive database that contains full text articles from over 920 journals.
-
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. Coverage includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily. Subjects: Gender Studies, Anthropology, and Sociology.
-
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy answers inquiries about environmental concerns with coverage of more than 5.4 million articles from more than 300 journals and book reference content from Delmar, including Soil, Science, and Management; Introduction to Agronomy; Food, Crops, & Environment; Fundamental Soil Science; and more.
-
GreenFile is an open access database that provides information on human impact on the environment. Includes topics such as sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
-
International Bibliography of Social Sciences provides cross-disciplinary coverage across the social sciences, focused on four primary subject areas: anthropology, economics, political science and sociology.
-
Project Muse Is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community around the world.
-
Proquest Social Science Premium includes access to the following databases: Sociological Abstracts; ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts; ProQuest Education Journals; Worldwide Political Science Abstracts; PAIS; ProQuest Criminal Justice; Sociology Database; Political Science Database; Policy File Index; National Criminal Justice Reference Services (NCJR) Abstracts Database; Library Science Database; Library Information Sciences Abstracts(LISA); ERIC; Linguistics Database; Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA);Social Science Database; and International Bibliography of Social Sciences (IBSS).
-
Sage Premier Collection includes international, peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 500 scholarly and professional societies. Complimentary access back to 1999 and includes collections in Communication, Psychology, Sociology, Political Science, Urban Studies, Criminal Justice, Education, Nursing, Public Health, Management and Organization.
-
Social Explorer includes a suite of online tools and data that allow users to visually explore hundreds of thousands of data indicators across demography, economy, health, religion, crime and more. Users can visualize and interact with data, create reports and downloads for offline processing.
-
Social Sciences Full Text indexes over 600 periodicals in the social sciences.
-
SocINDEX with Full Text has extensive scope and content that gives users a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.
-
Sociology Collection provides access to Sociological Abstracts in combination with other databases covering the international literature in sociology and social services, along with related fields.
-
SpringerLink provides researchers with access to over 10 million scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings. Covers many disciplines in the sciences, social sciences and technology fields.
-
Taylor and Francis Online contains journal packages for social sciences including one for urban studies.
Journals
Below are popular journal titles found in Urban Studies. Also, be sure to check out BrowZine for many more!
Search the Catalog
Recently Added Books
Call Numbers
Because urban studies is an interdisciplinary subject, books may be found in many different call number areas. The primary call number range for general urban studies and urban planning books is HT101-395.
GF 125: Cities.Urban geography
HD 72 - 88: Economic growth
HD 101 - 1395.5: Land use
HE 305-311: Urban transportation
HT 101-395: Urban sociology
HT 165.5-169.9: City planning
HT 170-178: Urban renewal
HT 201-221: City population
HT 231: Effect of city life
HT 321-325: City as an economic factor
HT 330-334: Metropolitan areas
HT 351-352: Suburban cities and towns
HT 361-384: Urbanization
HT 388: Regional economics
HT 390-395: Regional planning
Key Concepts
- The City
- Community
- Environmental Concerns
- Globalization
- Homelessness
- Housing
- Inequality and Poverty
- New Urbanism
- Preservation
- Sprawl
- Suburb and Suburbanization
- Sustainable urbanization
- Urban and Suburban Social Movement
- Urban Politics and Suburban Politics
- Urban Violence and Crime
- Urbanization and Urbanism