Geography

To access these databases off-campus, the username is your first and last name and the password is the 10 digit number found on the front of your id card

Geography borrows from a number of other disciplines, including history, political science, and economics. The databases below will help you find articles, videos, and datasets to support your research.

Early American Imprints, Series: Evans  (1639-1800)

Heritage Quest online

Middle East Online

Tennessee State Data Center

World History Collection

Academic Video Online

The CIA world factbook offers static, relatively uncomplicated political maps that are a good choice for illustrating reports.

National map (U.S. Geological Survey) has dynamic, customizable topographic maps.

Euratlas contains maps and photographs of Europe and the world. Some pdfs are available for no charge.

American factfinder allows users to create thematic maps that compare demographic data among geographic areas.

American memory (Library of Congress) has 17 specialized map collections.

U.S. Forest Service has customizable physical and topographic maps.

United Nations geospatial information section has general maps (mostly political) of all regions, plus some historical and mission maps.

Atlas of Canada has collections of both static and interactive/customizable maps, including political, economic, physical, and road maps.

Tennessee Department of Transportation maps

TNGenWeb maps 

Georgia info has road, political, and historical maps, as well as links to map collections in Georgia.

Old maps online links to digitized maps in collections throughout the world.

TSU offers a minor in geography.

The Reference collection on the second floor has a large collection of atlases.

General atlases include current political and/or physical maps of all regions of the world. Some of the best general atlases include:

Specialized atlases cover certain areas, time periods, or topics. You can often locate one by searching the catalog for :

(topic or place) and atlas

A few examples of specialized atlases in TSU's collection include:

Remember to cite cartographic sources, whether they are "static" or custom made. NCSU Library has a comprehensive Citing Maps:Maps and Atlases guide.