Databases
Databases are for students, faculty, and staff of Tennessee State University to use to find journal articles, images, and other information relative to their research interest. To access databases and eJournals off campus you must use your name and T Number. For assistance with problem logins, contact Colette Bradley (cbradley@tnstate.edu) or at 615-963-5489.
- Heritage Quest Online
Provides family history research from Ancestry.com platform. Includes city directory, slave schedules, U.S. Indian Census Rolls, Mortality Schedules, Veteran Schedules, and census data.
- Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and Law
This an open access archive on the history of world slavery, but concentrates mostly on African American slavery.
- Tennessee RecordsIn partnership with Ancestry.com, the Tennessee State Library and Archives is providing access to several important collections of Tennessee records. The collection Death Certificates 1908-1958 is now available, as well as statewide Birth Records 1908-1912. Early birth and death records from three metropolitan cities of Tennessee -- Nashville, Knoxville and Chattanooga -- are also available. Includes delayed birth records and enumeration of male vote counts.
- Tennessee Virtual Archive(TeVA)A program of the State Library and Archives to create a digital repository of Tennessee history and culture. Our mission is to bring electronic versions of the state’s rich collections to a wider audience. TeVA provides a searchable array of historical records, photographs, documents, maps, postcards, film, audio and other original materials of enduring value.
Items within TeVA are digitized items from manuscript and photograph collections at the Tennessee State Library and Archives. Please note that only a small subset of the Library & Archives' collections have been digitized.
