LibGuides: Electrical and Computer Engineering at TSU: Locating Scholarly Articles

How to Find Resources at the Library

How to Find Publications at TSU

You can find publications through Tennessee State University's library website in three main ways.

1. Basic Homepage Search- You will likely begin your search here. This will allow you to search through everything that TSU has.

2. Publication Finder- The publication finder provides streamlined access to the various journals and databases that TSU subscribes to.

For example, if you wanted to know about the wages of combination convenience store/gas station workers in the United States you have to go to the publication finder, set the filter to the letter G, and then browse by subject. Afterward, you must scroll until you find the word "gas station." You will see the article United States Gas Station with Convenience Store Reports Industry Jobs & Wages Report located on the database Business Source Complete, which can be found here.

3. You can also consult Browzine.

Additonal Research Help

After researching and accumulating numerous resources, you may require additional help you did not anticipate. You may not know what to do with the resources you compiled. Some common questions may arise: how do I manage these resources? What is a citation and how do I create one? To find an answer to these questions there are a few things you can do such as requesting a research consultation with librarians at TSU. You can schedule a research consultation here. You need to locate the "Faculty & Staff" profiles found under the Learn About Us tab on the library website, the Use Our Services tab, or the Popular Tasks for Students tab on the library homepage. You may also consult the Citation Tools and Resources research guide that can be found just below the search bar on the main page of the library website. This guide is under the Library and Information Sciences and Language, Literature, and Philosophy research guides.

Electrical and Computer Engineering Research Area's at TSU

Signal/ Image Processing

Control Systems

Power Systems

Robotics

Wireless Communications

Cyber Security

Visualization

Engineering Databases

The databases most recommended or useful to students are bolded

AccessEngineering
AccessEngineering's 800+ titles span all engineering disciplines, from mechanical to chemical, civil and electrical/electronic to assist you with your engineering problems, research, and projects, and gives you free access to Marks’ Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry’s Chemical Engineers’ Handbook, Handbook of Mechanical Engineering Calculations, Piping Handbook, Roark’s Formulas for Stress and Strain, and more. Most titles, including reference, textbooks, and code commentary, come embedded with calculator tools, interactive graphs, and downloadable tables.
ACM Digital Library
The full-text collection of all the Association for Computing Machinery publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters, and books. Article downloads may work better in Microsoft Edge.
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace
The Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database includes the renowned Aerospace Database and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
This database is fully funded, or partially funded, by an HBCU Title III grant from the U.S. Department of Education, P031B220034, 2023-2027.
Applied Science and Technology Full Text
Contains indexing and abstracting over 800 periodicals going back to 1983. It provides full text articles from over 220 periodicals from 1997-. Covers aeronautics, biotechnology, computers, and all fields of engineering.
ArXiv.org
Open access to 1,438,197 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics
Digital National Security Archives
This is a non-governmental resource which consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present. Each collection is assembled by foreign policy experts and features chronologies, glossaries, bibliographies, and scholarly overviews to provide unparalleled access to the defining international issues of our time.
EBSCO Publication Finder
A_Z listing of full text journal access available via TSU subscriptions plus freely available open access databases.
Engineering Village (INSPEC)
Engineering Village is a platform that enables in-depth search and discovery of both current, archival and interdisciplinary content comprising research and technical information in the applied engineering and physical science domains. It hosts highly-curated databases in which content from global publishers is indexed from journals, conference proceedings, trade publication, dissertations, standards, books, patents and technical reports.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Provides information on all aspects of engineering. Includes journals, magazines, conference proceedings, standards, and books. Also has recommendations for textbooks to support coursework.
IET Digital Library
The IET Digital Library holds more than 190,000 technical papers from 1994 onwards for all IET journals, magazines, books, conference publications and seminar digests, the IET's member magazine Engineering & Technology, plus seminar digests and conference publications.
This database is fully funded, or partially funded, by an HBCU Title III grant from the U.S. Department of Education, P031E200027, 2023-2027.
International Relations and Security Network
The Center for Security Studies (CSS) at ETH Zurich is a center of competence for Swiss and international security policy. It offers security policy expertise in research, teaching, and consulting activities. The CSS promotes understanding of security policy challenges as a contribution to a more peaceful world. Its work is independent, practice-relevant, and based on a sound academic footing. It combines research and policy consultancy and, as such, functions as a bridge between academia and practice. It trains highly qualified junior researchers and serves as a point of contact and information for the interested public.
ScienceDirect
Provides access to articles from up to 3,800 journals and over 37,000 book titles. ScienceDirect brings the world of open science to you wherever you are. With over 250,000 open access publications at your fingertips, the next big step towards discovery is yours to take. It covers biological sciences, medicine, engineering, and chemistry.
This database is fully funded, or partially funded, by an HBCU Title III grant from the U.S. Department of Education, P031B220034, 2023-2027.
United States Patent & Trademark Office
is the federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks. In doing this, the USPTO fulfills the mandate of Article I, Section 8, Clause 8, of the Constitution that the legislative branch "promote the progress of science and the useful arts by securing for limited times to inventors the exclusive right to their respective discoveries." The USPTO registers trademarks based on the commerce clause of the Constitution (Article I, Section 8, Clause 3). Under this system of protection, American industry has flourished. New products have been invented, new uses for old ones discovered, and employment opportunities created for millions of Americans. The strength and vitality of the U.S. economy depends directly on effective mechanisms that protect new ideas and investments in innovation and creativity. The continued demand for patents and trademarks underscores the ingenuity of American inventors and entrepreneurs. The USPTO is at the cutting edge of the nation's technological progress and achievement.
Web of Science
Is very important for research discovery and analytics. Web of Science connects publications and researchers through citations and controlled indexing in curated databases spanning every discipline. Use cited reference search to track prior research and monitor current developments in over 100 year's worth of content that is fully indexed, including 59 million records and backfiles dating back to 1898.
This database is fully funded, or partially funded, by an HBCU Title III grant from the U.S. Department of Education, P031B220034, 2023-2027.
Wiley Online Library
A multidisciplinary collection of online resources which include agriculture, business, nursing, health, social sciences and technology. Provides access to 1500 journals, thousands of ebooks, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.
This database fully funded, or partially funded, by an HBCU Title III grant from the U.S. Department of Education, P031B170028, 2018-2022.