Print Materials
Cram Session in Goniometry and Manual Muscle Testing by Newly updated, Cram Session in Goniometry and Manual Muscle Testing: A Handbook for Students & Clinicians, Second Edition is a descriptive quick reference guide for rehabilitation professionals organized in a "head-to-toe" format, including more than 400 photographs and supplemented with concise and illustrative examples of various techniques. The new edition of this text maintains the original essence of the first edition while touching upon updated information to speak to new clinicians. Minor revisions, such as adding color to the headers and to the sections, allow the reader easier access to the topics. An expanded appendix and up-to-date content touch on newer technology being used and developed in these areas of clinical evaluation. What is in your Cram Session: In the Goniometry section, subdivisions are broken down into type of joint, capsular pattern, average range of motion for each movement, patient positioning, goniometric alignment, patient substitutions, and alternative methods of measurement. In the Manual Muscle Testing section, subdivisions are broken into the specific movement to be tested, average range of motion, prime movers of the movement, secondary movers of the movement, anti-gravity patient position, gravity minimized patient position, stabilization and grades, substitutions for the movement, and points of interest for that particular muscle group. Cram Session in Goniometry and Manual Muscle Testing: A Handbook for Students & Clinicians, Second Edition is an informative, well-organized handbook for all students, instructors, and clinicians in physical therapy, occupational therapy, athletic training, orthopedics, or any allied health professional who treats musculoskeletal disorders.
Call Number: RD734 .V36 2023ISBN: 9781630919894Publication Date: 2022-12-30Entry Level Skill Checklists for Physical Therapist Assistant Students by A new resource to support and track student development across PTA programs, Entry-Level Skill Checklists for Physical Therapist Assistant Studentsis a visually appealing lab manual that includes entry-level PTA skills in a user-friendly, step-by-step checklist format. Written by seasoned PT and PTA instructor Dr. Terry Larson, Entry-Level Skill Checklists for Physical Therapist Assistant Studentscombines skill and evaluation measures into checklists so instructors may track their students' progress with ease. The book is meant to follow students throughout their programs of study--from their first lab course to submission at the end of their program. Created to reflect the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education guidelines, Entry-Level Skill Checklists for Physical Therapist Assistant Studentsis the latest entry into SLACK Books' Core Texts for PTA Education series. What's included in Entry-Level Skill Checklists for Physical Therapist Assistant Students: Sections on data collection and intervention Checklists following each skill stage to record and evaluate progress Checkboxes for peer evaluation and instructor assessment Comment areas for instructors to provide feedback on development of student abilities Across courses and programs, Entry-Level Skill Checklists for Physical Therapist Assistant Studentswill help students facilitate self-evaluation and professors gauge and document student progress in any PTA program.
Call Number: RM706 .E58 2023ISBN: 9781630919986Publication Date: 2023-04-15Motor Control by Lippincott® Connect Featured Title Purchase of the new print edition of this Lippincott® Connect title includes access to the digital version of the book, plus related materials such as videos and multiple-choice Q&A and self-assessments. Motor Control: Translating Research into Clinical Practice, 6th Edition, is the only text that bridges the gap between current and emerging motor control research and its application to clinical practice. Written by leading experts in the field, this classic resource prepares users to effectively assess, evaluate, and treat clients with problems related to postural control, mobility, and upper extremity function using today's evidence-based best practices.
Call Number: QP301 .S535 2023ISBN: 9781975158279Publication Date: 2022-03-18Neurologic Interventions for Physical Therapy by Whether your goal is to be a physical therapist or a physical therapist assistant, this book's comprehensive content will give you in-depth knowledge on the role of neurologic rehabilitation in the treatment of adults and children with neuromuscular impairments and explores concepts in neuroanatomy, motor control and motor learning, and motor development. Neurologic Interventions for Physical Therapy, 4th Edition provides a current framework for neurologic practice and focuses on the precise links between the pathophysiology of neurologic conditions and possible interventions to improve movement outcomes. The text also includes a new chapter on Autism Spectrum Disorder. Helpful learning aids in each chapter include objectives and summaries, open-ended review questions, line drawings and photos, step-by-step illustrated intervention boxes, tables, and charts. Comprehensive content on the role of neurologic rehabilitation focuses on the treatment of adults and children with neuromuscular impairments and explores concepts in neuroanatomy, motor control and motor learning, and motor development.
Call Number: RC350.P48 M37 2021ISBN: 9780323661751Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Pocketpedia by Now in its 4th edition, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Pocketpedia remains a treasured and trusted quick-reference tool in the field of physical medicine and rehabilitation. Everyone from the busy physiatrist making rounds in the clinic to the medical student rotating through a PM&R clerkship will find evidence-based knowledge and practical guidance essential to their needs in this handy resource. Thoroughly updated, reorganized, and revised from the last edition, the book covers the core topics and field-tested methods in PM&R while also addressing the latest advances in treatment and protocols for bedside decision-making. It includes new information on complex medical care, an increased focus on topics related to disability, expanded coverage of musculoskeletal rehabilitation, and new chapters on current issues such as COVID-19 rehabilitation. Pocketpedia is small enough to fit in your pocket while containing an incredibly large wealth of information--fortified with helpful graphics, charts, illustrations and clinical tips that enhance understanding and promote positive patient outcomes. Key Features: PM&R in your pocket--perfect for rounding or concise review Distills the practical essentials with focused coverage of core topics 7 new chapters address growth areas and showcase the breadth of expertise in PM&R New organization for easier navigation Purchase includes access to the ebook for mobile use on most devices
Call Number: RM700 .P468 2023ISBN: 9780826156273Publication Date: 2022-11-28Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Secrets by For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students, academics, and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Secrets, 4th Edition, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This highly regarded resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, weblinks, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making an inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - concise, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated, including new information on geriatric rehabilitation, rehabilitation philosophy, vocational rehabilitation, disability rating and impairments, and legislation and reimbursement. New chapters and content include Longitudinal Learning; Regenerative Medicine; Musculoskeletal Ultrasound, PM&R ideology and Disability Awareness & Sensitivity, Organ Transplantation; Spinal Deformity: and more. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a rapid overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice, exams, and teaching sessions. Bulleted lists, mnemonics, and practical tips from global leaders in the field provide a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RM701.6 .P52 2024ISBN: 9780323681841Publication Date: 2023-03-15Primary Care for the Physical Therapist by Specifically designed to address the expanding role of physical therapists in primary care, Primary Care for the Physical Therapist: Examination and Triage, 3rd Edition covers all the information and skills you need to be successful in the field. Updated content throughout the text helps you stay up to date on the best practices involving patient examination, medical screening, patient management, and communication. This new third edition also features a new chapter on electrodiagnostic testing, a new chapter on patients with a history of trauma, and updated information on how to screen and examine the healthy population.
Call Number: RM705 .P756 2021ISBN: 9780323638975
Fitness and Exercise Sourcebook by Provides basic consumer health information about the elements of physical fitness, along with the various types of exercises, tips for starting and maintaining an exercise program, and strategies for avoiding injuries. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
Call Number: GV436 .F53 2019ISBN: 9780780817258Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions Make sense of complex medical terms with this comprehensive reference! Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions, 11th Edition includes more than 56,000 authoritative definitions along with 2,450 illustrations - that's twice the number of images found in other medical dictionaries. Appendixes in the book and online make it easy to look up frequently used information, and an enhanced eBook version includes animations, audio pronunciations, and more. Helping you communicate more effectively in the workplace, this reference is an indispensable reference for students, nurses, and healthcare professionals. More than 56,000 entries offer detailed definitions, as well as the latest information on pathophysiology, treatment and interventions, and nursing care. More than 2,450 color photographs and line drawings demonstrate and explain complex conditions and abstract concepts. Convenient alphabetical organization makes it easy to find key terms and definitions.
Call Number: Ref. R121 .M892 2022ISBN: 9780323639149
Physical Rehabilitation, Medicine, and Therapy Sourcebook by
Offers basic consumer health information about barriers physical rehabilitation, disabilities and types, treatment plans, modalities, physical limitations, co-occurring conditions, employment, and transportation, as well as insurance benefits. A directory of organizations that provide services for physical rehabilitation and therapy.
Call Number: Ref. RM700 .P49 2020ISBN: 9780780817746
Exercise Physiology by Join the nearly half a million students who have built a solid foundation in the scientific principles underlying modern exercise physiology with this trusted, trendsetting text. Exercise Physiology: Nutrition, Energy, and Human Performance, 9th Edition, presents a research-centric approach in a vibrant, engaging design to make complex topics accessible and deliver a comprehensive understanding of how nutrition, energy transfer, and exercise training affect human performance. The extensively updated 9th Edition reflects the latest advances in the field as well as a rich contextual perspective to ensure readiness for today's clinical challenges. Master the latest research findings and practical applications in exercise physiology and related fields with updated content throughout. Maximize your study time and find information easily with the vibrant, magazine-style design. Reinforce your understanding with Chapter Objectives, detailed figures and tables, and quick reference FYI sections. Hone your critical thinking skills with open-ended Integrative Questions. Quickly locate relevant learning aids for mastering each section of the text with an Ancillaries at-a-Glance guide. Learn how theoretical concepts relate to practical skills through In a Practical Sense features. Strengthen your grasp of key terms and concepts with Key Terms and Additional References. Access dozens of detailed animations and videos, complete references, and other digital resources with ease. Lippincott® Connect features: Full access to the digital version of the book with the ability to highlight and take notes on key passages for a more personal, efficient study experience. Carefully curated resources, such as interactive diagrams, audio and video tutorials, and self-assessment, all designed to facilitate further comprehension. Lippincott® Connect also allows users to create Study Collections to further personalize the study experience. With Study Collections you can: Pool content from books across your entire library into self-created Study Collections based on discipline, procedure, organ, concept or other topics. Display related text passages, video clips and self-assessment questions from each book (if available) for efficient absorption of material. Annotate and highlight key content for easy access later. Navigate seamlessly between book chapters, sections, self-assessments, notes and highlights in a single view/page.
Call Number: QP301 .M75 2023ISBN: 9781975159993Publication Date: 2022-09-30Goodman and Snyder's Differential Diagnosis for Physical Therapists by Learn how to screen for systemic and medical conditions, and when to make a physician referral! Goodman and Snyder's Differential Diagnosis for Physical Therapists, 7th Edition helps you identify the signs and symptoms of systemic disease that can mimic neuromusculoskeletal conditions. A step-by-step approach includes the screening tools you need to make an accurate differential diagnosis, describing both red flags and yellow flags as well as risk factors. This edition includes a new Screening for Neurologic Conditions chapter. From an expert team of contributors led by PT educators John Heick and Rolando Lazaro, this guide makes it easier to determine whether to treat or to refer! UNIQUE! Five-step screening model is systems- and symptoms-based, and follows the standards for competency established by the American Physical Therapy Association, covering past medical history, risk factor assessment, clinical presentation, associated signs and symptoms, and review of symptoms.
Call Number: RM701 .G66 2023ISBN: 9780323722049Publication Date: 2022-08-01Guide to Evidence-Based Physical Therapist Practice by Guide to Evidence-Based Physical Therapist Practice, Fifth Edition teaches the knowledge and skills to evaluate medical evidence and apply it to the practice of physical therapy. This valuable reference explains the fundamentals of medical research and how to determine which studies are useful in practice. As the leading evidence-based practice text for physical therapy, this is a comprehensive resource no physical therapist or student should be without.This practical guide empowers readers to learn how to evaluate research designs, appraise evidence, and apply research in clinical practice. Its reader-friendly style facilitates learning and presents the knowledge essential for physical therapist students to develop a strong foundation in research methods and methodologies related to evidence-based medicine.Every new print copy includes Navigate Advantage Access that unlocks an interactive eBook with assessments, blank appraisal forms, practice quizzes, interactive flashcards, interactive glossary, and open education resources.
Call Number: RM700 .J49 2023ISBN: 9781284247541Publication Date: 2022-09-27Physical Agents in Rehabilitation by Learn how to select and apply physical agents to optimize patient outcomes! Physical Agents in Rehabilitation, 6th Edition provides evidence-based guidance for safe and effective use of agents such as heat and cold, lasers and light, ultrasound, electrotherapy, shock waves, hydrotherapy, traction, and compression. It makes clinical decision making easier with clear explanations of the scientific theory and physiology underlying each agent, and also describes current research and rationales for treatment recommendations. Comprehensive coverage of all physical agents including mechanisms, clinical effects, and application techniques for thermal agents, electrical currents, electromagnetic agents, and mechanical agents. UNIQUE! Step-by-step, illustrated Application Techniques boxesguide you in carrying out effective treatment options. Updated Electrical Stimulation, Ultrasound, and Laser Light Handbook is included in the eBook as a quick reference to use in the clinic. UNIQUE! Find the Evidence tables make it easy to find up-to-date, patient-specific evidence using the PICO (Patient, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome) framework. Research references throughout the book, focused on high-quality evidence. Updated review questions and answers help you master the material. NEW! Shock Wave Therapy chapter covers the principles, evidence base, and practical guidance for using this newly available physical agent. NEW! Updated Lasers, Light and Photobiomodulation chapter adds over 100 new references and more specific guidance for selecting parameters for clinical application. NEW! Enhanced eBook version - included with print purchase - allows access to the entire, fully searchable text, along with figures and references from the book, on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RM700 .C276 2023ISBN: 9780323761949Publication Date: 2022-03-19A Practical Approach to Musculoskeletal Medicine by Fully updated to reflect modern research and the latest evidence, A Practical Approach to Musculoskeletal Medicine is the only textbook based on the approach developed by Dr James Cyriax that has been recently updated to reflect modern research and the latest evidence. It covers the assessment, clinical diagnosis and conservative management of common soft tissue lesions. The book covers the theory underpinning the principles and practice of musculoskeletal medicine, then goes on to discuss anatomy, assessment, common conditions and their management for each region, and provides resources to support the recording of assessment and to enhance safety. This book is ideal for postgraduates undertaking courses at the Society of Musculoskeletal Medicine and is highly relevant for undergraduates, allied health professionals, advanced nurse practitioners and medical practitioners in fact all orthopaedic and musculoskeletal clinicians working in different settings as part of a multi-professional team. Covers theory of musculoskeletal medicine based on the model developed by Dr James Cyriax, supported by the latest evidence Covers pain theory, principles of assessment and management, histology and biomechanics of the soft tissues, and the healing process Provides resources to support the recording of assessments and to enhance safety, especially whilst learning the musculoskeletal medicine approach Presents review questions and case scenarios at the end of each chapter to revise key principles of the approach Offers online resources comprising video clips, self-assessment questions and an image bank Numerous illustrations and photographs support learning Suitable for Society of Musculoskeletal Medicine (SOMM) postgraduate courses Section on shared decision making and management packages of common musculoskeletal conditions Pain mechanisms, including psychosocial assessment and the influence of psychosocial factors on pain and associated disabilities in musculoskeletal practice Updates on tendinopathy, soft tissue injury management, injection therapy and differential diagnosis More on pharmacology, medications and indications for imaging and further investigations More emphasis on screening, biopsychosocial models, health comorbidities, poly-pharmacies, lifestyle risk factors, medical complexities and masqueraders of other body systems Muscle tables detailing movements, prime movers and assistors
Call Number: RD736.P47 K47 2023ISBN: 0702084085
Call Numbers
Items are cataloged and shelved using Library of Congress classification. Here are the call number ranges for subject areas in Allied Health Sciences including Physical Therapy. Use these call numbers to locate books in specific subject areas:
| GV | 201-555 | Physical education and training |
| GV | 557-1198.995 | Sports of various types |
| R | 855-855.5 | Medical Technology |
| R | 856-859.7 | Biomedical engineering. Electronics. Instrumentation. Computer applications to medicine |
| R | 864-920 | Medical records. Medical physics. Medical radiology. Nuclear medicine |
| RC | 71-78.7 | Examination. Diagnosis including radiography |
| RC | 620-627 | Nutritional diseases. Deficiency diseases |
| RC | 1200-1245 | Sports medicine |
| RD | 792-811 | Physical rehabilitation |
| RJ | 206-235 | Nutrition and feeding of children and adolescents |
| RM | 182-190 | Other therapeutic procedures, including acupuncture |
| RM | 695-893 | Physical medicine. Physical therapy, including massage, exercise, occupational therapy, radiotherapy |
| RM | 930-950 | Rehabilitation therapy, rehabilitation technology |