Inferential Statistics
Inferential statistics use laws of probability to make inferences about a population based on information gleaned from a sample. Such statistics are particularly useful given the unlikely occurrence that a researcher has access to an entire population. The population is the larger group of interest from which a sample is drawn.
Inferential Statistics-Key Words and Concepts
Hypothesis - An educated guess on a trend, group difference, or association.
CREATIVE HYPOTHESIS GENERATING IN PSYCHOLOGY: Some Useful Heuristics
T-Tests - used to compare the average scores between two different groups in a study to see if the groups are different from each other.
Learning to Use Statistical Tests in Psychology
Analysis of Variance (ANOVA) - compares the average scores between three or more different groups in a study to see if the groups are different from each other. ANOVA is exactly the same as a t-test, but it can analyze multiple groups at once (what makes it different is how the equation works).
Analysis of Variance and Functional Measurement : A Practical Guide
Ordinal Measurement in the Behavioral Sciences
Basic Psychological Measurement, Research Designs, and Statistics Without Math
Critical Issues in Research Projects
- Broad Formulation of research aims and objectives.
- Lack of experience in primary data collection.
- Small Sample size.
- Lack of previous studies in the research area.
Further Readings:
Critical issues in cross-cultural counseling research: Case example of an ongoing project
Problems with Psychology Research: Publishing
Research Methods and Statistics
Psychology Research can encompass case studies, naturalistic observation, surveys, and laboratory observations. These observations are considered Descriptive or Correlational Research Methods. Descriptive research aims to accurately and systematically describe a population, situation or phenomenon. It can answer what, when, where, when and how questions, but not why questions. Correlational research involves measuring two variables and assessing the relationship between them, with no manipulation of an independent variable. Correlational research is not defined by where or how the data are collected.
Research Examples
Below are links to several research papers that use inferential statistics, descriptive and correlational research in addition to their outcomes. To find more research please visit www.tnstate.edu/library and type into the search bar of our landing page "inferential statistics research and psychology".
TSU Psychology Guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
To aid in understanding the basics of descriptive and correlational research methods in the behavioral science.
Research Methods in Psychology
- Consumer Psychology: a Study Guide to Qualitative Research Methods by This book provides students with a clear and concise guide to studying undergraduate courses in qualitative consumer research and ethnography. The authors present the major qualitative research approaches used in consumer and marketing research as well as practical procedures and theoretical aspects of research design, report presentation etc. In addition to that a weekly study guide, including comprehensive reading lists, completes the book.ISBN: 9783847407720Publication Date: 2016-04-18
- Cross-Cultural Research Methods in Psychology by Cross-cultural research is now an undeniable part of mainstream psychology and has had a major impact on conceptual models of human behavior. Although it is true that the basic principles of social psychological methodology and data analysis are applicable to cross-cultural research, there are a number of issues that are distinct to it, including managing incongruities of language and quantifying cultural response sets in the use of scales. Cross-Cultural Research Methods in Psychology provides state-of-the-art knowledge about the methodological problems that need to be addressed if a researcher is to conduct valid and reliable cross-cultural research. It also offers practical advice and examples of solutions to those problems and is a must-read for any student of culture.ISBN: 9780521765251Publication Date: 2010-10-11
- Qualitative Research Methods in Psychology: Combining Core Approaches by Providing practical guidance on carrying out qualitative research in psychology, using methods singly or in combination, this textbook supports students from the beginning of their research experience at undergraduate level through to postgraduate research and beyond. The test introduces four widely used qualitative approaches, grounded theory, interpretative phenomenological analysis, discourse analysis and narrative analysis - and then considers ways of combining the approaches. Each chapter focuses on practical aspects of pluralistic study design and application, including participant recruitment, ethics, data interpretation and writing up. The book reflects the latest developments in qualitative research and includes several features designed to illustrate the applications of these, including: Clear chapter introductions and summaries Descriptive case studies and group projects Reflections on practice Problem-based questions Research examples The contributors bring personal insight into qualitative research practice, covering key areas of psychology, including: health psychology, social psychology, criminal psychology, gender studies, psychotherapy and counselling psychology and organizational psychology. "This book provides an introduction to four widely used qualitative research methods, followed by a detailed discussion of a pluralistic approach to qualitative research, makes exceellent use of questions both in order to help the reader gain clarity as well as to encourage reflexivity" The Psychologist, May 2012ISBN: 9780335241514Publication Date: 2011-07-01
- Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology by The third edition of Haslam and McGarty′s best-selling textbook, Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology, provides students with a highly readable and comprehensive introduction to conducting research in psychology. The book guides readers through the range of choices involved in design, analysis, and presentation and is supplemented by a range of practical learning features both inside the book and online. These draw on the authors′ extensive experience as frontline researchers and provide step-by-step guides to quantitative and qualitative methods and analyses. Written in an accessible and engaging style, this text encourages deep engagement with its subject matter and is designed to inspire students to feel passionate for the research process as a whole. This third edition offers: Updated 'Research Bites' in every chapter: a space to step back from the text and reflect on the ways in which it relates both to issues in the world at large and to contemporary debates in psychology Updated coverage of experimental design, survey research and ethics More expansive coverage of qualitative methods A comprehensive guide to the process of conducting psychological research from the ground up -- covering multiple methodologies, experimental and survey design, data analysis, ethics, and report writing An extensive range of quantitative methods together with detailed step-by-step guides to running analyses using SPSS Online resources and videos to help reinforce learning and revision for instructors and students available at study.sagepub.com/haslamandmcgarty3eCall Number: BF76.5 .H38 2018ISBN: 9781526423290Publication Date: 2018-12-01
- Research Methods in Psychology by Research Methods in Psychology: Investigating Human Behavior draws on fascinating stories to illustrate the entire research process within a unifying conceptual framework. Bestselling authors Paul G. Nestor and Russell K. Schutt present a clear and comprehensive introduction to the logic and techniques of research methods in psychology by employing a unique combination of two distinct yet complementary pedagogical techniques. First, chapters designed for experiential, hands-on studies put the student in the roles of researcher, participant, and consumer to bring concepts to life. Second, the findings of cognitive science guide the text in a way that is most conducive to learning. This novel approach serves as an effective way to make the world of psychological research fun and rewarding for students, in addition to allowing them to gain the foundational knowledge they need to design, conduct, and present research.Call Number: BF199 .N37 2019ISBN: 9781544323770Publication Date: 2018-10-22
- Research Methods in Psychology by Drawing on examples from popular media and journals, author Beth Morling inspires a love of her subject by emphasizing its relevance. Yes, students learn how to design research studies but they also see the value of evaluating research claims they encounter in daily life. The Third Edition builds on this successful foundation by providing new ways for students to practice what they learn. NEW Working It Through examples provide a step-by-step method for evaluating claims start-to-finish, and a NEW adaptive learning tool, InQuizitive, enables students to practice what they've learned and strengthen their comprehension.Call Number: BF76.5 .M667 2018ISBN: 9780393617542Publication Date: 2017-12-01